We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night for our 6 months together”

River Cottage Kitchen
Ranked #48 of 220 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: US$16 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: "Our menu is all about gathering the finest ingredients, nurtured and respected all the way from the farms and producers that supply us, through our kitchen, to your plate. Feast well, and in good conscience.”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked the River Cottage as it looked a nice setting for our 6 month anniversary, lovely welcome upon arrival, lovely cocktails and the food was great, we had a huge bowl of mussels, and beef ragu with macaroni which were both very tasty. The highlight was the service from our waiter who was one of the better I have experienced in a long time! Highly recommended!

Thank Lakey_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHQ, Manager at River Cottage Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, my team and I are delighted you had a wonderful evening with us, we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you very much for our meal at your winchester restaurant last night. The service was just perfect. A warm welcome, a description of the specials that brought them to life before we ordered. And very attentive service by food and drink waiters. We were made to feel like diners not customers. Lovely. And the food. Well I simply cannot buy hummus from the supermarket ever again! My husband had the sole with pesto and I had crab pasta (sorry can’t spell the proper name) but the food was stunning. The restaurant was streaming with early evening sun. We finished off waddling our way back home via the Abbey Gardens. Basically, the most perfect birthday evening. Thank you, thank you.

Thank LabradorOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHQ, Manager at River Cottage Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Just Fabulous! thank you so very much for sharing your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Set in a great location this is a gem in the river cottage portfolio. From a warm greeting we were taken to our table (a great river view) in a nautical themed room, the staff were courteous and nothing too much trouble not hurried at all. Thrown brand beer a delight but the food was to die for good sized portions meant that the taste kept on coming the steak was done to perfection and the pork the best ever. But you have to try sticky parsnip pudding (where has it been all my life) in all a great night thank you all river cottage.

Thank pottyboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHQ, Manager at River Cottage Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It's always fabulous to hear from a fan, thank you so very much, see you again soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

M and I had supper here, very good. Ok price. Only grumble: a little light on the main item for me (lamb chop) possibly because they didn’t have a proper sized one. They added a lump on the side to make up. I asked waiter to decide a starter for me and got red cabbage sour kraut, their style ( caraway seeds in it) and hummus with harissa. His choice was the best of all dishes - inspired!
Pudding was parsnip cake with syrup- quite interesting ( not at all foul)- try.

Lovely ingredients, fresh and fun to eat.

Thank Boren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHQ, Manager at River Cottage Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, it's always a pleasure to have your mother dine with us,we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We live in Winchester and come to River Cottage Kitchen regularly. For adults it's exciting to try new & different ingredients and it's definitely the best children's menu in town on price & healthiness.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 562katherinep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCHQ, Manager at River Cottage Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We agree, Our kids menu is amazing! Thank you for sharing your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Cottage Kitchen also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to River Cottage Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing