We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Romantic but a little Pricey”
Review of Chesil Rectory

Chesil Rectory
Reserve with OpenTable
Chesil Rectory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 207 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Chesil Rectory is a unique and historic restaurant located in Winchester which occupies a 600 year old grade II listed Medieval house of exceptional character and charm. Independently owned since 2008 by a small group of friends who share a passion for food and wine, the Chesil Rectory offers a modern British menu featuring simple, classic, seasonal dishes and an abundance of fresh local produce.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, Romantic but a little Pricey”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had a lovely meal here with my partner, food bordered on fine cuisine with a pub like rustic feel.

Quite dark inside with quirky decor, the food was nice, although a bit pricey - we spent sharing 1 starter and 1 dessert with one main each and a bottle of red about £120 plus tip.

Would go again but not for a while....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Star D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    253
    81
    36
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Lovely decor and atmosphere inside though it was a bit of a shame to sit in the dark when it was a beautiful sunny day outside. But it would of been a perfect cosy place for dinner or in winter. We would of been happy to have most of the choices in the menu, but at the end I went for the set menu whilst my friend ordered from the al la carte menu. The waitress was very patient and gave us plenty of time to make our choice despite the lateness of the hour. My food was so beautifully presented and the portion very generous that I couldn't finish my meal. All in all, lovely restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ReniMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Gastronomic Tour of Hampshire – Chesil Rectory”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is one of a series of reviews of meals taken on a gastronomic tour of Hampshire in Summer 2014.
Starter was wood pigeon and had good flavour and plenty of "add-ons" to make it interesting. Sea trout main was also good, although lacked a wow factor. Chocolate parfait dessert was even better with a PX dessert wine, as recommended on the menu. Overall, good straightforward cooking at a reasonable price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MikeGastronome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Slight disappointment”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently had Sunday lunch at this charming looking restaurant. On entering we were met by a friendly waitress, but there it stopped, no taking to our table, just told "you are over there". As we were the only people there the room seemed pleasant, but as more customers arrived it became uncomfortable with lack of space between the tables, and when food was taken to the tables people seated had to move to allow staff through. Unfortunately we thought the menu, for some customers, could be limited, but the food itself was very good, and delivered with a smile, except on one occasion by a member of staff who appeared to think herself above the situation. Please dine here if you are lost for an alternative as the bill was pricey and the room cramped.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not quite there .... Yet!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a weekend in Winchester and wanted somewhere special for dinner on Saturday night. I booked in advance and a good job too as diners were being turned away most of the evening. The restaurant is a stunning old building with a quiet lounge bar upstairs where you can have a drink if you arrive early. The service was excellent from the moment we arrived, staff were attentive but not interfering. Nothing was too much trouble and they even amended one of there dishes to suit my partner. I had the Sea Bass Roulade and the beef and both were very good. There were a couple of things that didn't quite work, the foam with the sea bass was tasteless and didn't add much to the dish. I amine of those people who like to eat their food off a plate so when the potatoes arrived in a small pan on the edge of my plate I was disappointed and then I had no where to put the pan once I had emptied the potatoes out .... Ditch the pan! The price was reasonable for the standard of food around £90 for two including wine. Trying hard to be Michelin star it falls just short but a fine dining experience none the less. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chesil Rectory also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Twyford, Winchester
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Chesil Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing