We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food at a very reasonable price”
Review of The Monument

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Monument
Ranked #133 of 253 Restaurants in Hereford
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good food at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

busy pub with a good well priced menu and good service. ample parking and friendly staff. short wait for the food but it was freshly cooked and well presented

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flangeandjaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    10
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great place for good value menu and specials”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This is one of many places in Hereford that offers Specials nights; " 2for1" deals etc. so a good value for money place to eat. The food is good and consistent in quality. If you want to watch sport, they have TV screens with latest fixtures playing live - so never a dull moment! When we visited it was pleasantly busy but never overcrowded and waiting times were never too long.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebbiefromDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great pub atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

go here a lot, prices are great, average pub food. Nothing to complain about. Best atmosphere is when football or rugby games are on. In the summer is always great too as they have outdoor dining which is always nice

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Staff have a poor attitude”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Went here this evening for a family meal with my partner and our children, having eaten here previously as a couple. I arrived first with my daughters, we couldn't find a table for six so we asked a member of staff if we could join two tables together, he replied "yes just pull them together"as he walked away from us, he made no effort to help us move the heavy tables. I went to the bar to get some drinks, the two barman were busy serving but they both looked at me, another man who was obviously a regular walked up to the bar a few minutes after me and was served before me, when it was obvious that I was next. My partner then came into the pub with his two sons and went to order drinks for the three of them, he came back several minutes later saying that the barman would not accept his 18 year old son's citizen card as a form of I.d. so he wanted to leave. Every pub, off Licence and supermarket that I have been in accepts citizen card, it is police and government approved. We left the pub and went elsewhere for our meal. I will never be going there again and will tell all my friends of my experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HellsBells39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid wales
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mother's Day get together”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Lovely lunch, hot and well prepared/cooked. Such pleasant staff and so accommodating, can't praise them enough. Thank you

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovedourholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Monument also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing