We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grear ovrall experience”
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merton Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grear ovrall experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for a week due to work purposes and I must say I was very highly impressed with the hotel coming to me as a recommendation from a friend. The rooms were equipped with everything you could need,cleaned to a high standard...the food divine and very reasonably priced with a bar serving a good selection of local beers and ale, very friendly staff nothing was to much trouble and generally a lovely atmosphere, very well priced hotel and a little gem of a hotel. I will definitely be returning for a personal stay next time not just for work purposes.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    31
    31
    14
    14
See reviews for
10
28
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Arrived on a Friday afternoon and room was ready although we arrived a little earlier than we said,
Room was nice and just what we required for the weekend,we were on the top floor at the front of the building over looking the main street, the only thing i would say is it does get noisy when the pubs and clubs turn out,
The breakfasts were superb and we ate in the restaraunt on a couple of occasions and the food was very nice and good value, all staff were very friendly....

Room Tip: Room at back of building if you want some peace..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jibbo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Following a serious accident on Holiday in Ledbury my Father was rushed to Hereford Hospital. After travelling 3 hrs to be with him, we provisionally booked two rooms @ Merton as we were not sure whether he would be transferred to another hospital or not. Upon finding a skull fracture & subdural hematoma (brain bleed) he was airlifted to Coventry for an emergency Craniotomy, so we subsequently cancelled the rooms later that night.
Whilst waiting for him to come out or surgery the Hotel called to advise we would be charged cancellation fees, to which I advised them to email us regarding this as quite frankly we had more important things on our minds.
Didn't receive any email - just £50 deposited from our account to which when I called to dispute and request a refund due to the nature of the circumastances - the Mangager laughed at me and told me it wouldn't be refunded and basically to be grateful it wasn't the full £50 per room cancellation fee.
I would like to add that after re-iterating the full situation, not once did he enquire as to my Father's recovery which quite frankly I find digusting!
We ended up in a Premier Inn in Coventry (Cross Point Business Park) and they practically fell over themselves to accomodate 6 of us for 10 days and more importantly did not charge any cancellation fees when we ended up returning home a day earlier than planned.
My Father has made a fanstatic recovery, however this situation made an already difficult and stressful time even harder and to be laughed at was frankly an insult to us all!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jezabel1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor08, Owner at Merton Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
This person has NEVER stayed at this hotel. From their story above you can see that we reduced their cancellation fee by 50% even though they did not show up without notice. The comments with regards to "laughter" and the story about an Email are pure fiction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hereford hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Well what a mixed place this is, the front is tired looking and dated, its more run down b&b than hotel. The staff were good very helpful and friendly offering great service.
On arriving in the room, I found it incredibly dark, the surfaces were dusty, and there were hairs on the bathroom tiles, the outside window had a cracked pane of glass and there was a hole in one of the walls.
After a hard days work I couldn't be bothered to complain just wanted a bath and some food and a good nights sleep.
We ate downstairs and the food was served hot and of a good quality, we ate outside on a patio area that looked onto a very busy main road.
On returning to my room to sleep I found that the room was unbearable due to the heat, the hotel walls are thin and very noisy.
The room looked out onto the busy main road and with poor glazing the noise was very disturbing to my sleep, plus the noise of the busy night clubs and bars made it literally impossible to get my head down.
The bed was seriously uncomfortable too.
There is no WIFI in the hotel.
SO all in all good food nice staff but terrible hote

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The main thing going for the hotel is its proximity to the railway station. Hereford does not have many good places to eat and with hindsight I would have had an evening meal at the hotel which did offer a good choice. Room a bit basic and on the small side; staff seemed friendly enough, Could do with more non-cooked choice for breakfast eg Weetabix.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just to set the scene, I travel for work, so there are few requirements that I see as a must have, on some of these the Merton fell short on, which for some travellers would not be an issue. Ok, the Merton is central, which is a positive, it has no parking, or WIFI which are both negatives from a 'work' perspective. The hotel, well when I say hotel, it's more a pub with rooms, in general is 'traditional' which is a nice way of saying old, or "welcome to the 70's".. and need of some TLC, and a complete re-furb. My room, room 22, was on the 2nd floor (no lift), via some fairly narrow stairways, and was at the front of the hotel, so with a night club across the road, you needed to be a heavy sleeper. On a positive note, the food was a pleasant surprise, and the local ale was a delight.. So in summary, if you are in Hereford for work, there maybe better choices, however if you need a cheap, passable hotel, with good 'grub' which in reality is a pub with rooms, right next to the bus station, in the central Hereford, this could be the one for you.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor08, Owner at Merton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
We do have free WiFi available to all guests. We do clearly state that we do not have "Private" parking, ample public spaces are available within a few yards. Like many small hotels, we do not have a lift - for the three rooms above the first level. Our stairways are of a standard width, I can easily walk up them with a suitcase in each hand. Let ME set the scene...En suite bedrooms, 24 hour reception management, good restaurant, good service, wide choice of freshly cooked breakfasts, central to the city, free WiFi, laundry service, Email and printing services.....Pub or Hotel?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Had a pleasant overnight stay at the Merton Hotel, which is most convenient for a train traveller such as myself. Good room and a first-rate breakfast, with a splendid fresh fruit salad with yogurt followed by a good 'English' breakfast. Good Butty Bach beer too! Would stay again on a visit to Hereford.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaiorBai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.4 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 12 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Property: Merton Hotel
Address: 28 Commercial Road, Hereford HR1 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre hotel close to public transport and local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel Hereford, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing