We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a family hotel”
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Location is right opposite the night club, next to the taxi rank by the fast food shops = no sleep.
Staff were nice etc but with no sleep over 2 nights it's hard to write something positive...
Should be made clear it is not a family sleeping hotel. Great location for party people or workmen during the week.
Finally we did ask about parking (like another family we spoke to) and we're told they had parking. Well not true there is public parking along the main drinking road opposite or behind the night club, and by the train station but it's not hotel parking.
Food, staff are great but we're just knackered!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Karting Extreme... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Merton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Whatever anyone says the staff here are amazing. I sadly can't comment on the food as I rarely get to appreciate dinner or breakfast but I can say despite what many people (sorry prob me included) will comment on dated decor it is full of love and care!
And how much more would you want? To stay in a place where you are really welcomed? And YES I have stopped here regularly for the past 2+ years and hopefully many more I have worked all over the UK and I love the fact that I feel at home here.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank eclaires123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week on business and was quite disappointed. The rooms are very dated, there is no wifi and no AC. There is quite a bit of street noise as well. The breakfast is passible however. I would exhaust other options before staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Astover30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is perfectly adequate but a little dated. Every thing felt like it needed updating. The bathroom had a very granny feeling.

Perfectly pleasant one night stay.

I had only two real criticisms both are really minor and I would stay here again.

1) The power
points were not by the bed - true of many hotels.

2) Whilst the breakfast was nice the lid to the sauce bottle didn't fit and it was clear it had been re-filled on many occasions from the dried layer around the bottle. I'm not suggesting for one second that it was unclean, just a little attention to detail would clearly help.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Clean room, albeit a bit small, but enough for a couple of nights heads down, nice and quiet room at the back of the hotel, which was ideal, shower bit slippery and small.
Breakfast good , nicely cooked and enough, not a belly buster, but then who needs it these days, staff all nice and polite.
All in all you get what you pay for, I would use it again for a few night when travelling on my own.

Room Tip: if on your own, ask for room at the back.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LINOLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Place doesn't look too bad from outside but from there goes from bad to worse
The bar area and diningroom about OK and dinner just about passable if you are
very hungry although breakfast look like rationing years!
But the room almost beyond words ----a small box not improved for sixty years or more
with shower room hardly big enough to enter and loo which
disintegrates when seated! This is certainly the worst hotel that I've ever experienced
And all for £56 B&B

Room Tip: Don't risk this grotty place
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank partypeople917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Arrived 9pm Bank Holiday Monday, having phoned ahead to book a meal, they were happy to keep the kitchen open until I arrived and had choice of the full menu. I decided on fish pie, which was home cooked with real mashed potato topping, a perfect supper dish.
At the bar afterwards, Wye Valley Ales were very pleasant.
The room was comfortable, clean and with Wi-Fi was absolutely fine for my four night stay on business in the local area. Very convenient for arrival by train and good local taxi service to get me to work at 8am each morning.
The décor is somewhat retro and quirky with bags of character, very enjoyable stay and would certainly recommend to people who want something different from a boring chain hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeckyWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.4 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 12 in Hereford
457 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
283 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Address: 28 Commercial Road, Hereford HR1 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range: £57 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre hotel close to public transport and local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel Hereford, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing