We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't complain about your steak, they brought out the same one, not once but twice!!!”
Review of Merton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Merton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Booked a family meal for a birthday, bar area was nice, table was ready, and we had pre - ordered as there were quite a few of us. Food was brought out quickly, and on time, but two of the fillet steaks were overcooked, well done not medium, cold, and no onion rings on one of the plates. Both these were returned, one came back out and we were told that the chef said it was medium, it was cooked through, and cool, so we rejected that. They came back out and said they would cook another one. The other persons meal came out nuked in the micro wave, so where it was overcooked in the first place, it was not well and truly cooked and hot!! This was rejected, and then it came out again, the same piece of meat!!! so that was three times, they then said they would cook another steak, but by then we had had enough, so cancelled those two meals completely. The waitresses were competely professional, but when we asked to see the chef he did not come out....the rest of the meals were fine, so maybe the chef could just could not cook steak! bearing in mind we were in Herefordshire ......looking forward to a Hereford steak.....we will not be back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAROLYN0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor08, owner at Merton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2009

This review wildly exagerates the true facts. There are occaisions when our Chef, as we all do, makes mistakes. The report of serving the same piece of meat three times and of the Chef "Nukeing" the steak in the microwave are simply not true. If a customer ever wishes to speak to the Chef he is always willing to listen. We have run this hotel for almost four years and are constantly complimented on the standard of our meat.
Kevan Gilbert
Propietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2008

My wife and I spent three nights at the Merton. It was comfortable and staff were very helpful and friendly. Food is very, very good - and reasonably priced too. We travelled by public transport and found the Merton is ideally situated by bus and train stations and within easy walking of the city attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

More an enlarged pub with a separate bar eating area and a dining room. Good food and service; I had booked a single which was dull but as they were quiet I got a double at the same price. Baby being fed on the bar was not good and the reception lounge is small and a bit shabby.
On top or railway and bus station and a cinema and only a short walk into town. Bit over priced but OK for a short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryWiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2007

My partner and i have just returned from spending 2 great nights at the Merton, it is very clean and tidy, the owners and staff couldnt do enough for us. The breakfast was excellent as was all the food, location is good to, just across the road from the many shops. pubs wine bars etc. Would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaymacBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

A gen of a place to stay! Basic hotel but clean and fab food served all day. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you. the location is great, 5mins from shops and cathedral. there are wine bars and restraunts accross the road. the food was the best and very reasonable, anything you wanted and lovely presentation. I would stay again tomorrow!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jobfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.4 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 11 in Hereford
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 11 in Hereford
468 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hereford
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 11 in Hereford
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hereford
285 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merton Hotel

Address: 28 Commercial Road, Hereford HR1 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range: £60 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre hotel close to public transport and local attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Merton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merton Hotel Hereford, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing