We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers!”
Review of The Green Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Green Dragon
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Visited with a group of friends for a weekend. This hotel has definitely gone past it's sell by date!
Good location as right in the middle of the town.
The service was fine but no more than that. The rooms are in need of a revamp but sheets are clean and fresh. We did have to ask to move room as a kitchen fan was blowing greasy air into the first room. The lady on reception was a little disbelieving telling me more than once " Nobody has said that before".
Breakfast was poor, the waitress was almost rude when we asked for eggs and toast ( and had to re-ask for toast ). Bacon was peculiar tasting and poached eggs tasted like vinegar.
When we arrived in the afternoon there was dirty plates and cups on table in the lounge, they wee still there at midnight :(

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank toni k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
There are newer reviews for The Green Dragon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is in an ideal location right in the city centre. The hotel itself is looking tired and dated. The original features are a lovely touch but the carpets are worn, there were random stains up the bedroom walls and the bath panel was little more than a piece of ply wood. The room was excruciatingly hot with no air whatsoever. The paid £70 for one night room only and I felt this was overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room before you part with your cash.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonMcUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a budget hotel, so you have to temper your expectations accordingly. It's an old hotel and that's really charming - lots of bells on walls and sprawling corridors. The rooms vary hugely and each seems to have its own idiosyncracies. We were there for a nearby wedding - one of us had a noisy fan that ran most of the night, one of us had water streaming down the wall, another had to 'enjoy' the karaoke bar opposite all night. The breakfast buffet is pretty depressing, but my dad was pleased there were prunes. Friendly staff and a hotel that has loads of potential (check out the wonderful old lounge), it just needs to tune things up a bit to make it a great budget option. Good free wifi.

Room Tip: Ask to make sure you are not situated near the kitchen fans.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Belle06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We really enjoyed the Green Dragon, indeed we extended our stay. The staff were consistently polite and efficient. We had a delightful room with plenty of space and light, the meals were perfectly satisfactory and there was a good choice. Above all it was an excellent deal.
Having stayed far too many bland motels it was a delight to stay in a proper, traditional hotel. Certainly parts of it were a little tired but overall it had great character, plenty of space and some superb public rooms. It was extremely well located in the center of town, within walking distance of everything that mattered. Parking was free and very straight-forward. We look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for the sort of room you like. We chose one overlooking the main street, a little noisy at time...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

very tired hotel we had a room on second floor which was so very hot so we slept with the sash window wide open. Interesting to say the least the noise from the street was terrible noisy revellers and drunks hence no sleep. Breakfast was like slop so did not even eat anything and asked for our money back. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank rainybirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Turned up with some friends, staff were fine but then we got into the room!

The Shower had no instructions, so we had to figure out how to turn the shower on. The beds were uncomfortable, the windows were jammed shut and the room was very stuffy. The cold water wasnt cold and the decor was terrible. However the staff were very friendly, the bar and resturant area looked absolutely fine and the rooms were clean. The TV was a plasma TV and modern but that was about it. The location was great too, and the nightstaff were very friendly at the end of the night also. Would probably choose a Travelodge if rooms were avaliable, as we paid about £70 a room. But saying that I wouldn't deter any one from staying - just a bit of TLC needed in the rooms

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank covlad1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is tired and broken everywhere you look. This could be a very attractive and comfortable building if only the owners would put a few quid into it!!

Communal areas are decidedly better than the hidden delights of the rooms. I work in construction and have a keen eye for finishes..... Flaws are galore in this place. Broken tiles, old fashioned (not to be confused with antique) furniture, terrible shower and a TV which is vastly disproportionate to the room.... All underwhelming features of room 244.

The bed is comfy and there are the general features you could expect in an average hotel (Iron, Hairdryer, Tea and Coffee facilities etc).

Perfectly located to visit the delights of Hereford, with the beautiful cathedral just 1 minute walk away.

If you're looking for an ok cheap hotel then you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank chuckie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hereford hotels
1.1 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 12 in Hereford
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
820 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#11 of 12 in Hereford
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Dragon

Address: Broad Street, Hereford HR4 9BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range: £59 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Green Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hotel Hereford
Green Dragon Hereford
The Green Dragon Hereford, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing