We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm, comfortable cottage with great views.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hereford, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe
Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sueLeices...
leicesteshire uk
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy even when it snowed!”
Reviewed 2 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Hill Farm Cottage gave us: a genuinely warm welcome from kind and thoughtful owners; a lovely farm to wander around at will (walk behind the barns to see the stunning view down into the Dore Valley); the antics of pigmy goats, chickens and sheep to giggle over and blissful peace and quite.

The cottage is very comfortable and bigger than it looks on the photographs. We have family in Hereford and the owners kindly allowed us to invite them to the cottage for the day. 11 of us (from 6 weeks old to 91 years old) spent a lovely Sunday with plenty of room to sit, eat and gossip.

Always a bit concerned booking cottages in the winter in case they're cold and draughty but absolutely no need to have worried. We were at Hill Farm Cottage during the heavy snow fall in January and we couldn't have been warmer or more comfortable.

There's a really nice "vibe" to this cottage and the farm and one of the few cottages we've stayed in that we would be more than happy to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kind welcome and the peacefulness.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vidal-uk
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great venue (in spite of the mud!)”
Reviewed 10 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here at the end of November 2012, with my wife and our spaniel, we had a wonderful time and I would certainly recommend it - in fact we plan to return in the Spring.

The property is very spacious, with a very large hallway that is all tiled - this proved very useful as we were here when all the news was of flooding across the country - and everywhere was incredibly muddy and wet. So we had plenty of space to dry our gear, and it was easy to sweep up any mud that found its way indoors. (certainly cannot blame the weather on the venue).

The property is nice and warm, the only slight downside was that the property smelt a bit of oil, the owner said this was due to a recent service of the boiler - so hopefully that situation will be resolved when we return.

The bathroom is good - with an excellent power shower which was great for when we returned from walks feeling a bit wet and miserable.

The lounge is really great - with excellent views and as said by other reviewers - I don't think the pictures do the property justice. The sofas are little bit tired and could probably benefit from some refurbishment - or at least some throws.

The wood burner is a nice feature - but will only work if the wind is in the prevailing direction - be careful if it shifts - as happened one day to us - when the burner does not draw properly and the whole cottage flooded with smoke (with the alarm going off etc... bit of a nightmare). In fact if you open up the door and hold your hand up to the flue you can feel the draft of cold air coming down the flue - no way in a million years will it draw properly in that situation. However this only happened on one of the days we were there - and the rest of the time it was fantastic to chill out in the lounge with the burner blazing away.

The countryside around and about is fantastic and on the couple of nice days we had - we were really able to enjoy some fabulous walks - the rest of the time it was a bit grim in terms of the weather for us, but we saw enough to make us want to come back and see the area in more favorable circumstances.

There are some great pubs around and about, but you will need a car as even the nearest is a bit of a trek.

All in all it is a great place, well situated at the top of the hill - with great views. The owners are nice and friendly and helpful. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The lounge with its beams and log burner and the views
Liked least: lack of wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA, USA
Reviewed 11 January 2012 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essex
Reviewed 5 May 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carlisle
Reviewed 5 May 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hampshire
Reviewed 10 March 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location and spaciousness
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$58
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing