We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent campsite in a beautiful location.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hereford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poston Mill Holiday Home and Touring Park
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent campsite in a beautiful location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Just back from staying in the camping field at Poston Mill with husband, sons and dog. Excellent, clean facilities (shower block, washing-up/laundry areas, fridge/freezers, pitch & putt, playground) good information re local area and fantastic walks straight out of the site.
A few negative points - we stayed over a bank holiday weekend but had to pay for a minimum of 5 nights which I feel is a bit cheeky, the shop had limited hours and doesn't open on Tues & Wed, and the traffic noise got going pretty early in the mornings as it's the road to Hereford.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Having arrived, we were shown to the "camping field" and our choice of two pitches.
One a lot larger than the other but having shared electric hook-up and water tap (which was a bit muddy) Not to worry, long extension lead coped OK.

Was then told that the shop didn't open until Thursday, and even then it closed at 12:00 every day. Not happy with that.

Staff were very friendly and receptive though.

Tried the WiFi internet... oh dear, £5 per day, £15 for a week, and very unreliable / slow.

Was hoping to use the grass tennis court... although this turned out to be an uneven area in the playground with a net slung across it, and no court markings. Other attractions though, including a lovely little static tractor and an outdoor table-tennis table, proved very popular with our kids (and Granny!)

Toilets nice and clean, not exceptional, but certainly of a good standard... except for the wet-room design of each individual shower cubicle. Try getting dressed stood on a soaking wet floor without getting your trousers/socks wet etc.

May have been the time of year too, but we had real problems keeping flies out of the tent. Don't know why, unless they were attracted to the greenery surrounding the field.

Didn't try fishing, although the stream/river flowing through the site is tiny.

All in all the kids loved the site, but perhaps our expectations were too high given the rave reviews some people had given it previously.

Would we go back?... possibly, but only after trying other sites first.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlosTaff865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Friendly staff,very very clean,on site pub lacks atmosphere,tho the food is excellent if a tad expensive. Local pub is a fair way away and a short drive or a very dangerous walk along an unpaved and ill lit road,when I asked the local pubs staff what time they served food till, the chap replied "How many are you?"
The area is FAB and lots of information is available on site for visits and tours.
If you like total peace and quiet and to be away from it all you will love this site.
Never say never but we will go to the other Best Parks Sites as they are also very very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LambrettaLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
153 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We were on our way from Tewkesbury to Hay on Wye in a rental car when we realized we were running out of petrol. We were getting pretty desperate so stopped by the Poston Mill Caravan Park to ask for emergency assistance.

They were extremely friendly and helpful, rang up a local farmer and sent us half a mile down the road with easy directions, to where the gentleman was waiting with an old fashioned green hand pump. He gave us a life saving half a tank to get us on our way at a good price. We were 2 foreign women tourists and they looked after us tremendously.

While I was waiting for the lady on the desk to put the phone call through I took a look around the reception area. It was extremely organised, tidy and full of info for campers. They hold social events nearly every night at the camp and have very thorough facilities. The park was pristine with beautiful gardens and very spick and span buildings.

Although we didn't stay here, if we were returning we would definitely try it. If this is the hospitality they offer to a passing motorist then imagine how they would be to a guest, you would be a very happy camper!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwisLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hereford
0.3 mi away
Pandy Inn B&B
Pandy Inn B&B
#1 of 4 in Dorstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.1 mi away
Westbrook Court B & B
Westbrook Court B & B
#1 of 1 in Westbrook Court
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.4 mi away
Drovers Rest
Drovers Rest
#1 of 10 in Hay-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Steppes Bed & Breakfast
13.5 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poston Mill Holiday Home and Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poston Mill Holiday Home and Touring Park

Property: Poston Mill Holiday Home and Touring Park
Address: Poston Mill Park | Peterchurch, Hereford, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Poston Mill Holiday Home and Touring Park 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poston Mill Park offers Holiday Home ownership on its 35 acre park set in the Golden Valley of Herefordshire. Our 10 month season begins on March 1st and ends on January 2nd allowing you to stay for Christmas, New Year and Easter in your own 'home from home. You choose the amount of leisure time you have to spend with us from several weekends to every other week. Fully serviced, hard standing,Caravan & motorhome pitches are available all year round with a designated camping field or semi hard standing tent pitches, weather permitting.Poston Mill Holidays run alongsdide the park offers Self Catering in our Sylvista Bungalow, Poston Cottage and 2 luxury Static Holiday Homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poston Mill Holiday Home And Touring Park Hereford, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing