We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people but a bit too manicured”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hereford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poston Mill Holiday Home and Touring Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a well maintained and friendly site with all the facilities you could need. It was just a bit too manicured for our liking but that is no bad thing, particularly if you like manicures...

There was no mobile signal - not their fault I know but something to bear in mind if you like to keep in touch with the world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

My Fiance and I have just returned from a long (four nights) Bank Holiday weekend at Poston Mill. My Fiance has stayed there before but it was my first time. The caravan park is easy to find and the check in was quick, there was a very pleasant lady at reception. Our pitch was well kept and close to amenities. Having stayed at several 5 star adult only parks I was interested to see the difference. The amount of space between pitches in not large - at least between Pitch Q and the end pitch. On our second day our neighbours arrived and after putting up the awning and parking their car directly next to us on the grass, I felt very closed in. In fairness the neighbours moved their car off the grass the next day but when the four of them were sat outside it was still very close with no privacy for us eating our meals, short of closing the curtains. The meal in the restaurant on the first night was excellent. My scampi, chips, peas and tartare sauce was lovely. Unfortunately my fiance ordered a take away scampi on the saturday and it was nothing like my meal. There were less scampi and the chips had been blanched until soft but not the cooked again to make them crispy, also no peas, tartare sauce or lemon so very disappointing.
All in all a very pleasant caravan site. My fiance said that the shower facilities were clean - I use our shower in the caravan so cannot comment. Nothing was too much trouble for the lady in reception, she even delivered a tv aerial to us in her golf buggy - I didn't get her name ( she had short blonde hair and wore glasses) but excellent service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed over a three day weekend and found this to be one of the best sites we have ever been on.

The grass is like a bowling green, the hedges immaculately clipped, the ground is level well drained and easy to get your tent pegs into. The toilet/showers are completely first class. The owners were polite and helpful. The area is beautiful but quiet with some great walks and wildlife to see. A word on the restaurant. The prices are slightly high at first glance but if you eat there it soon becomes apparent that it is extremely good value. The cuisine is not your average restaurant but something much, much better. I would be very surprised if you were not impressed.

As for the Broughton Pub in Peterchurch, don't bother. we ate there, the food was awful and at £5.95 per course it proved to be a very bad choice. Freezer centre fish in batter and dry oven chips Yuk!. The landlady was nice enough but there were less than welcoming vibes from the locals.

Room Tip: Some slight traffic noise. There is a bit of a hike from the camping area to the W.C. and showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a weekends camping.
An excellent site with outstanding facilities. The toilets were always spotless and the showers are the best I've used on a campsite. The disabled/family room is brilliant as my three year old son hates showering so the bath was a really useful tool. The children's play area is well equipped and tidy. Water points at each pitch is also a welcomed luxury. The only negative point of our stay was the appalling attitude of the staff of the on site pub "The Mill". They offer a take away service, but when we attended to browse the menu we were made to feel like a total inconvenience to them and the way we were spoken to made us leave without ordering. Luckily for us the pub just up the road, the Boughton Arms were very accommodating with a great atmosphere, great staff and great food. We will definitely return as would not let the staff in the Mill ruin a brilliant campsite. We will simply use the Boughton Arms if we want to eat out.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Arrived and shown to a fully serviced pitch. Pitch was large and the services worked well with the exception of the electricity tripping constantly. However, when reported to reception, they had it fixed within a short space of time and we had no more issues.
The play equipment and play facilities were brilliant, and helped by the fact we had good weather.
The shop is only open for a short time each day but I know that reception are now stocking basics all day long.
The toilets were the best I have ever encountered on a touring site and were always clean and tidy.
The location is beautiful, with the River Dore running through the site.
I am looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joneses11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A beautifully well kept park for caravans and tents. Clean, tidy, fantastically well laid out with walks and doggy areas. Good childrens play area. Pub restaurant on site which has a great atmosphere generated, when we were there by a couple of ladies with character. Easy to get to Hay, Hereford or the Brecon Beacons. There is a nice walk from the site to Peterchurch which has a couple of pubs, notably the Broughton Arms, which may not look much but is undergoing a bit of a facelift and has a very very obliging landlady.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THATFOODIEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We've visited this site twice now, it's on the Best of British website and it truly has earned its 5 stars, hard standing, with electric, water, waste and TV ariel included.large pitches and showers are wonderful, even has a dog wash, which is a great little extra, hair dryer for the dog wash could have been a little more powerful though, I can blow harder than that. Pub on site is little pricey but very welcoming and friendly, it's the nearest and within staggering distance. Also sells calor gas. Pitches are well laid out clean and very tidy, staff are really helpful, a couple of our friends arrived with their tourer after 9pm, but staff were really helpful. Not much mobile phone signal, sometimes not a bad thing though. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beccles_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hereford hotels
9.7 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
842 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
104 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Steppes Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
9.8 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 11 in Hereford
481 reviews
13.1 mi away
Red Rail Farm
Red Rail Farm
#2 of 3 in Hoarwithy
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poston Mill Holiday Home and Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poston Mill Holiday Home and Touring Park

Address: Poston Mill Park | Peterchurch, Hereford HR2 0SF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Hereford
Price Range: £14 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Poston Mill Holiday Home and Touring Park 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poston Mill Park offers Holiday Home ownership on its 35 acre park set in the Golden Valley of Herefordshire. Our 10 month season begins on March 1st and ends on January 2nd allowing you to stay for Christmas, New Year and Easter in your own 'home from home. You choose the amount of leisure time you have to spend with us from several weekends to every other week. Fully serviced, hard standing,Caravan & motorhome pitches are available all year round with a designated camping field or semi hard standing tent pitches, weather permitting.Poston Mill Holidays run alongsdide the park offers Self Catering in our Sylvista Bungalow, Poston Cottage and 2 luxury Static Holiday Homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poston Mill Holiday Home And Touring Park Hereford, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing