We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise 2 4 1”
Review of The Grapes

The Grapes
Ranked #78 of 254 Restaurants in Hereford
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprise 2 4 1”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Food was just ok my partner and I had a discussion while eating as the price was abit much for quality and a dirty table . Then we got our bill with a meal for free as 2 4 1 service was good from waitress as always smiling.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    49
    13
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peckham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Smashing!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We received a very warm welcome from the barmaid on a rather busy Monday lunch, were seated and given menus. She was more than happy to make my unheard of concoction of a drink (and did so very well) and soon took our order. I have to say mine was great, it was a creamy chicken pie, with a stack of chips as requested, And a steal for somewhere around £8. Infact, given the portion size and quality I was shocked at the value. Needless to say I'll be back as soon as the opportunity grants me, loved it!

Helpful?
Thank Jazmine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not sure how they got their award they advertise”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I had a very unappealing meal of mussels here. I don't normally bother to review bad restaurants but I felt a bit ripped off that they advertise receiving some sort of award for being the best in Hereford.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

If you go in and there aren't many customers you may get a decent meal, if they are busy things start to go downhill!
We both had salads which were all limp and going brown, the prawns hadn't been mixed in with the sauce and the side of chips had halved in size. The coffee's are a different size every time you go in and they don't seem to notice if they've only half filled the cup.
A lot of the meals are served on a board which are badly scarred from many knives, is this not a breeding ground for bacteria? One day the board was that waterlogged it was running off the table onto my husbands trousers.
We want to like the place and have had some nice meals there but enough's enough, they're just not consistent!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy customer”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Was looking for somewhere to have our wedding reception after looking on trip advisor tried The Grapes. Joe and his team made us welcome straight away. Joe and staff took away all my worries and made the whole process easy. Nothing was too much trouble.
Tables were beautifully laid.Food was good staff were friendly and attentive. Overall a very good day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsWent28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grapes also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Grapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing