We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grapes

The Grapes
Ranked #98 of 254 Restaurants in Hereford
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

An old pub with nice food, helpful staff, and sufficient choice on the menu.
The steak was so succulent, cooked to perfection and very enjoyable. The others all enjoyed their meals as well.
The 2 4 1 deal was a bonus!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krisherron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    45
    13
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hidden Gem.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is down an alleyway near WHSmiths and isn't one of these run down pubs where locals go for a few pints. It's far from that. The waiters are so helpful and you don't wait to long for food and drinks. The food, well, it's gorgeous. As far as I know, it's locally sourced and not too pricey. They provide for any dietary needs and the food is excellent. I don't actually see if I could put any negatives down! Just look out for someone dressed as some purple grapes and you'll find out where it is!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surprise 2 4 1”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Food was just ok my partner and I had a discussion while eating as the price was abit much for quality and a dirty table . Then we got our bill with a meal for free as 2 4 1 service was good from waitress as always smiling.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peckham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Smashing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We received a very warm welcome from the barmaid on a rather busy Monday lunch, were seated and given menus. She was more than happy to make my unheard of concoction of a drink (and did so very well) and soon took our order. I have to say mine was great, it was a creamy chicken pie, with a stack of chips as requested, And a steal for somewhere around £8. Infact, given the portion size and quality I was shocked at the value. Needless to say I'll be back as soon as the opportunity grants me, loved it!

Helpful?
Thank Jazmine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not sure how they got their award they advertise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I had a very unappealing meal of mussels here. I don't normally bother to review bad restaurants but I felt a bit ripped off that they advertise receiving some sort of award for being the best in Hereford.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grapes also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Grapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing