We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price and good size room - would stay again”
Review of Hopbine House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hopbine House
Ranked #34 of 36 Hereford B&B and Inns
fairycaz
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent price and good size room - would stay again”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had a wedding at Munstone house and this was in the perfect location! (we walked back and it took 10 mins ish). It is a quirky place, part of it built in 1807, surrounded by Orchards and there are A LOT of statues, ornamental and otherwise, but perfect for what we wanted. It is not a contemporary boutique place, it is what it is and perfect for what we needed. We had room 11 which was really large, patio doors to a little patio with table and chairs, ok sized bathroom and good bed. Breakfast was plenty, poss different sausages if I was being picky. The owner was really nice and overall it was a great stay, we would use it again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room 11 is great and they only take cash for the rooms, no cards
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fairycaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    9
    8
    14
See reviews for
10
20
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at the hopbine for two nights in early October. We were in room 12 which was lovely and spacious. Overall the room was good, just some of the decorating needed tidying up a bit. There was quite a lot of noise from the road so if you are a light sleeper I would suggest getting a room at the back. Breakfast was good, no real complaints.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laura_c_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I have stayed at the Hopbine many times before but never got round to reviewing it.
The Hopbine is in a great location being out of town and has a large safe car park which is great when you have an above average size vehicle.
Doreen runs the hotel and should she not be about on arrival is only a phone call away, quite often she gives me a choice of rooms which for the most part are large with Tv/Dvd and en-suite bathroom, some of the other reviews say the rooms are tired and need a makeover, like any older building improvements are always ongoing, after all its only a place to sleep who hangs round in hotel rooms when there are some great places to eat locally and in the town centre.
I do not have breakfast personally as I leave early and cannot face food at that time of morning but I know there is a good range of Cereals on offer followed by the standard English breakfast or any variation of it you require.
Wi Fi is accessible in many of the rooms but if you are out of range (due to the thick walls) there is plenty of room in the entrance hall to sit.

Room Tip: Not all have showers or Wi Fi so ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boristhespider007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed here for a weekend, as is needed pretty much every month due to work commitments. Decorated to the proprietors taste, which is quite old fashioned, but cute. Room was nice, comfy bed, room wasn't too small, decent tv with dvd player and freeview. We didn't have breakfast, so couldn't comment on that! The lady is lovely and the nicest proprietor that we've come across in Hereford so far. The only downside was that there was no shower and carpet on the floor in the bathroom, but this is a preference thing. The bath filled up quickly, plenty of hot water - couldn't really fault it. We only paid £50 a night, which is the cheapest rate we've come across so far, that was direct from the B&B. Plenty of parking too, with quite large grounds which are open for guests to use. Overall, we were pleased with our stay and thought it was value for money, taking into consideration the average price of B&B's and hotels in Hereford.

Room Tip: If you want a shower, request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NandC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed here for one night and although the owner was friendly enough, the "hotel" was pretty dire; the curtains were falling off, the wallpaper was peeling and the bathroom had a very old grubby carpet in and hair in the bath plughole, which is just grim.
The whole place seemed very grubby and tatty and it's a shame because the actual house is lovey and it could be so much better - but it really does need an overhaul.
I felt relieved to get out of there. Sorry, but there you go.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie73England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hereford hotels

Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Poor value for money, tatty room and the shower was abysmal, not so much a shower more a dribble. Nobody there to meet and greet just a phone number and the owner on the other end of the line telling you what room you had, and leaving you to find it. Poor breakfast. I will not be back!

Room Tip: None of the rooms I looked in were any better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittydaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This is a good hotel in a fantastic location on the Roman Road in Hereford. Proprietors are friendly and welcoming. It is no frills accomodation, but so much better than the low cost hotel chains. Fabulous breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonderryLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.5 mi away
Munstone House Country Hotel
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Steppes Bed & Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Brandon Lodge
Brandon Lodge
#10 of 36 in Hereford
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kidwells House
Kidwells House
#11 of 36 in Hereford
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopbine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopbine House

Property: Hopbine House
Address: Roman Road, Hereford HR1 1LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hopbine House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopbine House Hereford, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing