We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise, what a treat”
Review of Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle House
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise, what a treat”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Walked into the charming reception to be greeted with a welcoming smile scored the first points, and everything got better after that. We went for the set lunch which included a delicious glass of house wine, very good value for food and service of this class. Only one downside, for which I will not downgrade my mark, is that I was with my elderly mother and the car park was not convenient. I did not see any provision for Blue badge holders nearby. We will most certainly revisit this little gem. Thank you for a memorable lunch

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    82
    19
    12
    5
See reviews for
61
220
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have been meaning to write a little piece on this hotel for several months but things have got in the way. But here I am now ready to feedback on our experience of this diamond of a venue in Hereford. We were booked to stay for 3 nights in the suite that looked up the road towards the high street.( The name of our suite was...Charles II Suite). The staff were really helpful and nothing was to much trouble. We had room service one night which was good value and the breakfasts were superb. Unfortunately on the morning of our finally day i had a family crisis which necessitated a quick exit out of Hereford. The staff at the hotel could not have done anymore to support our departure and waved the charge on our final nights stay ( i guess they could have still charged us for the suite but don't know enough about such things). It was tip top service and my partner and i were very grateful. We will be going back to revisit and hopefully bag that suite again. Fab location, fab staff, fab wine....only the town itself was disappointing!

Room Tip: Charles the second suite or similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for dinner bed and breakfast on Saturday night Dec 14 th. We ate in the bar as their was a party in the dining room but that was pretty nice with a slightly continental feel about it. The waitresses were above average with none of the usual restaurant jargon ( is everything alright for you in respect of yourself) The menu was interesting and fairly well all locally sourced.Belly pork with crackling,Guinea fowl ,venison,all delicious.We stayed in room 12 which had a large very comfortable bed with good bedding and lovely upholstery on the armchairs,two televisions ,a good bathroom and extremely quiet.A lovely breakfast was topped by watching a Kingfisher very close to the french doors that open onto the Castle Pool.Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We have stayed in the hotel many times.Every time the experience has always been extremely pleasant.
This unique one of a kind quintessentially English hotel is efficiently run .Staff are always courteous and more than willing to go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and cater to your needs.
We are currently staying in room 7...The Royal Suite.This room has been very recently updated (we stayed in this room about 12 weeks ago)
Has been beautifully done.Room is light and airy...still has old world charm ...with a modern twist.
Great location ... Walking distance to shops in High Town, river walks and Cathedral and more.
This is our "home from Home"

Room Tip: We prefer the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stopped here for one night to break up a long South/North journey. This is an excellent hotel and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Hereford.

We had the Charles II Suite, a very large room on the second floor of the main hotel building. It was made up of a very large lounge area, big bedroom and big bathroom. All spotless, superbly furnished and equipped and incredibly comfortable. Lovely views down toward the Cathedral and towards the river. We had an excellent night of sleep and the bed was very, very comfortable.

The hotel itself isn't big. Is an old, Georgian (?) building and has been decorated in a nice mix of modern and older styles that really blend together. The staff were first class, really welcoming, professional and friendly.

We had dinner in the restaurant. An excellent meal (starters of "Pork" and scallops both full of flavour and presented superbly - main courses of rib eye steak and beef fillet, both excellent and then a panna cotta (my wife thought this the star of the show) and cheese board - a good choice), up there with some of the best we have had we agreed. Great service and a lovely evening.

Hereford itself was a real surprise. We must have been through in many times but never stopped. We always thought it looked a bit boring, bit dull and down at heel. Well, we were very wrong. You don't get to see the heart of the city if you pass through in the car. You miss an excellent shopping area with a great mix of buildings, pubs and shops, a wonderful river and park and a beautiful cathedral. You also miss a town full of friendly, welcoming people. Brilliant place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texel1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We just returned from a truly lovely experience at the Castle House Hotel. I have stayed there twice before and this time went with my partner for a romantic get away. We stayed in the Balingham Suite (Garden Suite) which was like having a small apartment just off the garden. It is actually in the adjoining house to the main hotel but you can access the main hotel internally without having to go out into the street.

We stayed two nights and ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on the Sunday night.......... WOW Claire the head chef is superlative......... such creative, beautifully blended flavours. As a starter we had the Seared Scallops - this dish looked like a piece of artwork and tasted amazing. For main course we tried the the sea raised trout which was exquisite and for desert a heady combination of chocolate brownie, pear, panna cotta and toffee............ for wine we went for the local Broadfield court white wine. - it was so good we went to the vineyard and bought a case while we were away this time !

The staff at the Castle House hotel couldn't have been more attentive, pleasant and efficient. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The rooms here are fantastic. I love the Balingham suite as it is totally quiet, Huge bathroom wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Healthtouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
693 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

It's unusual to find an old style 'county town' hotel offering good service, excellent food and comfortable rooms with elegance and modern amenities but this does it in spades. My first 5 stars for quite a while but really enjoyed and must congratulate the team there on a job enormously well done.

watty

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watty5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hereford hotels
5.6 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
805 reviews
1.2 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
95 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
0.6 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Property: Castle House
Address: Castle Green House Castle Street, Hereford HR1 2NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a quiet area of the city of Hereford, Castle House is a boutique hotel owned by a local farming family. With 24 individually styled suites and bedrooms, and a terraced garden overlooking the old Hereford Castle moat, Castle House has a very special atmosphere. Eight of its rooms are just moments away in a Georgian townhouse called Number 25. The Castle House'Restaurant and Castle Bar and Bistro offer some of the best dining in Hereford and are the domain of one of England's top female chefs, Claire Nicholls. Castle House is perfect for a Hereford wedding, a leisure break in Hereford and the Wye Valley. Explore this lovely city with its magnificent cathedral home to the world-famous Mappa Mundi and Chain Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Hotel Hereford
Castle Hotel Hereford
Castle House Hereford, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing