We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely attention to detail”
Review of Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle House
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for a night while giving a talk in Hereford, as it was pretty much the only hotel with near-flawless reviews. It certainly deserves them - the reception, entrance hall, bar, restaurant for breakfast, and (very attractive) stairway were all spotless and well maintained. Receptionist was lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. Our room had lots of nice attention to detail - full ice-bucket, fresh milk in the fridge, a decanter of sherry ready in arrival free of charge, ground coffee, fresh fruit. Drapery etc was pristine, and the room was quiet even though it was in the main building on the front. The bed was massive, and needed all six big plumpfy pillows. If I were to mention that the red/blue bit on our bathroom tap had come off, so we had to run it to find out which way was hot/cold, it would only be to point out that this was the only minor detail that stood out as less than perfect. We've paid as much in very average hotels, and the price for this room was good value for what we got.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinJie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Castle House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

I´ve stayed at the Castle House and has a very good surprise
i was given a room outside the main castle on a building 50m from main hotel, room is small but very cozy with all on offer, coffee/tea set, fruit ( the only down side is that I was on 2nd floor and there is no lift :( but overhaul nice decorated room finished with very good standards.
its approximately 10 minutes walking into city town and 15 minutes to train station
breakfast room is another good experience turned to their gardens with a river passing by, very relaxing and romantic.
would definitely recommend this hotel but romantic reasons and relaxing/business purposes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

A very nice setting in a very quaint well kept market town ,within walking distance of most amenities that Hereford city has to offer.the hotel it's self is set in idillic surroundings and in superb and very quintessential English style garden lovely for the afternoon tea .
We have stayed in this hotel several times and without any doubt The best kept secret in this hotel is room 7 .
Staff are all excellent always extremely friendly and polite nothing is too much trouble .
Would recommend to any one a must stay :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Glyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really very special indeed & the second time we have travelled from Scotland to stay. We have just enjoyed 4 luxurious nights with the best of food, exceptional service and a superb and very exciting area to visit Thank you Castle House

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have used this delightful hotel several times, although on each occasion we were bedded down in the annex which is a short walk from the hotel in the same road. Although the rooms were of very good quality with excellent facilities, nevertheless it wasn't in the hotel and there's nothing like coming down to breakfast, is there ? Especially if its raining. From what I gather, the hotel is relatively small indicating the range of rooms is limited, which is the purpose of the annex - to widen the range. Small points such as the newspaper not being delivered in the morning and finding no fresh milk in the mini bar for my early morning cuppa were irritating, but quickly resolved.

The hotel is very central and the staff were all very friendly, courteous and helpful.

The bar is intimate with an adjacent brasserie serving well cooked snacks and light meals. The restaurant is excellent, although on each occasion the chef, Claire, wasn't in evidence. On the last visit my colleague and I were the only customers in the restaurant so the atmosphere was dead, although not at our table ! The food was exceptionally well cooked and presented. They serve a decent Malbec.

Talking of the food quality, it ranked quite high for me, fitting very well to the fine dining mode.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the annex which has a mix of rooms. One they recommend which is really nice is, unfortu...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a lovely quiet place for a light lunch when shopping in Hereford. We tend to use what they call the 'bistro' area: it is a pleasant spot for a bar-meal. A good choice of light meals for all tastes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were welcomed and made very comfortable in the bistro. We had an excellent rib eye steak with house wine which was very good.
On this experience we cannot recommend Castle House highly enough. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LaurelS592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hereford hotels
1.2 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
790 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
254 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Address: Castle Green House Castle Street, Hereford HR1 2NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range: £145 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a quiet area of the city of Hereford, Castle House is a boutique hotel owned by a local farming family. With 24 individually styled suites and bedrooms, and a terraced garden overlooking the old Hereford Castle moat, Castle House has a very special atmosphere. Eight of its rooms are just moments away in a Georgian townhouse called Number 25. The Castle House'Restaurant and Castle Bar and Bistro offer some of the best dining in Hereford and are the domain of one of England's top female chefs, Claire Nicholls. Castle House is perfect for a Hereford wedding, a leisure break in Hereford and the Wye Valley. Explore this lovely city with its magnificent cathedral home to the world-famous Mappa Mundi and Chain Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Hotel Hereford
Castle Hotel Hereford
Castle House Hereford, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing