We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay and Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle House
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Stay and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We booked a last minute Sunday Night stay in the Castle Hotel. Lovely setting with Gardens and mini-lake. Welcomed to hotel and shown to a lovely basement suite in the 'Town House' across the street. We had our own Garden and even maanged a picnic.

Drinks and Dinner were great and food/service unbeatable. Menu had modest number of choices but great.

Room Tip: All so different
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertkK4739UX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    75
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
54
201
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Everything was perfect. Fillet steak one of the best we've had. Lovely place, rooms, garden, location. Restaurant spacious, couldn't fault the service, ambience spot on - fine dining at its best. Breakfast was first class too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilMargY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights over Easter and it was a very enjoyable stay. Quite expensive but for the location, service and food it was worth it. The breakfast was very good but you do have to be specific when ordering - "2 sausages and eggs" or you get 1 but they would rectify that anyhow. Front of house staff were all very polite and helpful and the hotel was very clean with a traditional feel. Also there is some free sherry in the room which is amusing. I would choose to stay here again if I was in Hereford.

Room Tip: The resturant fills up so book as early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
217 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel oozes class and quality. Everything about it was a delight. Four of us stayed in the hotel itself, two other colleagues stayed in an annexe and we all loved our rooms. It's

beautifully done up and if the food in the evenings is as nice as breakfast, I'm definitely coming back. Fantastic local produce wonderfully served. Friendly staff and a good wine list. How this place got two "poor" reviews here beats me - dear God, some people simply shouldn't ever leave home. I'd give it 7 stars if I could because it's the best hotel in the UK I've stayed in for a long time.

Highly recommended for a romantic weekend away.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MIssDillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed here for a two night (Sat & Sun) break and since there was a deal to be had if you ate at their restaurant we did exactly that - check their website for their deals. The food was very good but fell short of outstanding. It was a little pretentious if truth were told, but as I say still very good. The suite we had (we were upgraded for very little extra cost - all the standard room were fully booked) was the Ballingham Suite (No.17 in the main house). The suite was excellent and very spacious, including the bathroom where we had both a bath and walk-in shower. The French doors from the suite leading onto the garden were an unexected bonus as the private garden is a great place to relax and have a drink. The garden is overlooking the duck pond so gives that feeling of being out in the countryside. The hotel is probably situated in both one of the best and quietest spots in Hereford as the Cathedral is literally two minutes walk as is the park over from the duck pond. The park leads onto a lovely riverside walk via a pedestrian bridge.
Highly recommended for a peaceful stay in a high quality suite. The reception staff were very good too!

Room Tip: Ballingham Suite No.17 in the main house is great, and it leads onto the lovely pond side garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharpLeft-Vot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

A lovely place to be, but strange. A bit like an old country house, not what I expected really. The food as ok. I ended up having a steak as there was nothing else that appealed to me. It was nice,but again I expected more for the calibre of the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgriffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

What a great experience, I found the hotel by internet search as we were planning a few days in ther Hereford area. so never not quite sure if the right choice has been made until you arrive there. No need for concern - warm welcome at Reception and assistance with bags, very pleasant room with complimentary fruit, bottled water and fresh milk in the fridge for tea/coffee.
Went to the bar for a snack and pleasant service continued.
On each of our nights there we chose to eat in the hotel restaurant having spent the day roamiing around and we enjoyed excellent meals with continued good service. Our only slightly negative comment was that the restaurant menu was a little restricted in terms of variety although the food was of excellent quality and well presented. On reeflection we should have eaten in the bar / brasserie on one night for added variety.
On the whole a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: We chose a Junior Suite which hjad a little extra speace with writing desk etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hereford
5.6 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 13 in Hereford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
10.7 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Property: Castle House
Address: Castle Green House Castle Street, Hereford HR1 2NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a quiet area of the city of Hereford, Castle House is a boutique hotel owned by a local farming family. With 24 individually styled suites and bedrooms, and a terraced garden overlooking the old Hereford Castle moat, Castle House has a very special atmosphere. Eight of its rooms are just moments away in a Georgian townhouse called Number 25. The Castle House'Restaurant and Castle Bar and Bistro offer some of the best dining in Hereford and are the domain of one of England's top female chefs, Claire Nicholls. Castle House is perfect for a Hereford wedding, a leisure break in Hereford and the Wye Valley. Explore this lovely city with its magnificent cathedral home to the world-famous Mappa Mundi and Chain Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Hotel Hereford
Castle Hotel Hereford
Castle House Hereford, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing