We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle House
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed for the Hereford food festival. Hotel was close to the festival and had really good parking so we had no need to move the car once we arrived. Room had everything you could want including 2 tv's fresh flowers, fruit and bottle of sherry.
The evening meal was excellent and altogether a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunphys_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    77
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
57
207
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We visited this hotel for afternoon tea and sat outside by the river. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and we enjoyed a lovely tea by the water.
This Hotel is definitely worth a visit , it is centrally located and a stones throw from the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hrdsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Have not long returned from a weekend at the wonderful Castle House, Service,ambience,food and rooms are all second to none. Would return in a heartbeat this is how all hotels should be.Also scored me major brownie point with my wife as this was an anniversary treat!!!!!!!!!!
Thank you Castle House

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimJ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Builth Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My son and his wife were booked in for their bridal night as a wedding present. The whole experience was blighted by the fact that when in the morning they requested their bridal breakfast at 10.10am they were told that breakfast was over, that no food was available and there was no room service. This rigidity, reminiscent of the Basil Fawlty school of hotel management is quite extraordinary. For a hotel that has the pretensions of Castle House and that charges well over £200 a night, this level of service is frankly a disgrace. A verbal complaint simply referred the complainant to the clear terms and conditions of the hotel – presumably a legacy of the 1950’s. Basil - Castle House has done you proud. I certainly won’t be recommending the hotel to any of my German friends and I hope the hotel inspectors call soon so that they witness the hapless management in action.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank llanafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were lucky enough to have the William and Mary suite which looked over the river. The bed was enormous with heaps of feather pillows and wonderful sheets. So much care has gone into pampering guests with, in addition to plenty of bathroom products, a good hospitality tray with fresh milk in the fridge,fruit,ice in an icebox and even a decanter of sherry!. We had dinner outside over looking the river and overall thought the food pretty good if sometimes erring on the the present trend of deconstruction. We ate from the a la carte but saw other guests obviously enjoying the tasting menu and yet others tucking into great looking burgers from the bar menu. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented - delicious scrambled eggs, something that is not always achieved in many hotels. Very friendly and efficient staff. All in all a highly recommended experience.

Room Tip: Worth going the extra expense for a room overlooking the river. Also a Bed, Breakfast and Dinner dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent service, a superb breakfast including fresh grapefruit.

The standard rooms, well, at least ours in the annexe, are well appointed but on the small size, OK for one night but if you are planning a longer stay go for a bigger room.

Room Tip: See what I have already said, be aware that the standard rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RGLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed one night here and we're met by friendly staff who showed us to our room which was a short walk from the main building.
The rom was very nice,very modern with old fashioned twists and finished to a high standard.We had a little courtyard which was nice to sit out on for afternoon tea.
It's well positioned for the town ,just look out for the car park which is a bit tricky to find.
Al in all a very nice place to say ,I just thought it was a bit pricey ,breakfast very good with a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hereford hotels
5.6 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#10 of 13 in Hereford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Property: Castle House
Address: Castle Green House Castle Street, Hereford HR1 2NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a quiet area of the city of Hereford, Castle House is a boutique hotel owned by a local farming family. With 24 individually styled suites and bedrooms, and a terraced garden overlooking the old Hereford Castle moat, Castle House has a very special atmosphere. Eight of its rooms are just moments away in a Georgian townhouse called Number 25. The Castle House'Restaurant and Castle Bar and Bistro offer some of the best dining in Hereford and are the domain of one of England's top female chefs, Claire Nicholls. Castle House is perfect for a Hereford wedding, a leisure break in Hereford and the Wye Valley. Explore this lovely city with its magnificent cathedral home to the world-famous Mappa Mundi and Chain Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Hotel Hereford
Castle Hotel Hereford
Castle House Hereford, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing