We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Interesting Experience”
Review of Chase Distillery

Chase Distillery
Ranked #5 of 52 things to do in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really Interesting Experience”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Having seen the Chase brand pop up more and more in the press and in bars I was intrigued to know more. I booked in on one of their distillery tours and it was a hugely enjoyable experience, really informative and very interesting. It was great to see behind the scenes and see how hands on the whole process is, from the farm to the finished product. The head distiller has a huge amount of knowledge and spends a lot of time with the group, showing every stage of the process. The best bit is the tasting, as you get to try anything you're interested in, from gins, to vodkas to liquers - makes it really hard to choose what to buy! Draw straws on who drives, I was definitely glad I didn't. Enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    12
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We Were Ignored...”
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

We turned up for one of their advertised distillery tours, 1pm on a Friday, quite excited to see behind the scenes, and sample some of their products.

On arrival just before 1pm we found the last tour finishing up their tasting session and decided to hang about until they had finished. We stood in the foyer being ignored for over half an hour (while staff came and went). When we asked about the tour, we were told that we'd be seen soon. We stood about for a while longer until the last people left. Then when they finally got round to seeing us, we were told that they couldn't do a tour for us because we hadn't booked.

They did offer to 'entertain' us and give us a quick look around, so we agreed, but were then left standing in the foyer for another 10 mins being ignored again.

In the end we walked out.

I appreciate that they may be busy, but manners don't cost anything. It would have been nice to have been informed that they were too busy to do the advertised tour when we arrived, rather than having to wait over half an hour to be told. We would have understood if they had just informed us when we got there, rather than ignoring us.

We just found them a bit rude.

I would definately advise calling in advance to check the advertised tours are running. It would have saved us a lot of time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Fiona_1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional and Intimate tour and tasting”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We've been enjoying Chase Gin for just over a year and couldn't wait to visit the distillery during a holiday to Hereford and we were not disappointed. Simple yet very informative, we had a tour for just the two of us and thoroughly enjoyed seeing every part of the distillery in its full glory. It's great to see such a great blend of traditional techniques with high tech equipment. Our tour guide was engaging and it was easy to see why their Gin tastes so good. The tasting afterwards was for whatever we fancied and the Rhubarb Vodka is a real treat, we thoroughly recommend a visit as it is well worth it. Quality establishment, quality spirits, quality visit....well done Chase!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Exige1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fun, informative and delicous - draw lots for who has to drive!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We visited in a group of 8 and had one other person join our tour. We had an interesting tour of the distillery seeing the whole process (though some aspects still not quite clear on, but it's a complex process). The joy of this visit however is the tasting session, a fabulous array of vodka, gin and their own liqueurs. Favourites in our group were rhubarb vodka, marmalade vodka and elderflower liqueur. £10 per person gets you the tour, the (very generous) tasting and £5 off any purchase, very handy as I doubt anyone leaves without at least one pretty new bottle for their drinks cupboard. We all had a real giggle, our guidewas friendly, well informed and fun and we would all recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsP-Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chase Distillery Vodka”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We live just around the corner and thought it would a good time to spend an afternoon! And boy it was!! Very warm welcome and a fantastic tour about Chase Vodka. Starting from the humble potato. We went though the interesting process. I wont spoil it!

But what we really enjoyed was the bar afterwards with the tasting!! I tasted most of what was offered which included: various flavored Vodkas: Marmalade, Strawberry, Blackcurrant and many others!! MMM we were sipping all and feeling nice and fuzzy inside. You can defiantly taste the difference in a quality Vodka, being a Vodka drinker myself! There were various limited additions: Rhubarb, Smoked - quite unusual and many others! Chase also produces Gins, which I had as well; never refuse a drink is my motto!!

Might I add the packaging of the vodka is beautiful! You could buy the limited additions and large bottle of Vodka!

Liz and Alex thanks for a great afternoon!! Can you try make us a Chocolate flavour?

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chase Distillery also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Chase Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing