We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little restaurant !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Den

The Den
Ranked #3 of 253 Restaurants in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food and excellent friendly service. Love the fact that they source everything locally and food is cooked fresh everyday. Can't wait to visit for my next round of lemon cake yummy!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank squibby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    94
    30
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Was a bit nervous about going having read about some people's experience about the service. But the service was good,though slow, but they apologised.
The food however, was very poor. I had sole which was advertised as stuffed with hazelnuts and served in a garlic cream sauce. There were a couple of bits of rolled fish completely submerged in a spicy tomato sauce. This was served with soggy yet overdone potato pieces which looked liked they 'd been reheated and some bits of toast!
My daughter's duck was tough and overdone and there wasn't much of it. Served with masses of purple cabbage. Grandson's steak was ok but the chips were overdone.
It was a quiet night, so maybe they had a temporary chef in.
Either way, I wouldn't go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jade O, Owner at The Den, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can not apologise enough for your poor experience with us and can assure you I take everything you have said into consideration. I have used your comments as a training tool with the kitchen team and reviewed all staff due to this. I would love for you to try our restaurant again, so I can show you the full experience we have to offer. If you would take the time to call and speak to Jade we would love to hear how we can improve more and ensure your return to our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Really nice little place :) great food and great service. Really worth a visit for breakfast lunch or dinner

Helpful?
1 Thank ghostbuster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really lovely non chain Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Went recently with a group of friends for a birthday celebration. Really impressed by the lovely resturant and fab menu. Really nice to have somewhere to go to which is run by locals and not a chain. Beautiful presentation of food, great food and lovely staff. Would definitely reccommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cspanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

popped in today on impulse. we had a very warm welcome and were told we could sit anywhere, by the time we had chosen our seats the waitress was there with menus and a bottle of water.the door was open and she asked us if we were ok with it open or if we wanted it closed.drinks were delivered quickly and we were given time and space to read the menu.the food was good and we were not rushed. deserts and coffees were offered as the table was being cleared.no sign of a card machine but i didnt ask if there was one, so maybe a good idea to take cash just in case. all in all a good experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Den also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing