We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a verygood weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Munstone House Country Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Reviewed 22 September 2013

we stayed at muntone house for two nights due to my wifes brother choosing the venue as their wedding venue and having read the reviews on trip advisor i thought oh know what have you done .
But i can only speak of our experience and have to say for a wedding venue this is very nice .
On arrival we was greeted by very polite staff who showed us to our family room which was very clean, no dust or anything that shocked us, the main bed was a four poster which was ok some of the wood not perfect but hey ho this is a hotel and how many people have stayed in the rooms.
The bathroom had a corner jacuzzi bath and over bath shower all in working order no complaints.
The house is over 160 years old and the decor and furniture is done in a way to try and compliment the age of the building so if you like nice modern perfect walls and ceilings etc this isnt for you.
The lady who was in charge was so kind to us and nothing was too much trouble ,that was to be said of all the staff,
The breakfast was very good, it was buffet style and you could have as much as you liked and if something wasnt there that you would like they would go out of their way to help you.
There was full english , continental ,cereal , yogots and pastries.
The food for the wedding day was very very good , we had a carvery and you could have asmuch as you liked .the lady who ran the place made sure all guests were happy and bellies were full. the night time food was also excellent with hot pizza and chicken and savories and sandwiches etc.
The drinks were a tad on the expensive side but tell me a hotel that isnt as you are not in a working mens club.
The communial areas of the hotel had plenty of seats to relax and enjoy the piece and quiet and were also very clean ,wifi was available and free of charge.
The grounds of the hotel were nice with a nice sounding water feature, i personly think some of the plants could do with being cut right back to show some more of this beatiful building off.
but thats just my opinion.
As ive said you can only speak as you find and we were made to feel very welcome the owner couldnt do enough for us and our children and our baby, our room was clean and tidy and had all the facilties you would expect.
The building as ive said is not new so dont expect new but if you like a bit of history and period style you will love it
We had a great stay we couldnt fault the place nor would we want to and would stay again
Thank you to Munstone House for making our stay a pleasure

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Attended a wedding here recently, the setting and venue itself is beautiful. However, you can see that this place has got some serious management issues. No where near enough staff on, although, the staff that were on couldnt be more than helpful - especially the young guy behind the bar (think i heard someone call him Jamie). The manager herself looks dirty, with dirty clothes, hair not tied back and HER son running around the premises on a private wedding. In addition to this, i also witnessed one of the young waitresses nearly faint whilst serving food, for her manager to just take away a glass of water instead of offering her one!! The food was ok, although, no where near enough for the amount of guests the wedding had. The wedding was an amazing day, but more so thanks to the staff who have to deal with such bad management scheme up there! How this women has got staff and a business running I do not know! The bride was also promised hotel exclusiveness for her big day, for then a load of random other guests to be walking through her evening do as they had booked to stay there the same night!!! not so exclusive??

As lovely as this wedding was, I would NEVER recommend Munstone House due to the such bad management and what the staff have to go through!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Spent one night there in April. It was tired looking and not very well cleaned - in particular the fire exit light on the ceiling above the bed was full of dead flies + spiders. The room had broken bedside table. Internet did not work in the room (only in the dining room).
Breakfast the following morning was average at best.
Had debated booking a travel lodge for the last minute trip to Hereford but thought for the same price we would try here - think the travel lodge would have been a better choice!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We booked the hotel for our wedding night as we were getting married close by. We never got a chance to stay as when my fiancé called to confirm he could drop off a couple of bags early the hotel cancelled on us as said there is no way another bride could come back in her wedding dress (they also had a wedding there that day). The woman on the phone seemed to get great delight in telling my fiancé this and seemed to have no problem in leaving us with no where to stay two days before our wedding, in fact she was incredible rude. Luckily we found a beautiful hotel close by.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My BF booked this in April, as we were attending a Wedding nearby, and really loved the look of the Hotel.
When I called, and spoke to Doreen, a few days before to check what time they could check in, I was asked if they were attending the Wedding at the Hotel. I explained we weren't, but were going to another Wedding nearby. Nothing was mentioned any further at this point.

Then, 2 days before we were due to stay, we received a call to say the room they had been allocated was above the function room of the Wedding at the Hotel, and then told "to be honest, you would be better off staying in your car !!" She immediately asked if we would like to cancel the booking - no mention of trying to re-accomoodate us in another room, or swap the room with someone that WAS actually attending the Wedding party at the venue.

We didn't cancel the booking there and then, as it was difficult finding accommodation when the original booking was made. Thankfully, we were able to find an alternative Hotel which were much more hospitable.

We suspect that the room had been double booked and as they weren't attending the Wedding, and were fed a pack of lies about it being above the venue - what DJ carries on until 4am (??)

Room Tip: it seems your car would be a better choice than this Hotel .... and that came fromt he staff !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshGirlCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Most of the reviews on here are as a wedding venue, I only stayed one night in the hotel so the review is based on that.

Munstone House is a beautiful building in the Hereford countryside, the room I stayed in was very large with a 4 poster bed and a spa bath.

Unfortunately the place seemed a little unfinished, there is no proper reception so I spent five minutes wandering around the place looking for a staff member. When I eventually found one however I was greeted with a warm welcome and shown to my "suite"

In the room was a 4 poster bed, however it looked like a GCSE CDT project, there were screws sticking out at the top and it rocked and creaked.

In the bathroom was a nice corner spa bath but the shower didn't work properly and the tiling job was awful.

Breakfast is standard English but obviously just bought from the cheapest cash and carry, seeing as Herefordshire is mostly farms a bit of thought in sourcing locally produced ingredients would make a huge difference.

With a bit of thought this could be an excellent hotel but they have obviously cut corners to save costs and it shows.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l3nny600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We decided to have a short break in Hereford and looked at trip advisor for some guidance on hotels in the area. Initially after reading some reviews we were sceptical about Munstone house but were proven wrong once we settled in. It is quite close to the city centre but pleasantly far enough out to be quiet at night with no passing traffic at all. The view from our room looked over the city and was very pleasant. The gravel car park is spacious and set in lovely gardens. On arrival at the hotel a little earlier than the booking time we had to ring a mobile for service but someone arrived immediately. We were shown to our room and it was a nice suite although we were a little disappointed it wasn't a suite with a four poster although we were unsure of which it would be due to the booking process through bookings.com. The room was very clean and was decorated with period fittings and features. The weather has obviously been very hot recently and the window had been fixed open with no fan in the room. The bathroom was clean and tidy and had a spa/jacuzzi bath although not extremely powerful it did relax you. The show was a small drench head and did take a few moments to get to the right temp with no a very powerful output but it did suffice. There was a freeview flatscreen tv with a dvd player, kettle with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and some bottles of spring water. Possibly the addition of a fridge would be a benefit. The bed was large and very comfortable. The sheets were fresh and spotless and the bed had what seemed like 1000s of pillows of different shapes and sizes??? A comfortable nights sleep was had even if a bit warm due to the weather. The breakfast was a hot cooked buffet, cereals, white and brown bread with toaster, fresh fruit and yoghurt, Earns of hot fresh coffee and water with a selection of fruit and variety teas blends. I couldn't fault the breakfast at all. Overall a nice clean and pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: Be specific about the contents of the room when booking i.e. jacuzzi/four post bed etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ragman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hereford hotels
2.9 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hereford
320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hereford
285 reviews
1.9 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 11 in Hereford
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
826 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 11 in Hereford
799 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munstone House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munstone House Country Hotel

Address: Munstone, Hereford HR1 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range: £83 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Munstone House Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Munstone House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munstone Hotel Country
Munstone House Country Hotel Hereford, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing