We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paid my bill - got a phone call....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Munstone House Country Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paid my bill - got a phone call....”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a Valentines and Birthday treat, booking through Booking.com, payment to be taken by the hotel, when it came to pay the bill the lady checked the diary and then advised that the cost was £200, which I duly paid. Today I got a phone call from a very abrupt lady telling me she was doing the accounts and we had underpaid and that I should give her a credit card number over the phone - I am not in the habit of supplying my credit card number to people who just ring me up obvioulsy and therefore advised that I was not willing to do that and so she asked how I would pay. I suggested that we were only charged £200 after the lady had checked the diary and therefore this is their error not mine. She advised that she would send an invoice that I should pay because otherwise they woudl take me to court... surely if they had wanted to charge me £300 they would have charged it to me rather than the very rude phone call from someone I don't know threatening me... DON'T STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    29
    34
    29
    64
See reviews for
52
111
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Well, where do I start! The day was absolutely PERFECT!!
I could not have chosen a better place.
The reception room is lovely and big with a nice view of the gardens.
I was amazed when I saw the room all ready for my big day. It looked absolutely beautiful and the staff had done an amazing job at setting out the tables.
The grounds of Munstone House are beautiful. There is a lovely waterfall where I had a photo taken and loads of little places to have some really stunning shots.
I chose a calvary for my main meal and the food was to die for. All my guests commented on how gorgeous the food was. Even too this day people still say, "oh remember the food at your wedding, it was lovely" and they are right. I was absolutely delighted with the way the day had started out.
The evening just got better. The room is big enough to hold 150/200 people and I had a band which was amazing. The room was filled with people dancing and having a lovely time.
The staff at Munstone house did an absolute fantastic job of hosting my special day and I didn't have to worry abut a thing.
Even from the day I booked the venue, Yvonne, the owner, knew exactly what she was doing and advised me on what welcoming drinks to have etc and I am so happy she did as the punch was delicious :) and the way everything was laid out and presented was great.
She did a great job and I was and still am so happy with the way the whole thing just came together.
I would recommend this venue to anyone. Simply Perfect

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was my son and girl friend's first Christmas together and was chosen simply because it was a convenient location near to family and the photographs of the grounds and rooms looked really amazing! Firstly, they were the only guests on Christmas eve, yet they were given a 'cosy' room, a bathroom so, so tiny, with a sloping ceiling, that my six foot four son couldn't even stand up in to brush his teeth ! There was a 'curtained' adjoining room? ? perhaps that was the main bathroom? NO BREAKFAST on Christmas morning AT ALL even though paid for! ( they paid up front with CASH as it was my present!) Apparently they had a Christmas day lunch to make for thirty people????? Also they said there was no reception or staff to talk to and the bar was closed? Sorry but your loss when they are looking for any future venues! And how about a REFUND on the breakfast! A cheque will do! Hopefully you will get your act together for New Year but we are staying in the Premier from now on!

Room Tip: Don't get the one with handcarved beds if you are over 5' 5"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChrisandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hereford hotels

Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Where do i start, the day we paid for the wedding the manager looked down her nose at my partner and I because our bill didn't quite make the £4000 (we had saved up for this) the evening before the wedding my room was disgusting mould around the shower and bath, mould by the toilet under the lino my other guests complained of dirty water coming through the jacuzzi taps. Toilet brushes with feaces on them for all to see bath blocked even to the degree that the manager knew about it as she brought the sucker with her when informed of a problem!.
Bed creaked and kept my friend awake ( I expected a lot more for £100 a night) what you see is not what you get. The morning of the wedding we were left to our own devices no assistance. The manager very rude and unapproachable dirty and dressed in soiled clothes throughout the day very flirtatious with my husband at times.
My wedding ceremony was very short due to getting wed the day before and all she did was criticise it and told the staff that i had paid for to go home because they weren't needed ( what did I pay a huge amount for). It was sweltering and the manager wouldn't let the staff serve us from the bar, we waited over an hour for our meal which is the only thing that was excellent!
No air conditioning the room was ridiculous, so hot thought we were going to faint when asked if we could open the door the snotty reply was 'you wait'.

The £16 a bottle of wine was a £3.99 Echo falls appalling cheap Champagne that cost us nearly £18 per bottle Lemonade and Cola from Aldi's overly priced
We paid for the whole hotel for just our guests only to see strangers also booked in.

After the party I put the best side light on only to be met by a handful of cobwebs and then the light not working!

Upon leaving the manager very rudely turned around to me and said ' you did well for yourself there when checking out my husband.

I have left my review for sometime and still very hurt and saddened with the fact my wedding day was ruined thanks to the manager of this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lisaclewer1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I stayed here for a week before departing overseas, the room was amazing, included a four poster bed, fabulous views and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was inviting, warm and plenty of it. The newly opened restaurant is just lush, fab menu and all locally sourced food which is so nice to see. I look forward to my next visit in the spring when hopefully the weather will be better and I can sit on the veranda with a Chase Vodka and glorious food and enjoy the fantastic views. Thank you for making my stay so welcoming see you all soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very different I intend to try a different one each visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Just been to a christmas party here, and it was atrocious. the staff were ignorant, the seating plan was similar to that of a school dining hall, and anyone over 3 feet tall wouldn't have been able to sit comfortably in the VERY limited space. The cash and carry food was GROSSLY undercooked, and we had to wait over an hour between the main and dessert. Certainly not worth £30 a head.

Oh and we had more than one Earwig crawling on our table.

i wish i could give it a zero. AVOID!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

being a regular visitor to Hereford I have stayed at all the hotels , most numerous times . Some I will return to others I wont.
Munstone House Country Hotel is a boomerang , I will be back there, I had a great room, plenty of space and felt like home.
I enjoyed so local Gin!
had a great piece of Hereford beef with great servings of food

Room Tip: go the Executive suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDCPlatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hereford hotels
1.9 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
437 reviews
2.9 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
302 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
804 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
1.4 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munstone House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munstone House Country Hotel

Property: Munstone House Country Hotel
Address: Munstone, Hereford HR1 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Munstone House Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Munstone House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munstone Hotel Country
Munstone House Country Hotel Hereford, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing