We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic Bunkhouse”
Review of Berrow House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ledbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berrow House
Ranked #18 of 20 Ledbury B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good basic Bunkhouse”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Reading some previous reviews, let's set a few things straight. This bunkhouse is not dirty or smelly, or unfeasibly cramped. During a January visit it was all warm enough.
Kitchen is adequate, the usual bunkhouse mishmash of fixtures and fittings. But there is everything required and it serves perfectly. The main lounge / bedroom is comfortable and warm. Probably best to restrict this to 4 people as there are 4 proper beds. Upstairs has 3 full size floor level beds. Yes - space and headroom is limited but it's a bedroom not a dancehall!
In the fold, the two rooms are small but work OK
The two toilets / shower rooms are spacious and have plenty of hot water.

In summary, for our group of 8 using the main bunkhouse and the fold it all worked perfectly well. We didn't use the outside space (except the car park - it was January) and we can't comment on the caravan.

If you want sumptuous luxury accommodation, find a hotel or nice B&B and pay their prices. If you want a functional bunkhouse in a location convenient for walking on the Malverns, Berrow House is recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Pros:

- Great location for walks
- Well equipped kitchen
- £12 a night is probably about right

Cons:

- It is advertised on the website as sleeping 8 in the bunkhouse - which is not comfortable in the space available
- The 'sofa type bed' is actually just a shabby old sofa with no real 'bed like' qualities - expecting someone to pay to sleep on a sofa is a bit much. I accept it's basic accommodation but one of the basics I did expect was a bed
- The upstairs room is cramped for three adults - and your feet need to go right into the corner where the roof and floor meet - OK for kids but not for most adults
- Its generally quite dirty - again, I was expecting it to be basic but I would also expect it be be cleaned properly.

In summary - I wouldn't stay again, but it just about passes if you want somewhere to crash after a walk.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ledbury hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Just got back from a lovely weekend in the Malverns and Berrow House. The other review on here is extremely harsh and unreasonable. Yes it is VERY cosy and I wouldn't really have liked to share the living room/bedroom with strangers but in a group of friends it was fine. The rooms upstairs in the bunkhouse are small but again are fine. Better than camping anyway. The kitchen is great, well equipped, everything works and we had some lovely times sitting, chatting, drinking and eating. The car park does fit about 5/6 cars at a push.

To sum up it is great value for £10 pppn. The bathrooms are outside but are clean and have lots of hot water and good showers.

What can you expect for such a cheap rate? This was everything we needed.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_lomaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This hostel is not at all as described on their website, www.berrowhouse.co.uk. The Bunkhouse ‘main bedroom’ is the same room as the sitting room pictured on their website. There are 4 beds pushed against the walls of the sitting room, with ad-hoc tables and chairs arranged in the middle of the room. The ‘additional settee type bed’ in this room is the sofa (not a sofa bed).

The ‘upper bedroom’ is the eaves of the roof of the bedroom/sitting room. There is no door separating this room from the bedroom/sitting room below. The 3 ‘beds’ are tucked right underneath the eaves and they are not at all long enough for an adult. You cannot sit up in these beds and you cannot stand up in the room, it is really that tiny, I'm not kidding. This room would be great for kids, but is not suitable for adults, let alone 3 adults.

The Bunkhouse kitchen is poorly arranged with the cooker right next to the door leading into the bedroom/sitting room, and a pointless wall which gets in the way next to the sink. There is ample crockery and cutlery. There is a large fridge freezer and another fridge. There is a long trestle table in the kitchen with benches but when used (pulled away from the wall) these impede the passage of people in and out of the kitchen area and sitting/bedroom. Note the picture of the kitchen on the website is not the one in the bunkhouse, but the one in the Fold.

Note the Bunkhouse has no bathroom and you must share the 2 shower/toilet rooms outside with others on the site. These 2 shower rooms are large and pretty clean, the sort I would expect from a decent campsite. The showers are hot and powerful.

The Fold’s two rooms smell mouldy and are incredibly dirty and it feels like a prison with tiny windows. The beds in both rooms are tiny, the upper bunks have absolutely no headroom whatsoever. The Fold shower and toilet is the smelliest & smallest I have ever seen, the sink is practically on your lap if you do manage to sit on the toilet.

The Nook is a dirty, smelly caravan on the edge of the small camping field. Is it not quiet or private. The double bed is smaller than a regular double and the single is barely long enough for an adult. The ‘partition’ is a curtain on the single bed.

The parking space is small, will fit 4 cars with relative ease, we managed to get 6 in there with lots of careful manoeuvring. Everyone else had to park on the road.

The picnic area has 2 picnic tables adjacent to the BBQ and one other picnic bench further up. The picnic area is right next to the car park so isn’t very pretty. The ‘water garden’ is a small pond surrounded with ‘Danger, Deep Water’ signs and bricks.

The campsite is a small field with 6 pitches. The upper 2 pitches are up a very steep, slippery slope. You cannot leave your car on the camping field.

Mary is lovely, if totally batty and will let you have the run of the place. Bill is absent.

This place would be great if it was cleaned and didn’t claim to accommodate as many people as it does. Go with 6 friends, take lots of booze and be prepared for an interesting experience, but don’t go with 12 adults as there is simply not enough room. £10pppn for a tiny bed too small for an adult in a dirty shed is overpriced. £4pppn for the campsite is good value.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamforbrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
3.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
90 reviews
2.3 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Malvern
438 reviews
3.6 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ledbury
318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Woodend Farm House B&B
Woodend Farm House B&B
#7 of 20 in Ledbury
47 reviews
3.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ledbury
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berrow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berrow House

Property: Berrow House
Address: Hollybush, Ledbury HR8 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ledbury
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Berrow House Ledbury, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing