We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth it...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth it...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We visited The Feathers to make use of the spa facilities and for dinner. Whilst the spa is quite dated and simplistic, its great value for money at £12 pp if you want a relaxing few hours. Dinner is served in the Fuggles Brasserie, in a rustic setting, which offers a peaceful dining experience,with really good food and polite waiting and bar staff. Ledbury is a pretty town, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate45uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    91
    37
    20
    6
See reviews for
52
126
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Callao, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great food, service and ambience in this lovely, timbered, full-of-character, medieval building. I had a delicious potato and leek soup and green salad and my fiancé had the fish cakes. My creme brulee with gooseberry compote was wonderful and my fiancé's cheese selection was also very good. Our Domaine Mont d'Hortes vin rose was a winner too. Not too dry but quite powerful for such a pale wine. Our waitress could not have been more helpful or prompt. Heartily recommend the Feathers bar for lunch in this fascinating and very attractive old market town..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind recommendation. We are delighted to read how much you both enjoyed your lunch with us and will pass on your feedback directly to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

There was nothing at all wrong with anything we experienced here when we stayed for the weekend. The hotel is a lovely old building, the breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed the meal we had there in the evening. However the shower was over the bath and right in front of the window which, though frosted, overlooked the main street, which was rather off putting. The room was full of character but the decor was dated. It was just the feeling that everything was slightly overpriced that took the sparkle from the weekend. Everything was nice but nothing was exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rocksCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had lunch in the bar of the Feathers Hotel on a recent visit to the area. The vegetarian lasagne, with salad, was OK although the lasagne was burnt at the edges. At £14.95, it was significantly overpriced and hence poor value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank anorakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FeathersLedbury, General Manager at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear "Anorakk",

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your lunch with us at The Feathers.

We are proud at The Feathers Hotel of using local ingredients and making most things in our own kitchens. The lasagne is one of those made completely from scratch here and takes a lot of time and effort to produce. We believe that £14.25, that we charge, is representative of the quality that we are delivering.

If you are ever unhappy with a dish please let one of the waiting staff know and they will make sure that your experience with us is outstanding before you leave.

We do hope that we can welcome you back to The Feathers so that you may experience the standards that we strive for.

Kind regards

Edward Elliston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seven Sisters, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We visited this lovely hotel by chance. We were staying in Ross on Wye and were exploring the surrounding area and came across the charming market town of Ledbury. We were looking for a bite to eat for lunch and came across this oldie worldly hotel. It has a fabulous feel when you step inside and lots of crooks and crannies where you can sit with comfortable settees. There were plenty of people dining there in a large but charming dining area. We opted for cosy settees because we were only having sandwiches but which were delicious.I would recommend this place if you are in the area looking for a bit of character.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FeathersLedbury, General Manager at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Margaret,

Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor.co.uk. It is always lovely to hear that people have enjoyed our hospitality.

We are very lucky to be situated in Ledbury with all of its character and interesting alleys and shops - we are spoilt by the surrounding countryside as well.

I am glad that you enjoyed a sandwich in our lounge area, hopefully next time we can tempt you down to Fuggles Brasserie or maybe to stay the night with us wile you explore the rest of Herefordshire!

Thank you again for your kind words, we hope that we can welcome you back to Ledbury sometime soon.

Best Wishes

Edward Elliston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We met for coffee and stayed for lunch!
Good service from friendly, attentive, pleasant staff.
We ate from the bar menu which provided a good choice. We all enjoyed our lunch.
Good choice of drinks to accompany lunch.
Relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledbury10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a two night stay here with a group of friends and family to celebrate an important birthday.
We could not have picked a better place, lots of character, nice cosy bar areas with crackling fires, and the staff were very helpful but not intrusive.
We ate in Fruggles and again were not disappointed. Contemporary menu to suit all tastes in our party. Delicious food and excellent range of wine and again brilliant service.
We had an amazing stay, enjoyed exploring the town and surrounding areas and loved the Feathers!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was very creaky and old but full of character and cosy which we loved. Ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
12.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 25 High Street, Ledbury HR8 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The black and white exterior of the hotel dominates Ledbury's main street. Since Elizabethan times, this famous coaching inn has been a place to relax after a long day's travel. Gone are the days of Royal Mail coaches ferrying the country's post from Cheltenham to Aberystwyth, but still The Feathers awaits the weary traveller stopping in Ledbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Ledbury
The Feathers Hotel Ledbury, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing