We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but slightly overpriced.”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely hotel, but slightly overpriced.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Lovely hotel with kind and helpful staff. The room was a good size, however missed a hair dryer and the shower head kept drooping so it was hard to have a satisfying shower, also there was only one packet of biscuits! - also there is no guide in the room telling you breakfast times or other information. The spa is also dated and the changing rooms need a refit. The food in the Fuggles restaurant was good. These are all minor, but at £165 (inc. dinner and breakfast) you expect something slightly better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zannabites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to read that you thought The Feathers Hotel was lovely, your room a good size and our food good with kind and helpful staff. We would like to respectfully reply to a few points. We supply hair-dryers in all rooms. In your room, it was within the dressing table, on top of which all of the useful room and comprehensive hotel information including breakfast times and other information could be found. We do have a program of improvements currently underway, with a new reception and guest bathrooms all receiving additional investment. The double occupancy room rate included delicious dinners, bed and breakfasts for you, your husband and your child and as such, is competitively priced. We appreciate and place great value on your feedback and hope to extend another genuinely warm welcome to you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    93
    37
    20
    7
See reviews for
53
128
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I use the Feathers frequently to meet friends and also colleagues for work meetings. Great venue with nice garden area for warm weather and lovely comfy lounge seating with log fires in the winter. The ginger cats, when they appear, are also a delight. Highly recommend this relaxing and comfortable hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MHnurse30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and kind recommendation. Delighted that you find our lovely old hotel relaxing and comfortable. One of our greatest pleasures is seeing the friendly faces of returning guests to stay, dine, or use our facilities for meetings and such. We look forward to extending another genuinely warm welcome to you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Feathers - light and fluffy, delicate and subtle. Which is an apt description of my experience here. Enjoyed a few drinks in the beer garden at the back after excellent and attentive service from the friendly staff. Can't comment on food - didn't eat - but would have done if time had permitted. Looking forward to returning

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveBoyWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and taking the time to offer some feedback. We look forward to extending another warm welcome to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst visiting the Malvern hills and had a most enjoyable stay.
Staff were extremely welcoming, the spa is fantastic to relax in and great value for money, room was beautiful and the food was very taste. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to have a thoroughly enjoyable and accommodating time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippa1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your kind recommendation and sharing your experience. We are delighted to read that our spa was fantastic to relax in and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to extend another warm welcome to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Tired, careless hotel. Superior room looked out onto asphalt roof and brick wall. Even the glazed pots supposed to make it look nicer were full of weeds, not flowers. Windows opened onto thudding fan. Moved to old four poster room at the front. Traffic noise not a problem. But the extremely creaky floorboards meant you could hear right along the corridor and too much of the room next door. Doors had to be slammed, and the rear of the bathroom still opened onto the thudding fan. They switched it off one night, but it was back on at 7am. The shower was hopeless, and quite dangerous without a proper mixer.
It is as though an old fashioned four poster makes up for all the tired decoration and poor bathroom. Resting on its ancient laurels is the problem, and not thinking ahead about its sophisticated customers. When leaving, a nice lady apologised and gave us a bottle. Hope she takes my criticisms on board.
There was no sense of understanding that people need serenity and quiet when paying the very high prices of this hotel's best rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Covgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FeathersLedbury, Manager at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
We are naturally concerned and disappointed to read your comments. As professional and seasoned hoteliers, we place value on listening to feedback and a great pride in offering an impeccable level of service and hospitality. As other reviews indicate, the majority of the time we do get things completely right. Although we genuinely made every effort to please you during your stay, we appear to have failed with each attempt in this instance – something which is most unusual to us.

With much respect in our reply and to add some balance, the character of our beautiful, historic building does mean that some floorboards naturally creak. We have taken great care to fully investigate any ‘Fan’ noise, also making enquiry with other guests. So far, we are unable to trace this noise.

Please be assured of our very best intentions at all times. We hope you enjoyed the ‘bottle’ gifted as a final gesture of our good will, and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards

Edward Elliston
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We visited The Feathers to make use of the spa facilities and for dinner. Whilst the spa is quite dated and simplistic, its great value for money at £12 pp if you want a relaxing few hours. Dinner is served in the Fuggles Brasserie, in a rustic setting, which offers a peaceful dining experience,with really good food and polite waiting and bar staff. Ledbury is a pretty town, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate45uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callao, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great food, service and ambience in this lovely, timbered, full-of-character, medieval building. I had a delicious potato and leek soup and green salad and my fiancé had the fish cakes. My creme brulee with gooseberry compote was wonderful and my fiancé's cheese selection was also very good. Our Domaine Mont d'Hortes vin rose was a winner too. Not too dry but quite powerful for such a pale wine. Our waitress could not have been more helpful or prompt. Heartily recommend the Feathers bar for lunch in this fascinating and very attractive old market town..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Guest Relations at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind recommendation. We are delighted to read how much you both enjoyed your lunch with us and will pass on your feedback directly to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
12.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 25 High Street, Ledbury HR8 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The black and white exterior of the hotel dominates Ledbury's main street. Since Elizabethan times, this famous coaching inn has been a place to relax after a long day's travel. Gone are the days of Royal Mail coaches ferrying the country's post from Cheltenham to Aberystwyth, but still The Feathers awaits the weary traveller stopping in Ledbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Ledbury
The Feathers Hotel Ledbury, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing