We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful place overrun with dogs”
Review of Eastnor Castle

Eastnor Castle
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eastnor Castle in the dramatic setting of the Malvern Hills and surrounded by a beautiful deer park, arboretum and lake - is the home of the Hervey-Bathurst family. Besides being a fascinating visitor attraction, the Castle fulfils other roles as an exclusive-use wedding venue, corporate and team building venue, as well as a venue for product launches and location filming. Business or private parties can stay in the castle’s beautiful bedrooms and our highly professional team is on hand to organise every aspect of your visit.
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

I am catatonic with shock at the way this place allows dogs. Dogs and children don’t mix! I have dogs but I wouldn’t dream of taking them to a place with lots of young children. My child is scared of many of them. One dog growled at my child and made them cry! Then there was the dog poo on the pathway up to the castle. Final
Straw a dog sniffing around my child whilst he was trying to eat at the cafe!

As for the place itself well it is low priced entry but the price you pay for that is crowds and scary mums overly protective of park benches where they have planned their picnic. This is due to small play areas and not enough benches!

I will never return nor recommend anyone to go! Waste of a day.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank blondhairblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastnorCastle, General Manager at Eastnor Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Blondhairblueeyes

I am sorry you do not agree with our policy of allowing dogs to accompany their families when visiting Eastnor Castle. We love dogs at Eastnor and the feedback we receive for allowing dogs in the grounds and castle is overwhelmingly positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chilli festival"
in 38 reviews
"deer park"
in 18 reviews
"assault course"
in 21 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 15 reviews
"suits of armour"
in 11 reviews
"lakeside walk"
in 9 reviews
"easter egg hunt"
in 7 reviews
"large lake"
in 8 reviews
"an ice cream"
in 8 reviews
"dogs are allowed"
in 7 reviews
"stately home"
in 7 reviews
"bank holiday"
in 12 reviews
"round the lake"
in 6 reviews
"dog owners"
in 6 reviews
"wedding venue"
in 11 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 13 reviews
"tea room"
in 23 reviews
Filter

36 - 40 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Great walk with our toddlers and followed by a nice ice cream etc at the café. The play areas are fun too. Only criticism is poor sign posts around the woods etc.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank JoeS788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastnorCastle, Front Office Manager at Eastnor Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Eastnor Castle and for your feedback regarding our signage. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We saw the dinosaur show. What a fabulous day. Kids got to hold a snake! Beautiful scenery, brilliant activities - maze so much fun (people talked to each other!) shade for the heat. Didn’t get to castle but we will return!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Kirstie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastnorCastle, Front Office Manager at Eastnor Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Eastnor Castle. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Had a really fantastic visit to Eastnor today. We took a friend and her dog and were so thrilled to find that we could not only take the dog into the grounds but also into the castle itself. Very dog friendly everywhere. Was really busy as it was the first day of the dinosaur show (runs from 5th - 9th August) and the place was packed with families however there still appeared to be plenty of space to get round and see and do things. Lovely walks round the lakeside and through the arboretum. There is a tree trail to follow as well. Well presented rooms in castle itself with useful information boards so you can read about the rooms and paintings etc.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastnorCastle, Front Office Manager at Eastnor Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We’re glad to hear you had such a great day at the Castle!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

I visited here with my mum last week. The castle was a soul stunning, the views across the lake were breathtaking. The interior of the castle was beautiful and provided an interesting day of culture. Walking around the grounds in the sunshine was lovely! We were impressed by the range of activities on offer for all of ages. A great day, strongly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastnorCastle, Front Office Manager at Eastnor Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and photos. They are greatly appreciated, and we’d love to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eastnor Castle also viewed

Ledbury, Herefordshire
Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ledbury, Herefordshire
 

Been to Eastnor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing