We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect country pub/B&B get-away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ledbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Oak Inn Staplow
Ranked #5 of 20 Ledbury B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect country pub/B&B get-away”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I've stayed at the Oak Inn a few times now with my boyfriend and can't recommend it highly enough. Each stay has been wonderful and we have both been sad to leave. The welcome (by staff and the regulars) is incredibly warm - even for dogs! The decor is rustic, cosy and inviting. The food is incredible and far better than many restaurants, with a huge variety of dishes on offer, including pheasant, mussels and pork belly on our last trip. The wine list is extensive and excellent value for money. The stylish bedrooms are spotlessly clean, modern and bright, with huge comfortable beds, tiled bathrooms, flat screen TVs and lovely views of the surrounding countryside. Ideally situated for hikers, it's only minutes from Ledbury, with its longstanding history and pretty shops, and the beautiful Malvern. The perfect place for a cosy evening or a relaxing weekend break.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a lovely private balcony to sit out on and great views of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckylorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
37
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Travelling week in and week out to all sorts of places within the expenses budget and found a great place which made being away from home yet another night so much more pleasurable.

The food is the closest to home cooked I have had for several months and the rooms like home from home. The staff are extremely friendly and nothing is any trouble. The heating had broken down but that was already taken care off with heaters taking control of the problem. At least it had been dealt with before the problem arose.

Well,done everyone - you have a winning formula - including the opportunity to buy fresh eggs to take home with you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Arrived very early on a wet night and few people had ventured out. We opted for the dining room rather than the bar and sat adjacent to the kitchen and could see the food being prepared. I had the Cornish place with shrimps and green veg which was excellent and my wife had cheese soufflé with side dish of chips, they were so good she only gave me one! By the time we left the place was quite full so unless you go very early I recommend that you book a table

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bazzer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had one meal here. Very nicely presented and tasty but think it is a little over priced. Both had belly pork on a bed of mashed potatoes, parsnip jus, red cabbage and baby carrots (£16.00 each) Fruit Crumble to finish. Mainly fruit and a very light sprinkling of crumble (£6.50each) One lager, one half lager and a soft drink (£52.00 total)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandstoneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Apparently, to the concern of their regulars, the Head Chef left 3 weeks ago, and went off to The Green Man at Fownhope. Judging by our lunch, this was a win-win move, The Green Man gains a good 'un, but those who live west of the Malvern Hills may find that they do no longer have to go so far as Fownhope to eat really well. Those nice people who run The Oak have recruited well, and may now be catching bouquets of praise from their relieved customers who find that the standard here is still exemplary, but different. Understandably the menu has changed,(some genius has put mussels on the list, on the basis that they can make a superb sauce to go with them) and.the combinations are exciting, the standard of presentation and execution faultless. The need to return as regularly as possible is now almost essential!

Room Tip: Our visit did not include accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

stayed for a week in August whilst re-locating to the area and found the rooms clean, well equipped and very comfortable. the staff and customers in the pub made us very welcome. Only draw back is you go outside to get to your room but it only rained on us during one such trip so no hardship.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Delijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

we had a one night stay at this roadside inn(busy road)
we were checked in at the bar by a friendly barmaid and shown to our room
the room was at rear of the pub away from the road the room was clean and spacious with all
mod cons and had a lovely balcony over looking the garden very nice views.
we had a meal in the restaurant in the evening the food was quite expensive but ok quality
we did not like the open kitchen theme
this is a pub trying to be a retaurant and is too expensive for what it is
we would recommend staying at this inn but only if you get a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnj694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
9.4 mi away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightwick
200 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
96 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ledbury
346 reviews
5.9 mi away
Woodend Farm House B&B
Woodend Farm House B&B
#6 of 20 in Ledbury
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Inn Staplow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Inn Staplow

Property: The Oak Inn Staplow
Address: Bromyard Road | Staplow, Ledbury HR8 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ledbury
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Oak Inn Staplow Ledbury, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing