We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Sunday Roast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Ledbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Thank you to the chef and staff of the Talbot for a great Sunday roast lunch. Roast Beef with Roast Potatoes, Yorkshire Pudding and veg together with Roast pork, stuffing and crackling! Excellent value and really tasty! Finished with profiteroles and apple and sultana pie with ice cream
Recommended !!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank biggyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    90
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
40
135
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed for five nights over Christmas while visiting family and friends in lovely old Ledbury.
We've stayed at both The Feathers and The Talbot before and The Talbot is winning on value for money by a long way. Our room 6 was clean and comfortable, our breakfasts were delicious and everyone is very friendly. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We've stayed in three different rooms over the years and they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanandCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The Talbot has been a popular local since before the Civil War and although not quite that old, I remember it as a good place when I was growing up in the town. Now living away, we use it as a B&B when visiting and it is great.
It has fairly recently been revamped and the rooms are good - we stayed in room 7 which had a lovely big bed. The breakfast is good with a cooked on offer and cereal and fruit. The pub itself is very eel run with locals ad visitors mixing.
This place is not top of the range but up there with the best of a find local pub and good rooms and good service. If you a re int he area, go stay there and you will enjoy it.
Ledbury too is a great town to visit.

Room Tip: Room 7 was at the back so no road noise or bar noise and a great sized big bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyaspinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

A very warm welcome in this lovely historic hotel. The staff were just great and very helpful. The rooms are warm and inviting - a bit on the small side but very atmospheric. The pub was the best with many locals who obviously enjoy their local. Breakfast was fantastic. Beautiful breakfast room by the way. Hotel would be a challenge for tall people. Headroom upstairs is limited.

Room Tip: All rooms have names. Room 3 was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Ate lunch here with friends last Thursday. Good atmosphere, friendly service. Another excellent meal - the pies were superb. So nice to have somewhere reliable in town where you can get really good home cooking at a reasonable price.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here as couple before excellent experience with bird of Prey Centre in Newent. Prince Rupert Room 4 was small but cosy. Bathroom was very small but fine for one night as long as you're not over 6 foot. This is an historic quiky character place and you must accept that as part of its charm. Bedclothes had small blood stains on corners but too late in night to moan about it as they seem to have been washed. Coffee and tea maker provided is always a good sign. Not too noisy once the bar downstairs had closed.

Breakfast was fine with choice of cooked or continenatal. Dining room is very old dark pannelled, again befitting its age - didn't get too picky about dust laying on windowsills. Check in and out was fine and we very rarely need much interaction with management so all in all a reasonable value hotel for a night or 2 stopover. The town is quiet at night (Saturday) although the Retreat pub had jukebox music playing and a bit of life to it.
Slowish free wifi if you need it.

The bar in the hotel was quite popular and reasonable priced for drinks

You may be lucky enough to park outside Hotel in the evening but will probably need to use cheap public car park in the day. All in all about right for the price in this town on a Saturday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulriddiford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corse Lawn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed overnight after having an evening meal here with friends who live in Ledbury. After having a morning browsing and shopping in the town, we sampled the smoked salmon sandwiches for lunch in the bar mainly full of locals - always a good sign! Did a bit more shopping then checked into our room - as a previous reviewer has stated - not a straight line in the place - an incredible structure. Plenty of photographs of Ledbury years ago adorn the walls giving you a real sense of the history of the place. The evening meal was first class as was the breakfast the following morning. Although we live in thge area I'm sure we will be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ledbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
4.2 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Property: Talbot Hotel
Address: 14 New Street, Ledbury HR8 2DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Ledbury, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing