We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational Steak and Kidney Pie!”
Review of The Verzon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ledbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Verzon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sensational Steak and Kidney Pie!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were taken to dinner in the restaurant by friends who live locally and were very impressed with both the surroundings and our meal. It was a Saturday night and the bar was extremely busy but we found a lovely table in the window surrounded by four comfortable leather chairs to have our aperitif; a bottle of champagne nicely served in a glass ice bucket (a rare thing these days). The champagne was Pol Roget, very well priced at £45.00, and good quality.

The dining room is spacious with large wooden tables and a rather old-fashioned antique feel which we liked. I chose quail ravioli to start, which was delicious, followed by the most glorious steak and kidney pie I've ever eaten featuring crumbly short crust pastry which when cut open revealed a rich thick gravy tumbling out with a filling full of tender steak and lots of kidney. Served with baby carrots (crisp and fresh) and garlic mashed potato it was delightful and I would go back again just for that. Everybody else was equally satisfied with their meals, particular the fish and chips and unfortunately no-one could manage dessert.

The bill was £110 for two which we thought was very reasonable as this included one bottle of champagne and two bottles of wine. Service was good and the waiting staff very pleasant; we enjoyed our evening and will certainly return next time we are in Ledbury.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJV60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    28
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
71
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Decided to try out the verzons for a meal for mine and my sisters birthdays, it has been recently taken over and with this in mind we decided that as it is local to us we would give it a go- so to speak

On arrival we were greeted by a smiling young lady, who was polite and showed us through to the bar area, where we enjoyed some drinks, looked at the menus and then placed our order. When the food was ready we were shown through to our table, when the food arrived we all commented on the lovely appearance and then the fantastic taste of it. Compliments to the chef!

Although it was a quiet Sunday evening and we were the only table, we were never made to feel rushed, or unwelcome, it was a wonderful evening, and helped make the occasion even more special
Thank You

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Was invited to Verzon as part of a break from work, having toured the ultra cool chase distillery we went back to the hotel for pre dinner drinks and dinner, the drinks wee superb, well executed and great balance of flavours, to be honest I wasn't expecting anything great from the kitchen but it was sensational.. I struggled to eat dessert. Staff attentive and fun, knowledgable and friendly.. Was a pleasure meeting you both.. Looking forward to the future. :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

A group of friends met for lunch and enjoyed our meal here. The atmosphere was warm, particularly with two open fires lit (which was lovely and makes such a difference) despite our being the only people in the restaurant. I didn't have a starter but my friends did and seemed to enjoy them. My Pork Wellington was good and not dry, which it could have been, and the pastry was thin and not soggy. My pudding of a chocolate tart with Chase Marmalade Vodka and honeycomb ice cream was also enjoyable. I would return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A recent mid week evening meal was not great but not a disaster. The young girl acting as front of house was so very inexperienced it was embarrassing - we had to ask if she would like to take our coats and she tried to remove our champagne glasses when there was about a third left in the glass. My starter sounded interesting but the resulting quail on sweet corn was cold and congealed. My main course fish was overcooked and dry and my husbands lamb pudding although tasty was served with white mash and pale veg so all rather beige - has promise but really must try harder the competition at this excel is fierce and they cannot rely on friends and contacts to keep it going.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We had such a wonderful night away here: cosy bar, gorgeous resturaunt, great service, beautiful rooms! The staff were so friendly and helpful and obviously passionate about the fantastic produce. It was such a treat to stay here and we'll definitely be returning!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winks1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Following a stay at a nearby coaching inn with disastrous experiences, we were determined to find something that would restore our confidence in the hotel industry and the Verzon did not disappoint.
Despite new owners only taking over on Thursday we could not have been more pleasantly welcomed by the delightful Ben who excels in Hotel Management. His greeting was warm and friendly and took our bags up the three flights of stairs to the elegant 'Court Royal' room. Everything normally expected in a hotel room was available plus much more. A stocked minibar, fresh milk in the fridge, L'Ocattaine bath products etc. (If there is any room for constructive criticism then it would be a suggestion to get some new towels as the current ones whilst pristine look like they have seen better days).
In consideration that the actual building must be at least 100 years old, we could have expected to find the hotel cold but even without heating the décor and sun shining through lovely view windows was incredibly warm despite the forecast for rain that day.
Our bed was like sleeping on a feather cloud with crisp white linen and the little touches like a CD player and CD's all added to the ambience.
Unfortunately due to commitments elsewhere we didn't get to enjoy the bar and atmosphere due to getting back to the hotel past midnight but the breakfast again came up to standard. How Ben manages to run reception, play waiter to the dining room and run from one duty to the next is a feat but in usual Verzon style, done with aplomb.
I am sure there are many other faces who keep this lovely establishment ticking but maybe the chance to meet one or two would be rather nice.

Room Tip: Always ask which room they would recommend to you bearing in mind the flights of stairs and the prox...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
2.8 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ledbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.5 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
10.8 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
5.7 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verzon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verzon Hotel

Property: The Verzon Hotel
Address: Hereford Road | Trumpet, Ledbury HR8 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Verzon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Verzon Hotel Ledbury
The Verzon Hotel Ledbury, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing