We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chase the dream!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Verzon Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ledbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Verzon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chase the dream!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Verzon has now changed tack and is re-inventing itself as a younger more chic restaurant-hotel. The outside still retains that Georgian elegance but once through the door strong paint colours soon wake one up. The bar has some interesting furniture including some expensive sofas and chairs. Felt very male in atmosphere but spotlessly clean - the special gin glasses are very attractive.

The food in the restaurant was good- and very well priced. Good quality ingredients which ensured that you felt well afterwards. The meat was very tender and had been cooked to perfection. The Queens pudding was ambitious and it was difficult to taste the rhubarb- as the balance was wrong. However, i ate it all! The glass of wine from a Chase vineyard was excellent.

I personally didnt think the farmhouse tables worked in the beautiful Georgian restaurant. The bicycle lamp shade would have worked better in the bar. Sure no one wants a stuffy environment to eat in but one also wants to escape to beauty rather than farmhouse chic.

One could detect from the enthusiasm of the young staff that this is an establishment that will continue to improve. I for one am looking forward to seeing the Verzon set the mark for good food in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeFitz1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    27
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
68
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
hereford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

finally got round to booking a meal and so glad we did!!! Staff extremely polite and helpful. Lovely varied menu lots to choose from. Unusual dining room but a change from normal formal dining and fun ideas have been well executed!
i chose pea and mint soup absolutely the best i have ever eaten. delicious bread!!!! Chase burger to follow really tasty lovely chips had to leave a few to make room for pre planned queens pudding with rhubarb. all completely delicious. cant wait to return!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Have passed this place many times & often commented on how nice it looks, admitted it does look like a country hotel, which it is but the restaurant is open to non residents. So an impromptu call to them set us up a table for 2 on a Friday night as I wanted to treat my wife. We were both surprised when we walked in to the warm welcoming atmosphere. The eclectic decor was to our taste, the staff were very attentive & knowledgeable. The menu has enough choice to have torn between dishes....the food was amazing from start to finish we couldn't believe what we had stumbled upon. Having moved from the Cotswolds where we had been spoilt for choice this is a welcome find & could not recommend it enough. It's not overpriced we thought? If you fancy fancy something a little special head for this place & let's help them them build on a much welcomed restaurant! Thanks to all at Verzon good job. P.s just a thought but is the signage right to bring people in & stop the driving past? Goodluck

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Feel compelled to right this review on this Hotel, to spread the good word. living fairly local my wife and I had a night off from the kids, so as we had both been working very long hours lately we thought we would treat ourselves to a night at the Verzon. Food is magnificent, rooms are fabulous, and the service is excellent. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrD675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The bedroom was large & very comfortable. The evening meal was excellent with a great selection of local produce. In addition the the team were very helpful, friendly & accommodating and made you feel welcome. Will return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johncampbell12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent meal, very attentive staff, highly recommended. Pleasurable evening, very good food. Menu wonderfully thought out and of the highest standard. Dont don't don't don't don't don't don't don't don't don't go with Jamie Crawford.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyThomas157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Arrived for a business/social celebratory lunch with four friends at 1pm and left many, many hours later!! We loved the new décor and the food was fantastic. The service was excellent and very prompt. But by far the very best, were the staff. Imogen and James were very attentive and went out of their way to look after us.

One of my friends fancied a little bit of chocolate for dessert but as there wasn't anything chocolatey on the dessert menu Imogen disappeared off to the kitchen and melted some chocolate into which she dipped the most delicious, crumbly, 'melt in the mouth' shortbread biscuits. We felt very special and were very impressed with Imogens' customer service.

James was our very own personal bar man for the afternoon. Nothing was too much trouble and we tried everything he suggested!! James really knew his stuff when it came to the drinks available. He had done his homework!

We had the most amazing time at the Verzon and will definitely go back.........if only to see the awesome Imogen and very patient, and knowledgeable James!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
1.9 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ledbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
11.1 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Verzon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Verzon Hotel

Property: The Verzon Hotel
Address: Hereford Road | Trumpet, Ledbury HR8 2PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Verzon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Verzon Hotel Ledbury
The Verzon Hotel Ledbury, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing