We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think its lost its edge”

Salisbury Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 98 Restaurants in Hertford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Think its lost its edge”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Having been to this restaurant a few times we found our visit this time not the best. There is a lot of competition in Hertford now so to keep business you have to be on the ball. The food and value is good, but just found the service a bit off the boil having to ask a few times for things. I would say my main reason for only making average was i found the chairs to be uncomfortable. Not sure i will be back in a rush.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foxholes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    85
    25
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“could not be better”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Eaten here often, in the main restaurant and bar, very good food and service. Would recommend it, for celebrations family meals or just couple's. Listed building with a unique atmosphere, cannot wish for more.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eating out”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This restaurant is verygood value for a full meal or just a bar meal in the lounge bar the fod is good and service is quick and carried out with a smile

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dancingdad612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Afert having had several meals in the restaurant or pub of this centarl Hertford hotel, I recommend this palce where traditional English food is served at a very decent price.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philippe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This is a special place”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have a special affection for this restaurant, having visited it over many years. The building is an old coaching inn and has all the atmosphere that you would expect, - heavy beams, creaking floor boards and dark panelling. There are three rooms for eating informally - bar food - with the restaurant for formal dining. My husband and I have visited all four but we always go to the restaurant - and this restaurant in particular - for special occasions like important birthdays and family gatherings. Somehow the atmosphere makes them seem even more important. Recently we lunched there and had prawns followed by rib - eye steaks. Both were excellent. The steaks were cooked exactly as ordered and were tender and delicious. The service is always good, prompt and friendly. What more can I say? I look forward to many more highly enjoyable meals in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dervalsut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salisbury Arms Hotel also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Salisbury Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing