We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous weekend's stay”
Review of Appletree B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appletree B & B
Ranked #2 of 10 Hertford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed at the Appletree for the second time and once again had the most fantastic stay. The pool was heated to 31 degrees and we made best use of this and the sun loungers outside.

Breakfast was delicious and there were special summery options available such as yoghurts and fresh fruit from local farms. Really nice touch!

Amazing value once again, total paradise in a home away from home. Can't recommend enough!

Room Tip: Golden Delicious is amazing, all marble en suite bathroom and views of Hertford and garden/swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r_jones2991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

What a fantastic B&B - excellent clean room with a really comfy bed, huge TV and most generous 'extras' in the room. Breakfast was individually cooked and beautifully presented. Will certainly stay at the Apple Tree any time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Impeccable room, spotless, generous sundries, yummy breakfast with top quality ingredients, and the warmest, most welcoming hospitality from Marcus and Sarah. Would not think of staying anywhere else when we're next in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Areti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very glad we found the Appletree, only sorry it was in January so rather too cold for the pool!
The outside, from the quiet road, is deceptively small. Inside, it is spacious and most attractive, with lovely views beyond the big patio and garden. The welcome was brilliant, as was the cooked breakfast. Our double room was ensuite, with all you could wish for.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Booked at the last minute as needed somewhere to crash. This is a very nice place to stay, good decor, rooms and very friendly. A great hearty breakfast is included.

It's been a while since I've stayed at a b&b in the uk so was a little put off by the shared bathroom.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank RDStruthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We booked in the Appletree from a recommendation from some friends who have stayed here who couldn't praise them enough, I must say even after all the raving they did it still didn't do them justice, the room in the attic where we stayed was just amazing, the bed was hugh, it had all the mod cons with a beautiful roll top bath , sky TV complimentary drinks inc wine beer and soft drinks in the fridge, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast in the morning ...well that was just to die for.
Needless to say we will definitely be coming back very soon

Dave and Emily

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Painterdave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We booked into Appletree on the 16th November as we had a family party in Ware and live on the south coast so did not want a long drive home.
When we arrived we had such a warm welcome from Sara who greeted us as if she had known us for a long time. We also could not fault the accommodation which was very comfortable and all our needs were met and exceeded, this is a lovely property and has pretty gardens. The complimentary extras that were provided were most welcoming and unexpected. We stayed in the Hidden Rose room which was very pretty and had a superb bathroom and was very clean with lovely bed linen.
Our breakfast was superb and my partner is a vegetarian and this was the first time he was offered vegetarian bacon which he really enjoyed, the quality of the breakfast was excellent and Sara even gave us a doggy bag to take home.
We were very sad to leave as we it felt that we had been staying with very close friends which shows the hospitality of Sara & Marcus and we would not hesitate in both returning and recommending them in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hertford hotels
0.8 mi away
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hertford
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salisbury Arms Hotel
Salisbury Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hertford
301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hertford House
Hertford House
#3 of 4 in Hertford
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dog and Whistle Pub
Dog and Whistle Pub
#5 of 10 in Hertford
63 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Kings' House B & B
The Kings' House B & B
#4 of 10 in Hertford
7 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mulberry House
Mulberry House
#3 of 10 in Hertford
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appletree B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appletree B & B

Address: 27 Fordwich Rise, Hertford SG14 2BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hertford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hertford
Price Range: £58 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Appletree B&B.The Appletree Bed & Breakfast in Hertford is a charming and peaceful retreat offering a warm welcome and homely atmosphere to guests all year round. We can accommodate for any occasion, whether you are staying locally for business, coming to visit family or a romantic getaway with your partner, we make sure that no matter what your reason for staying, you will always want to come back.We offer comfortable and relaxed accommodation in a warm ample setting with quiet gardens(2/3 acre)and a private heated outdoor swimming pool (late April-Oct) for the use of guests. Each room is tastefully decorated to the highest standard with a minimum of Freeview in every room and free wifi and tea and coffee making facilities in each room. We have an off-street free car park for guests with an easy walk into Hertford Town centre or to Hertford North Train station for relaxed travel to London. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appletree B & B Hertford, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing