We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb - What a Welcome”
Review of Mulberry House

Mulberry House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mulberry House
Ranked #4 of 10 Hertford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise weekend break. As soon as Rachael opened the door, we couldn't want for anything. She brought coffee straight up to us and showed us our beautiful room. We enjoy several short breaks away each year, but I have never stayed in a better-equipped or comfortable room. As one previous reviewer put it, it was like staying with friends. Every thought was catered for - the little touches really went that extra mile. No little guest shampoos or rough towels in the bathroom for us, it was Moulton Brown and French-imported towels, plus a whole load of other luxury additions, like GHD hair straighteners and an array of perfumes and other toiletries. LCD HD TV and Bose stereo systems were also provided and the bed was really comfortable, with a memory foam mattress.

Rachael is so friendly and invited us to join her and her husband downstairs in their living area, which is beautiful and also of a really high spec. Unfortunately, we couldn't as we had plans, but we did spend time chatting with her.

Rachael has suffered one or two poor reviews due to the lack of breakfast at the moment, however, she more than made up for that with plenty of fruit, water and complimentary wine, and she couldn't have been more apologetic. You cannot hear the busy road at all and our room wasn't overlooked.

Mulberry House has all the touches of a 5-star guest house, but with a real, genuine warmth and welcome. I could struggle to find a negative, but I'm not going to invent something that isn't there. Superb. Thanks, Rachael.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Mulberry House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have stayed in various B & B accommodation over the years but this was exceptional. High quality fittings and furnishings, free WiFi too. Lots of extras in the room to include luxurious toiletries and after shave and books to read. Rachel was a splendid host. Whilst breakfast was unavailable to us due to ill health on this particular occasion she certainly made up for it with a bottle of wine and fruit on arrival. Would most certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Inspite of our room being on the front it was very quiet, no road noise at all. Fitness Centre not...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank monika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

From the tone of the emails checking when I would arrive, and whether I wanted a meal booking in a local restaurant, I was beginning to feel that this was going to be a good place to stay.

I was only a few minutes later arriving than I'd estimated, and Rachel was standing outside ready to show me where to park. She made me very welcome, pointed out the complementary wine and water, and showed me the difference between the wardrobe and bathrom doors, both concealed at the end of the room. The furnishings and fittings were of a very high standard, indeed I found only two minor niggles with the whole place - the door handle on the bathroom door was too near the edge, and I took the skin off my knuckles, and there was no indication on the tap which was hot water and which cold and, as it took some time for the hot water to come through, this took a little experimentation to establish.

The bed was comfortable, and the fortune cookie a thoughtful addition. The traffic noise was muted, and I only heard one emergency vehicle, and that in the morning after my alarm had gone off.

I was told when I was leaving to lock the door and put the key through the letterbox, and as I did so Rachel appeared and we embarked on pleasant conversation for a while. I couldn't have been made more welcome. "Friendly" just doesn't do it justice.

With off-street parking, and a short walk into the centre of Hertford, this really is a place worth remembering, and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Made very welcome, nothing too much trouble. Room well appointed and comfortable. Good quality fittings in en suite, luxury toiletries. Though it is just off a busy road the soundproofing is very effective. Short walk to Hertford. Highly recommended b&b.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank LARRY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Absolutely faultless from the initial booking to departure. We stopped here at the weekend and were blown away what a superb accommodation the Mulberry House is and location wise too. Rachel & Dominic work extremely hard and all the great reviews prove that hard work pays off. The rooms themselves are fantastically furnished and layout, the beds very comfortable, and the overall atmosphere great. We didn't have breakfast as decided to have a lie in, but was asked to pre order before our stay which was a lovely touch along with the complementary bottle of Red and Water upon arrival. We would definitely recommend the Mulberry if working locally away on business or if visiting Hertford for the weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnyonefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Location wise, 5 minute walk into the heart of Hertford. Private parking, off street.

Accommodation- done to an extremely high standard, from the hall entrance, room and dining area. The bedroom itself was better than a five star hotel. The owners had through of literally everything from chilled drinks on arrival, fresh fruit, books to suit both male and female guests to perfume, aftershave and a huge selection of bathrooms toiletries . The linen was of high quality, mattress luxurious, bathrobes, slippers, mood lighting, wifi, television and a superior sound system.

Rachel and Don were extremely friendly ensuring that we had everything and nothing was too much trouble. They made you feel very welcomed and were genuinely interested in engaging in conversation interacting.

Breakfast- a wide selection of fresh fruit, mango, strawberries, pineapple, kiwi. Selection of cereals plus yogurts then a choice sod different breakfasts. We had a full English, cooked by Don which was served perfectly, piping hot and was without fault . The table over looked their beautiful garden with a stunning water feature.

This guest house is worth every penny you pay and so so much more. It is a little gem hidden away in Hertford run by a super couple who truly understand what their guests need and want.

To say they have gone the extra mile is an understatement.

To summarise, high quality furniture and fittings, beautifully designed and thought out. Spotlessly clean run by a super couple who cannot do enough for you.

Throughly recommend , thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelliefazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

How lovely. Fabulous accommodation, spotlessly clean with a really lovely bathroom. The room had lots of special touches such as remote lighting, flat screen TV, very fast Internet and lots of products in the bathroom. Rachel and Dominic were very welcoming and we were only 10 mins walk into the centre of Hertford. More like a boutique hotel than a B & B and we shall be returning. Jon and Jane

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 963Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hertford
0.4 mi away
Salisbury Arms Hotel
Salisbury Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hertford
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hertford House
Hertford House
#3 of 4 in Hertford
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hertford
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.1 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dog and Whistle Pub
Dog and Whistle Pub
#5 of 10 in Hertford
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulberry House

Address: 2 Stanley Road, Hertford SG13 7LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hertford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hertford
Price Range: £80 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury B&B in Hertford. We are located right in the very centre of Hertford, which has 2 train stations into central London.We offer: free parking on private road, free fast broadbandbeautiful decorated rooms with latest Bose sound system and smart TV, Bathroom featuring Laufen pottery , Bisazza mosaics Elegant sitting area.waterfall GardenIndividually cooked breakfast at flexible time. (We aim to use local farm supplies as much as possible, and deliver the quality we would like to receive ourselves)It's suitable for business travelers who need to relax in a homely environment, yet convenient to all Hertford Town centre has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mulberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulberry House Hertford, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing