We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family lunch!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salisbury Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salisbury Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good family lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We always eat here for family birthdays as it's wheelchair accessible.. Another great family lunch with great hearty food & generous helpings... Imagine we'll be back soon! Ice ever stayed at the hotel but hear that the rooms are good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    112
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
64
76
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed at the Salisbury o.n 22nd February 2014 for a birthday night out with 2 friends (had family room no 26). The room was clean and surprisingly larger than expected. Service was good, delicious breakfast - represented really good value for money and was about as central as you could get.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
542 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed on a special 'romantic break' the day after the Valentines love fest. Hotel was busy although quiet which was pleasing to the sleep pattern. Room clean, a tad cramped but otherwise comfortable and relaxing. It looks like they are trying for a suite but there is not enough room for all the furniture. Small niggle but it made navigating the bedroom in the dark rather fraught on the toes.
Restaurant is of traditional English bend with a slant towards fish. My bacon and scallops starter came at a premium to our deal but worth every penny as it was a culinary wonder, full of flavours and textures. Proof yet again that simplicity bears reward. My main hake was alittle dry but came with a sumptuous sauce and in man sized portion.
Service both evening and morning was very good indeed, efficient and happy.
Given the price and the overall quality staying again is not an option but essential!

Room Tip: We had 28, it's at the back but nice and quiet with no one walking past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marksw3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We all had a great time here and overall the experience was lovely and the stay was good value for a Hertford town centre hotel with a car park but there are some issues and these are explained below......I was part of a number of room bookings in this Hertord hotel as were a reunion party of students from 30 years ago and we lived in the town back then. We also booked to eat there and I remember having my 21st special meal there in the early 80;s so it was a real trip down memory lane. The telephone booking experience was great, a very friendly person who was genuinely interested in what we were all planning. I was given a reduced rate for the executive room. Booking a table a month or so early for a group whilst being unsure of final numbers was no problem and I was asked to let them know before the day what the final numbers were. On arrival we were still unsure about some people and whether they would get there or were staying to eat and I had to make two changes to the table number. The older woman at reception was visibly unimpressed that I could not be accurate but it was only one chair that would need to be removed! The young girl who checked me in was a little bit 'flat' and perfunctory with her welcome and I had to ask how to get to the room. the room (no 28) was roomy enough. It was clean, as was the bathroom but the one sheet and blanket on a very windy cold night was not enough. There was a spare blanket in the wardrobe but duvets would be so much nicer as the blankets were old and meagre and not cosy. There is a lot of noise from nightclubs from 12 to 2ish or even later. That was bad. Take ear plugs! It kept me awake and my room was facing out to the car park lane at the side of the hotel so the front must be far worse. Complementary paper on sunday was nice. Food in the evening was good, but the stars are the really lovely young serving staff who are well trained..three cheers for them!! Cooked Breakfast was tasty but cold selection very poor, a few croissant and a bowl of tinned grapefruit and juices and a few yoghurts that was it, no cheeses or hams. Check out was done by the person who I recognised booked me in and she was lovely, much better than the sour lady the day before. Lively bar. Please don't change the décor as the old place oozes character. Thank you for looking after us all we had a good time.

Room Tip: No 28 is larger than most with a corner bath ensuite and a good 'rain' shower. a bit cramped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeanandBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I had heard good things about the restaurant in this hotel so booked it for a business lunch. The menu promised much but the food when it arrived was disappointing. The poached duck egg with grilled asparagus was overcooked and the pretty tasteless. The rib-eye steak was dry and the sauce not particularly well flavoured. The chips on the other hand were crisp and well seasoned, delicious! The service was attentive and professional without being obtrusive. It is not a place that will impress clients so I will not be using it again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rohanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

These days, it isn't easy to find traditional restaurants with good service, but the Salisbury Arms is the exception. We ate in the Bar last evening, as we were too early for our usual meal in the restaurant. Missed the sparkling white tablecloths, but the freshly-prepared, piping hot food and service from our smartly-dressed Waiter was 100%.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Visited for my father's 70th birthday on Boxing Day. Not sure if it was because it was Boxing Day, but the staff were awful. I don't think I saw any of the waitresses smile the whole time we were there. It was an effort to get a menu and wine list (we had wanted a list of soft drinks, but had to give up on that). Food was really lovely though.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank novavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hertford
0.0 mi away
Hertford House
Hertford House
#3 of 4 in Hertford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hertford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ware Hotel
5.6 mi away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Arms Hotel

Property: Salisbury Arms Hotel
Address: Fore Street, Hertford SG14 1BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hertford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Salisbury Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Arms Hotel Hertford, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing