We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salisbury Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“great service”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights for a friends wedding. All the staff at the Salisbury were really friendly and helpful. Room was clean with all the usual freebies. Great shower. I lost my room key in the middle of the night and they let me in my room, and didn't charge me for the lost key. They also have exclusive parking which is very handy in Hertford.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjg117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    114
    35
    8
    6
See reviews for
68
79
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Welling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel was recommended to me by my brother and yes it was so worth the stay. Room was lovely and clean, loved the massive bed and the shower, sometimes showers can be very weak but this one blasted out. My only gripe with the room was the hairdryer, for the price of the room I would have expected a proper hair dryer and not a wall mounted one that swimming baths have, other than that the room was perfect. We didn't have an evening meal in the restaurant but had breakfast and it was delicious. Overall we will definitely be returning. The only other thing is the noise, it was quite noisy on the Saturday night but it didn't keep me awake.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

the salisbury arms in hertford is a beautiful reminder of things past. For all the years i have had the odd pint here i always knew there was a top notch restaurant but not a Sunday Lunch venue. If you read my reviews you will have noted that my family and I love a good sunday lunch and this places makes the list for all the right reasons. Firstly the service, simply impeccable. Excellent meet and greet, seated right away and staff to hand straight away with a drinks order. for a sunday lunch the menu is varied, lots of choice. inviting starters, and an excellent variety of mains. Once the food arrives you will not be disappointed. The quality of the food is very good, only negative would be portion control, a few more roast spuds wouldn't have hurt !. If you have the room do try the desert menu. it has all those sunday comfort puddings, very filling and a perfect completion to the meal. When the bill arrives you will be satisfied, good food , fab service , well priced for any budget. if you are passing through Hertford on a sunday and your seeking a good roast that will take you back in time, try this place you will not be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for four nights.The restaurant was excellent and the food was amazing.All the staff were very helpful and friendly.It was good to have a car park in the town centre.Room was very clean allthough it was very warm.We would come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a town centre inn full of age and charm. The room (single) was of a reasonable size, well decorated and equipped. All the staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel has it's own car park which is a bonus in a town centre. Breakfast was included and was plentiful, well-presented and prepared.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfpcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here a few times for Business meetings in Welwyn was recommended by work colleague who lives in Hertford also stayed for weekend nights out in Hertford too if only for the filling sobering breakfast the next morning.
Rooms are modern looking and clean despite the age of the building showers powerful my preferred place to stay if having to work in the area.

Room Tip: If you stay in one of the two premium rooms go for the one at the rear as one at front is over what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We always eat here for family birthdays as it's wheelchair accessible.. Another great family lunch with great hearty food & generous helpings... Imagine we'll be back soon! Ice ever stayed at the hotel but hear that the rooms are good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hertford
0.0 mi away
Hertford House
Hertford House
#3 of 4 in Hertford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hertford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ware Hotel
5.1 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Arms Hotel

Property: Salisbury Arms Hotel
Address: Fore Street, Hertford SG14 1BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hertford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Salisbury Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Arms Hotel Hertford, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing