We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and helpful staff”

Lussmanns - Hertford
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Hertford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$48
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Lussmanns is Hertford's busiest independent restaurant. Since opening in 2004, they have really come to understand our locals and what they want from their restaurant. Centrally located in the historic 'Egyptian House' (for Da Vinci Code fans, this was rumoured to have been a meeting place of the Knights Templar), this Hertford restaurant is bijou and full of atmosphere at any time of day.
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Having had previous pleasant experiences at Lussmans in St Albans we decided to try the one in Hertford when we found ourselves out that way recently. It was new years day and the staff had clearly had a very busy lunch but they could not have been more friendly or helpful. I found this very refreshing as it is quite rare these days. We ate early evening and had the set menu which was excellent value and very enjoyable. Mr Lussman please compliment your staff as their attitude was a credit to them and to you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pollyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Lovely to know that your visit to Lussmanns in Hertford matched your previous experiences of our restaurant in St Albans. We will indeed pass on your compliments about the high quality of the food and service you received to manager Hollie and her staff team. Thanks again and best wishes, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 14 Jan 13.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 572 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

The set menu is excellent value for the whole family and fish and chips only on a Friday is fantastic, after 4 visits never been let down yet. Thank you a big fan

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jadehana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Many thanks for your complimentary feedback on the value of our daily set menu (available year-round) and the consistent experience you have had with us. As an independent restaurant, we are very fortunate to enjoy the patronage of so many local diners in Hertford. Thanks and regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmann.com) 8 Jan 13.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Excellent menu choices from a la carte to a set Christmas menu we started with a chicory, Stilton and pear salad followed by Osso bucco venison casserole which melted off the bone and squeezed in a apple and cinnamon crumble - I would highly recommend this restaurant as the food is some of the best in Hertford

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guideposts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for your very positive comments. Great to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us and would recommend Lussmanns to other diners. We appreciate your support and hope that we can look after you again soon. Best wishes, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmann.com) 8 Jan 13.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

For three people, two of whom ate the set lunch (2 courses for £10.95) and one of whom ate two courses a la carte, no drinks apart from tap water, our bill was nearly £45. The vegetarian main courses were flavourful and were good value on the special menu, but would have been exorbitant at the full price of £12.20. Steak and chips at £16.50 was mediocre and poor value. Desserts were pleasant but not exceptional. Service was friendly. On a busy Saturday, the restaurant was nearly empty. Would not go back unless the prices come down to a reasonable level.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Sooobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you for your valued comments. I am happy to hear that the set lunch deal appealed.
Steak frites (from the lunch menu) is a value-driven option that sells very well throughout the year.
Donald Russell provides us with our British grass-fed, outdoor-reared 9oz rump but, as can sometimes be be the case, the odd one might not be perfect. Please do let us know in future on the day and we will happily change the dish without fuss. Our top three positioning in Trip Advisor for several years suggests that our value is good and our service is consistent Please accept my apologies for an off-day. Kind regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 11 Jan 13.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Lussmanns never fails to impress. Quality food and excellent service each time we visit. Keep it up.

Thank Foodlover22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Lovely to know that you enjoy eating with us. Providing our diners with consistently high quality food and service is what we strive for, so it’s very encouraging to hear that we’re getting it right. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks and regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 8 Jan 13.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lussmanns - Hertford also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Lussmanns - Hertford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing