We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanger steak”

Lussmanns - Hertford
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Hertford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$47
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lussmanns is Hertford's busiest independent restaurant. Since opening in 2004, they have really come to understand our locals and what they want from their restaurant. Centrally located in the historic 'Egyptian House' (for Da Vinci Code fans, this was rumoured to have been a meeting place of the Knights Templar), this Hertford restaurant is bijou and full of atmosphere at any time of day.
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Early evening menu is 2 course for £12 inc the steak or maybe a £2 supplement, etiher way a family of 4 can eat for under £75 with a bottle of wine. Its a no brainer!!

Thank Lawrencebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Our 12-7pm daily set menu (2 courses for £11.95, 3 for £14.50) has been a staple of Lussmanns for many years so it’s satisfying to know that its quality and value are continuing to impress. Many thanks and best wishes, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 15 Aug 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 429 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Read reviews on here so decided to book for a Saturday evening during a stay in Hertford. After a blisteringly hot day it was lovely to be seated downstairs where it was lovely and cool.
We shared a starter because we didn't think we were that hungry, but the cod cheeks in lemon, garlic and chilli were so delicious we wish we'd had one each!
I had bouillabaisse for my main course and the rouille was AMAZING, as was the rest of the dish. My partner had sea bream and was very impressed. It was beautifully cooked and delicately flavoured and the samphire side we ordered complimented it very well. The bread we requested to mop up the juices was wonderful, fresh and crusty.
After the main course I decided that I needed to try a dessert as the rest of the meal was so delicious. The thyme and honey pudding didn't disappoint, and was light and sweet and heavenly. Partner had the wobbly bottom goats cheese and a Brie-like cheese and scoffed them down with relish.
The fabulous food was enhanced by very professional, attentive and helpful staff. Quality establishment all round.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mummysistersandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your very complimentary review of your first visit to Lussmanns. Lovely to hear that food and service met expectation, and I hope that we helped to make your stay in Hertford an enjoyable one. Kind regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 15 Aug 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We wanted somewhere for a special meal for our daughter's graduation and aftet asking around found this one ourself as we were coming from Nottingham. We were not disappointed. We were running late so rang the restaurant to let them know they said no worries. We were frightened we would loose our table but all was ok.The service was fantastic and the food delicious. We bought a gradution cake with us which they gave out to us after our mains.i must also say the coffee was really good ( I say this as I run my own coffee shop). Our waiter was very courteous attentive and friendly vsnd though we were late arriving we did not feel uncomfortable at all
Thank you for making a special day in our family s life even a bit more special. We will be back !!

Thank Kaz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Many thanks for choosing Lussmanns and for taking the time to review us so positively. Happy to hear that your daughter’s graduation celebration meal was enjoyed by all and that our service, food and coffee impressed. It was our pleasure to look after you and, on behalf of manager Manuela and all the team here, we look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 25 Jul 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have had meals at Lussmanns about 6 times in the last 18 months and it is a favourite restaurant of ours. Normally the food is lovely and the service good. However, we visited on the 9th July at lunchtime and our expectations were well and truly dashed. We arrived at 1.10pm. There were 2 other tables who all had their food or coffee and we were seated straight away and given menus. A few minutes later the waitress brought us some water and asked us for any drinks. We ordered our food and drinks and she brought our drinks a few minutes later. At 1.40pm I asked the waitress if there was any sign of our food coming. She told us that as my husband had ordered the cheeseburger, health and safety demanded that it be cooked for 20 minutes to ensure it was medium to well done. I have to say that this was news to us and surely it should be mentioned on the menu if this is the case. Anyway, she went away and then came back and offered us another drink each on the house which she brought a few minutes later. Around this time we saw a guy in a chefs outfit coming from downstairs and I can only describe his appearance as dirty and we were hopeful that another chef was dealing with our order. My husband looked back towards the kitchen but could only see the staff leaning on the bar and chatting. At 2.00pm we were still without any food and we were understandingly getting rather miffed. At this point the only other occupied table had come in a few minutes before and their server was explaining the menu.We think she was a supervisor. When she had finished we asked her about our food and she said, oh yes there was a system error but your food is just coming. We expressed our surprise and told her about 'health & safety guidelines' as we had been earlier informed and then she said oh well yes that is true but there was a system error as well. We also mentioned the chef coming up only 20 minutes ago and we were told that he is not the only chef. Well thank goodness for that! We decided that enough was enough and said we would be leaving and stood up to go. She asked us not to leave and said that the food was really on its way and that we didn't have to pay but please eat the food. What was not appreciated was that when you sit and wait and wait for 50 minutes you get upset, especially when you think you are being lied to or misled and that you cant eat when you feel so churned up.
To my mind all this translated as a lack of management. The staff though very pleasant were more interested in chatting and eating themselves and the focus was not on the customers. If it had of been they would have picked up on the fact that the chef was not cooking any main courses and that as per the customers sat at the table, they should have been. Hopefully a manager would also have insisted that his chefs looked clean.
We are extremely disappointed that somewhere we considered a cut above for quality and service has fallen so far.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. While we welcome all constructive feedback, it’s a pity that you haven’t previously given us credit, through a positive review, for all the times in the past 18 months when our food and service have met expectation. Like all restaurants, we make mistakes and I’m sorry that you left feeling disappointed as this is not the experience that we want our patrons to have. Thanks to the information you have provided, we will now investigate what happened so that we can learn from this and take the appropriate corrective action. Kind regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 18 July 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

2 courses for £11.95 on a Saturday in a restaurant of this quality is phenomenal value! Between our party we had great cod cheeks and liver pate starters, followed by steak frites, fishcakes and north african spiced lamb salad, all of which were delicious! Will definitely return in the evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tdizzlelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Lovely to hear that you appreciated our popular 12-7pm daily set menu, a key part of our quest to bring affordable, sustainable dining to the high street. As an independent local restaurant nearing our 10 year anniversary in Hertford, we appreciate your support and look forward to your next visit. Many thanks and best wishes, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 14 July 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lussmanns - Hertford also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Lussmanns - Hertford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing