We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Experience!”

Lussmanns - Hertford
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Hertford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$46
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lussmanns is Hertford's busiest independent restaurant. Since opening in 2004, they have really come to understand our locals and what they want from their restaurant. Centrally located in the historic 'Egyptian House' (for Da Vinci Code fans, this was rumoured to have been a meeting place of the Knights Templar), this Hertford restaurant is bijou and full of atmosphere at any time of day.
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was our first time at this restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The four of us had the duck as our main course which did not disappoint. Although the ambience upstairs looked great, we were very happy to sit downstairs as were able to converse better, which also had a lovely atmosphere. We were not rushed to leave our table, and were made very welcome by the staff at all times unlike other Hertford restaurants, and will definitely return.




Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Lovely to hear that your first visit was such an enjoyable one, and that the atmosphere, food and service all impressed. Thanks to the support of our loyal patrons, we are delighted to be celebrating 10 years in Hertford and, on behalf of manager Manuela and all the team here, we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks and best wishes, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 29 Aug 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 418 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

I had an awful meal, went with friends and we were charged £50.00 each - we did not have very much either.

Thank lister_natalie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

We welcome constructive comments; preferably at the time of your visit, so we can take immediate action, or soon afterwards so that we can properly investigate and make amends. As you have waited six months to review your meal, and given no details of your visit, we cannot verify that your review is genuine or provide any kind of meaningful response. Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 29 Aug 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Finally got a table on a Saturday evening

3 courses for less than 15 quid

Wine and service very good

Make sure you book ...just don't turn up

Thank Gerard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Many thanks for your positive feedback. Good to know that our value-driven daily 12-7pm set menu, wine and service were all on the mark. Hope that we can look after you again. Kind regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 29 Aug 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

It was our 1st visit to lussmanns and was not disappointed. My misses only eats fish so chose here . The service was excellent both the waitress and waiter couldn't do enuff for us realy friendly but not in your face. They explained the best choices on the menu that they favoured and we went with them the haloume starter is great and my gorgeous misses had fish cake for main wich even she said was fantastic I had the pollock and being a meat eater I was surprised how great it was . I realy do recommend this place a great nite and great staff will definitely be returning again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johnywind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thanks for trying us and for your complimentary review. Lovely to hear that our food and service impressed, and that you both had such an enjoyable evening. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 29 Aug 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to Lussmanns and I was very impressed. We tried the halloumi starter which was grilled to perfection and the waldorf salad which was also very nice. For mains we had the chicken alfredo linguine which was full of flavour and very well presented. The desserts were also very pleasant. Water was provided on the house which is always nice. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars was due to a couple of our glasses being dirty, however they were rapidly replaced and the staff were very polite and apologetic. Will definitely be visiting again.

Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrei L, Owner at Lussmanns - Hertford, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

It’s always interesting to read reviews from first time diners and great to hear that you enjoyed one of our 10 year anniversary specials; the chicken alfredo from our 2004 menu. We are fortunate to have fantastic support from patrons who understand what we’re about and appreciate our passion for what we do, and I hope that we pass the second visit test. With thanks and regards, Andrei Lussmann (andrei@lussmanns.com) 15 Aug 14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lussmanns - Hertford also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Lussmanns - Hertford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing