We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place for lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baroosh - Hertford

Baroosh - Hertford
Ranked #30 of 97 Restaurants in Hertford
Cuisines: Bar, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Baroosh bar & kitchen is about you. We have five beautiful venues that are located in prime, high street locations in affluent towns and cities around the Home Counties. We focus on fresh food, wine, craft beers and classic cocktails from around the world. We try to do the simple things exceptionally well, striving to exceed expectations, whenever possible. The Baroosh vision is to provide an environment that will make you feel great and stay for longer! Our teams are rated by guests as friendly, attentive, interested & knowledgeable. We use renowned bar designer, Philip Harrison to ensure every bar welcomes you into a warm, relaxed and contemporary space. Ryan, Manager
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We went here on a sunny afternoon for lunch. We sat in the courtyard at the back which was a nice surprise. The menu is fab. We had the bread to start which was delicious - freshly baked and warm with lovely tomato pesto and balsamic dips. I followed it with the lamb koftas with bulgar wheat salad - just delicious. It was all freshly made and the service was fast.

Overall I would definitely recommend this place for lunch and dinner. The food was fab, service was excellent and friendly and it was good value too.

We've just moved to the area and I think we'll be regulars here from now on.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    67
    27
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Catch of the day out of a box”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We found a table and sat and waited and eventually a waiter came to take our order. We asked if the “Catch of the Day” Salmon was red or pink as my is is intolerant to pink salmon.

The waiter went to ask the chef and returned to say it was red so we ordered three main courses (two “Catch of the Day” and one Beetroot salad. After a while, the manager came to our table and said that the Beetroot had run out and that the chef had found the box from the Salmon and it was pink.

I explained that Mother was intolerant to pink salmon so the manager cancelled the whole order and we left.

The bar was becoming VERY noisy with loud piped pop music so it would probably NOT have suited us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colonel_JB_Ormsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place to start a night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Love the atmosphere, beers are pricey, Centrally based to Hertford and parking nearby makes this place an ideal place to start the weekend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dogman1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Afternoon visit.....becomes great night out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Having got bored of regular visits to pubs/bars in St Albans and Watford, my friends and I decided to try some new ground. Hertford seemed a good choice, as it is within a relatively short drive, and I had been told good things about a couple of the bars....The Snug and Baroosh.

We plumped for Baroosh to start, with view to moving on later in the evening. Can't fault the place for ambience and welcome. Courteous staff were more than happy to accommodate our large group (14), and found us a corner, with table space for all.

Those of us that opted for food, were pleased to be presented with excellent, hot meals within a very reasonable time frame. Others went straight for the drink, and seemed equally happy with their liquid meal!

After the food, the rest of us had a couple of drinks too. We had only been there for about an hour and a half in total, when we decided we would be staying for the duration. Seemed little point in moving from our lovely spot to risk going somewhere else that may not live up to the standards of Baroosh.

Other bars on the agenda for next month, but we will definitely be returning to see Olie and the team again for another top lunch and drinks!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StAlbansChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Came here for lunch while visiting family... what a treat! Great food and the staff were extremely attentive, we had an elderly relative and the staff were so patient and helpful - clearly well trained by management. Not being local I assumed the food would be average as the place looks like a youngish, trendy venue but it totally exceeded our expectations. All in would grade this place as excellent

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baroosh - Hertford also viewed

Watton at Stone, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Baroosh - Hertford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing