We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best food i've ever have ..”
Review of St.Villa

St.Villa
Ranked #35 of 382 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Description: St. Villa offers a unique, cool, contemporary dining experience. Opening its doors in October 2016 we aim to bring the best that Mediterranean cuisine has to offer to our diners. Whether you have more time or just want a quick bite, we have something for everyone. Pop in for our two course set menu or explore the dishes on our a la carte if you don't have to rush off. We strive to keep our menu as seasonal, sustainable and locally sourced as possible. You can also enjoy some downtime in between work and home and join us at the bar for fresh cocktails and a light snack. From classic cocktails to seasonal specials alcoholic or non, craft beers or fine wines, we have something to suit any mood. Celebrate in style with a private party, whether you're celebrating a special birthday, wedding reception or business meeting we can take care of your event for you.
Restaurant details
Description: St. Villa offers a unique, cool, contemporary dining experience. Opening its doors in October 2016 we aim to bring the best that Mediterranean cuisine has to offer to our diners. Whether you have more time or just want a quick bite, we have something for everyone. Pop in for our two course set menu or explore the dishes on our a la carte if you don't have to rush off. We strive to keep our menu as seasonal, sustainable and locally sourced as possible. You can also enjoy some downtime in between work and home and join us at the bar for fresh cocktails and a light snack. From classic cocktails to seasonal specials alcoholic or non, craft beers or fine wines, we have something to suit any mood. Celebrate in style with a private party, whether you're celebrating a special birthday, wedding reception or business meeting we can take care of your event for you.
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

The interior part of it is really beautiful, I think is a lovely-looking restaurant with a mouth-watering food.
That's just a part of it,garden is completely and utterly spot on for this summer.
Service 5-star
Would definitely go back and would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank gentianc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
872gm, General Manager at St.Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to write this. We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us here at St Villa and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017

We ate here for lunch. A lovely bright restaurant with excellent attentive staff. The food was delicious. Had a lovely soft tasty mozzarella as a starter followed by Lamb Skewers. We will definitely be returning for another meal as we thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the excellent service we received in a lovely setting.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DianeM032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
872gm, General Manager at St.Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us. We would be delighted to welcome you back hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We went as a small group on a lovely evening and started off having drinks outside. Good selection of gin and beers.
The service was attentive and the waitress brought a bottle of water and glasses with ice without us having to ask.
Good choice of dishes( quite a few fish dishes) but portion size varies with what you choose.
I had the smoked duck starter which worked really well with the orange segments but I did not expect three thin slivers of duck.
I had the monkfish which I thought was at good price but when it appeared I realized why because it was only four mouthfuls. And I expected it to be properly wrapped in pancetta but the pancetta strip was half a centimetre thick (or thin should I say). The presentation was nice however.
Another in our group had the pork belly which was very tasty. Crackling could be better.
Most dishes need to have sides added unless you are a small eater. Surely the restaurant can throw in a few vegetables or potatoes as part of the main course.
Also the service charge is added automatically to the bill which is annoying.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank SGC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
872gm, General Manager at St.Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm so sorry that you felt the portion size wasn't adequate enough, as a new restaurant we strive hard to get everything perfect and ensure our guests are happy with the food and service here at St Villa therefore guest feedback is so important to us. As for the service charge it's always discretionary so if you wish in the future, you can ask for this to be removed. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We found this on TA before visiting St Albans - so glad we did. Great lunch, well served, nice atmosphere. Gluten free also marked on the menu, which was very good.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank W2226QWchrisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
872gm, General Manager at St.Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review our restaurant.
We are proud that nearly 50% of our menu is Gluten free giving all our diners plenty of choice. We hope to welcome you back soon, when you next visit St Albans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Dinner for 6 mid week including a couple of teenage daughters who can be picky when it comes to food choices ! Drinks outside first - loved the setting, albeit it seemed a little incongruous sitting on the edge of the London Road; it would have not been out of place in the Algarve. A good mixture of all three courses between the 6 of us and not a single complaint around the table, even the teenagers ! Not an extensive menu which I like - a good range of choices, all done well. Well worth trying - we will be back for sure !

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
872gm, General Manager at St.Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! Nothing makes us happier than knowing our customers are happy and have had a wonderful experience with us.
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St.Villa also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to St.Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing