We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional restaurant”

St. Villa Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
St. Villa Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 356 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Description: St. Villa offers a unique dining experience. Opened in October 2016 we aim to bring the best that British and European cuisine has to offer, all under one roof. We hope you like it as much as we do. Whether you have more time or just want a quick bite, we have something for everyone. Pop in for our two course set menu and selection of wines by the glass or explore the options of our a la carte if you don't have to rush off. Enjoy some downtime in between work and home and join us at the bar for fresh cocktails and a light snack. If the weather's nice take advantage and dine al fresco on our fabulous terrace. Finish off you work day or toast your weekend with our changing a la carte menu. We strive to keep our menu as seasonal, sustainable and locally sourced as possible. Supporting local farmers and suppliers is vital to what we do. Good food deserves great wine We work with vineyards and winemakers from all over the world, large or small, to bring you a fantastic choice of wines, that hit all the right notes without breaking the bank. From classic cocktails to seasonal specials alcoholic or non, craft beers or fine wines, we have something to suit any mood. And if you can't decide, why not ask one of our team for a recommendation. Celebrate in style with a private party Whether you're celebrating a special birthday, wedding reception or business meeting we can take care of your event for you. We can accommodate both large and small groups from canapes to full menu.
Restaurant details
Description: St. Villa offers a unique dining experience. Opened in October 2016 we aim to bring the best that British and European cuisine has to offer, all under one roof. We hope you like it as much as we do. Whether you have more time or just want a quick bite, we have something for everyone. Pop in for our two course set menu and selection of wines by the glass or explore the options of our a la carte if you don't have to rush off. Enjoy some downtime in between work and home and join us at the bar for fresh cocktails and a light snack. If the weather's nice take advantage and dine al fresco on our fabulous terrace. Finish off you work day or toast your weekend with our changing a la carte menu. We strive to keep our menu as seasonal, sustainable and locally sourced as possible. Supporting local farmers and suppliers is vital to what we do. Good food deserves great wine We work with vineyards and winemakers from all over the world, large or small, to bring you a fantastic choice of wines, that hit all the right notes without breaking the bank. From classic cocktails to seasonal specials alcoholic or non, craft beers or fine wines, we have something to suit any mood. And if you can't decide, why not ask one of our team for a recommendation. Celebrate in style with a private party Whether you're celebrating a special birthday, wedding reception or business meeting we can take care of your event for you. We can accommodate both large and small groups from canapes to full menu.
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Second time at this place. Staff are top class, service is brilliant. Food is great. Very reasonably priced. Lovely ambience. Highly recommend.

Thank Luc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
872gm, General Manager at St. Villa Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Welcome back! We're so glad you chose to return to St Villa and dine with us again, it means the world to us. Thank you for taking the time to review St Villa, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

The interior part of it is really beautiful, I think is a lovely-looking restaurant with a mouth-watering food.
That's just a part of it,garden is completely and utterly spot on for this summer.
Service 5-star
Would definitely go back and would definitely recommend.

Thank Gentian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
872gm, General Manager at St. Villa Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to write this. We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us here at St Villa and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We ate here for lunch. A lovely bright restaurant with excellent attentive staff. The food was delicious. Had a lovely soft tasty mozzarella as a starter followed by Lamb Skewers. We will definitely be returning for another meal as we thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the excellent service we received in a lovely setting.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
872gm, General Manager at St. Villa Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us. We would be delighted to welcome you back hopefully in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We went as a small group on a lovely evening and started off having drinks outside. Good selection of gin and beers.
The service was attentive and the waitress brought a bottle of water and glasses with ice without us having to ask.
Good choice of dishes( quite a few fish dishes) but portion size varies with what you choose.
I had the smoked duck starter which worked really well with the orange segments but I did not expect three thin slivers of duck.
I had the monkfish which I thought was at good price but when it appeared I realized why because it was only four mouthfuls. And I expected it to be properly wrapped in pancetta but the pancetta strip was half a centimetre thick (or thin should I say). The presentation was nice however.
Another in our group had the pork belly which was very tasty. Crackling could be better.
Most dishes need to have sides added unless you are a small eater. Surely the restaurant can throw in a few vegetables or potatoes as part of the main course.
Also the service charge is added automatically to the bill which is annoying.

1  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
872gm, General Manager at St. Villa Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm so sorry that you felt the portion size wasn't adequate enough, as a new restaurant we strive hard to get everything perfect and ensure our guests are happy with the food and service here at St Villa therefore guest feedback is so important to us. As for the service charge it's always discretionary so if you wish in the future, you can ask for this to be removed. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We found this on TA before visiting St Albans - so glad we did. Great lunch, well served, nice atmosphere. Gluten free also marked on the menu, which was very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
872gm, General Manager at St. Villa Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review our restaurant.
We are proud that nearly 50% of our menu is Gluten free giving all our diners plenty of choice. We hope to welcome you back soon, when you next visit St Albans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Villa Bar & Restaurant also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to St. Villa Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing