We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing there”
Review of Butterfly World Project - CLOSED

Butterfly World Project
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tropical Butterfly House: Come and see our butterflies in their tropical habitat. At any one time you will be able to see between 500-800 butterflies, from 15-20 species. Look carefully and you will see eggs and caterpillars on the plants, and even some pupae.Ant World- The life of leaf Cutter AntsVisit our colonies of leaf cutter ants. This species invented farming and living in a 'city'. They each have their own jobs and work together to support their Queen. Don't miss this fascinating attraction.Insect Study Center:The place to view our collection of Creepy Crawly Insects. Study our Stick insects, Cockroaches, Snails, locust, Mantis and lots more and you even get a chance to hold some of these insects during our regular Insect Handling Session.Nectar House Cafe: Enjoy a selection of hot and cold food, drinks and cakes, ice creams, etc., in a comfortable and relaxed setting.Designer Gardens: Our nineteen Designer gardens are a pleasure to take a relaxed walk through. Including three newly planted gardens this season they have been planted to attract native butterflies back into the Hertfordshire countryside.Play Area:Let the children run wild in our fantastic Natural Play area. They can run through willow tunnels, climb on the huge, wooden climbing frame, and zoom down the giant slides! The perfect place for kids to let off steam!
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nothing there”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I visited today along with a friend, 3 children aged 2-5 years.
Apart from a greenhouse with a few butterflies in, and a room with a selection of insects there is nothing else here. We wandered around the gardens, but nothing of interest for children.
The queue in the gift shop was a joke, twice we queued to be told the till wasn't working, so had to join a very lengthy queue of people buying food. I'm sure their food must have been cold by the time they'd paid.
The play area is good, but an expensive day out just for a great playground.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wade2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    126
    77
    52
    43
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

What a lovely place this is. Took our 7 year old Grandson here and he loved it! Even though he loved the butterflied, the leaf cutter ants were of particular interest to him! He can't wait for the biome to be built - neither can we! The gardens are interesting. I can understand people being a tad disappointed on seeing them in late August - everything is dying back now. Having said that, there are plenty of seed heads to attract birds and still plenty of pollen giving flowers to attract butterflies etc. We found the cafe very nice - and the staff very helpful (although an extra pot of hot water wouldn't go amiss!). We'll be back next year - and pick an earlier time to see the wild flowers in full bloom! All the staff were lovely - especially the young lady in the butterfly painting hut!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon out”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We visited butterfly world for the afternoon as we live locally.
It was not quite as expected as the butterfly exhibit is limited but this is due to a lack of funding not poor management,
The insect and any sheds were great and staff very knowledgable the gardens were wonderful and we spent a lot of time in those and the walks are fantastic.
We enjoyed a relaxing and leisurely afternoon and found the staff there pleasant and helpful.
Ignore the poor reviews it's fab

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura160586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Brilliant morning out”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Yes ok, it's a project in progress and yes, ok it's not going to take a whole day to get around but we had a fab time. Had read reviews about busy insect handling and unkempt gardens but did not find these problems personally. The insect handler was a lovely girl answering all our questions and letting us handle both the snail and the stick insect twice each (my son was too scared the first try). My two boys loved the butterfly house and ant hut, plus the play area was just the perfect size for them to run about a bit (3yo & 20 mo).
The gardens are varied and interesting. There were a couple of volunteers working very hard to do the gardening but were very friendly and helpful when asked questions. I think the gardens are supposed to be quite wild to attracted wildlife and nature. I suggest those who found the gardens 'unkempt' should perhaps volunteer there time to support the Butterfly World Project rather than turning people off it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Offley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“butterfly visit”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

First of all the walk to butterfly world runs out of path so you have to walk on the road not very well sign posted having paid £7.50 for myself and £5.50 for my teenage son we were both disappointed by this our fist visit I could have put more in my back garden .I know the time of year was late and the weather was wet but having travelled nearly 2 hours to get there so very disappointed and the café was a joke 3 giggling girls is all you could hear anyway we had coffee and sausage rolls the sausage rolls looked and tasted like lumps of fat cover in pastry very bad for £10 something for 4
WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE AND ASKED FOR MONEY BACK

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butterfly World Project also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing