We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff... Good food...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney
Ranked #12 of 15 St Albans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, while visiting The Making of Harry Potter... Only 15 minutes drive, all the staff were friendly, food was good, breakfast included in room rate is continental... dont expect a huge buffet... there are only 13 rooms! But its a good spread, fruit, cereal, breads, pastries... Room was small but adequate... And bathroom spotless...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goundar-morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed here for business in a few times in 2011 originally after a recommendation from a work colleague who was local to the area.
Check in is efficient and the pub/reception area had a warm, homely feeling to it though slightly tired.
The entrance to the staircase has a security lock operated by a keypad.
The rooms are not particularly huge, but the beds are comfortable enough and the bathrooms are clean, if not in need of a little tidying up.
Over the course of a few stays, there was always something wrong with the room.

i.e. cracked sink, broken toilet seat, no tissues in the dispenser etc...

The room however was always clean and had fresh towels daily.
The WIFI at the time was also supplied free of charge.
Breakfast was included in the price of the room, but be warned for the early bird (i.e. pre-7am) the kitchen remains closed.

The food in the evening at that time was average to say the least.
Service was sporadic but mainly poor, and often under staffed.

The worst thing I found during one of my stays, was that the hotel was to go under renovation. Unfortunately, they did not tell me this at the time of booking and so I had to endure 3 nights of paint fumes, workmen walking past the upper windows first thing in the morning and a lack of breakfast due to the work.
They didn't close the restaurant down during this renovation period and so each night I found myself sitting in a fume filled restaurant with very little ambience.
I thought this was poorly handled, and so decided that it would be my last stay.

Overall, for the same price, you could get a Premier Inn of which you know what sort of quality to expect.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not roadside. I think the building may be listed and so double glazing doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate_Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great pub, good service, nice food. It feels like a village pub and the rooms whilst small were comfortable and modern. Only 5 mins from the M25.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzy1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Great service throughout here - we asked for milk and were given fresh jugs. Food in restaurant was good, service great and atmosphere delightful. I left my washbag and no problems them forwarding by post

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFHbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed here for a concert in Hatfield house just a couple of miles up the road, The hotel is an innkeepers lodge and we got a good deal through their website.There is ample parking to the pub, and the bar area has lots of character.
There is no lift to the property and approx 2 small flights of stairs to move cases up and down. We stayed in a double room over looking the car park it was spacious and had 2 small windows, on entering the room the bathroom was clean and the bed was made up but the floors were absolutely filthy. The carpet looked like it had not been hoovered in weeks.
we went downstairs to eat in the restaurant and we informed the manager who went straight up and hoovered the room straight away.
The food in the restaurant was good and they did a special deal with 2 courses and wine for something like £15.
The village is nice and there is a huge supermarket near by with a cash machine.
Breakfast was good
would stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindyloo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This lodge is above a really nice food pub.
Staff are friendly, and the check in was simple.

Our room was very comfortable and looked recenlty decorated. There was an LCD TV with freeview. Shower room/en suite was clean and towels provided.

Breakfast was laid out and you just help yourself - plenty of cereal and toast and a selection of juices and hot drinks.

Check out by putting your key in a box - simples!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenistoneJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

This is a small innkeepers lodge (13 bedrooms) attached to the Colney Fox pub just outside St Albans. The very pleasant pub serves excellent food at reasonable prices and I would recommend it highly.

My room (no 12) was a good size and included pretty much everything you would expect: comfortable double bed, good quality linens, shower room, tea / coffee tray, basic toiletries, etc. The TV offered only the main 5 channels plus Sky News, despite the website promising Freeview. The shower room was clean, though the shower was pretty weak and a number of the fittings were damaged - a broken towel rail or tissue dispenser do not spoil your stay, but the management can surely do better on detail than this?

Breakfast, served in the pub, was good, and offered a range of bread, pastries, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and fruit juices.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
3.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
555 reviews
2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,336 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney

Address: 1 Barnet Road | The Colney Fox, London Colney Street, St Albans AL2 1BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St Albans
Price Range: £61 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored former coaching inn is one of the most characterful hotels in the St Albans area. Surrounded by villages like Frogmore, South Mimms and Colney Heath, it's a welcome escape whether on a short break or a business trip.The pretty village of London Colney gives you the best of both worlds. Sitting near the quiet river of Colne it provides the perfect, peaceful getaway - yet it's only 45 minutes away from Central London, via Junction 22 of the M25. And with 13 en-suite rooms and a cosy pub serving hearty, freshly prepared food, the lodge is as comfortable as it is convenient.St Albans itself is a bustling town where you can visit the second largest cathedral in the UK. You could also enjoy a tipple or two, as it's reputed to have the most pubs of any town in the country. Nearby you might want to explore Broad Colney Lakes Nature Reserve or dip into Roman life at the fascinating Verulamium Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing