We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney
Ranked #10 of 15 St Albans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Having a social occasion to attend in London Colney, I chose to stay overnight here. Very nice single room, clean with all amenities you can expect, the linen was clean and plentiful, shower / en suite was spotless. Tea/coffee in the room and overall very good visit. The only way I could see this improving would be the option of a cooked breakfast, however I was aware this would not be available before booking, so this isn't a criticism. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and the staff very helpful, courteous and polite.
There are some changes planned at the end of October 2012, which I would imagine could only be for the better, although how I'd be interested to see.
Would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: I had a single room No.9 and it was very nice, cannot comment on any of the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    42
    14
    10
    1
See reviews for
13
34
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Its well located for London etc and looks really nice. Staff are freindly and helpful. They were double booked when I arrived but they sorted this with the kind assiatance of a regular customer who must have moved into a broom cuboard or something so I could take his room. They gave him a bottle of Scotch and my thanks!
Menu is good and well priced as is the hotel at only £49/night B&B.
Room had a damp smell as bathroom extractor fan was not working.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Hotel very convenient for M25 and traveling South East. Rooms comfortable, evening meal/breakfast very good attentive staff. Easy booking in/out. Would stay here again and try other hotels from this chain.

Room Tip: Corner room larger than friends room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 323cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

To be fair I was only booked in for one evening, but the room itself was comfortable and very well presented, I would say even above the normal innkeepers lodge standard. There is no air conditioning however and it was a particularly hot evening, though the window itself did open fully which makes a nice change from other hotels. Unfortunately having the window open meant that I got awakened by an early morning delivery at 5.30am right below my window.
The restaurant is lovely though a bit expensive if you are used to the usual Toby carvery, and watch out if you ask for the sweet menu.... well put it this way, everyone knows you are having a sweet, its huge!!!. The staff were really nice and very helpful which always makes a difference.
I will definitley stay there again when im next in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front of the hotel to avoid being awakaned by any early morning deliveries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweenieka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heart of england
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The thing about this place is that the right room, staff encounter and menu choice will give you an excellent experience. The wrong room, staff encounter and menu choice will give you a (very) poor one. We experienced both extremes over a three night stay.

To be fair about the poor room, though Room 5 was poky, directly over the rubbish bins and noisy restaurant extractor fan with a view of the car park, it was spotlessly clean. But for the other nights of our stay we were in Room 14 - and what a difference: better decor than some 4star hotels I've stayed in, almost twice the size of Room 5 - and overlooking the garden.

Breakfast - cereals, fruit, breads, preserves, drinks spread out in the bar downstairs - do it yourself, but fine.

The restaurant is of very varying quality so am reluctant to recommend. Which is a shame as someone in there can cook - a couple of dishes were great. But they were let down by other overpriced, overcooked and skimpy-portioned offerings.

And so to sevice. Our experience was much the same as others really: some members of staff couldn't be more helpful (especially Tom). Others were disengaged. One particular person we encountered there should seriously reconsider their career in the hospitality industry.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 14 or nearby, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank runningupthathill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, while visiting The Making of Harry Potter... Only 15 minutes drive, all the staff were friendly, food was good, breakfast included in room rate is continental... dont expect a huge buffet... there are only 13 rooms! But its a good spread, fruit, cereal, breads, pastries... Room was small but adequate... And bathroom spotless...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goundar-morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed here for business in a few times in 2011 originally after a recommendation from a work colleague who was local to the area.
Check in is efficient and the pub/reception area had a warm, homely feeling to it though slightly tired.
The entrance to the staircase has a security lock operated by a keypad.
The rooms are not particularly huge, but the beds are comfortable enough and the bathrooms are clean, if not in need of a little tidying up.
Over the course of a few stays, there was always something wrong with the room.

i.e. cracked sink, broken toilet seat, no tissues in the dispenser etc...

The room however was always clean and had fresh towels daily.
The WIFI at the time was also supplied free of charge.
Breakfast was included in the price of the room, but be warned for the early bird (i.e. pre-7am) the kitchen remains closed.

The food in the evening at that time was average to say the least.
Service was sporadic but mainly poor, and often under staffed.

The worst thing I found during one of my stays, was that the hotel was to go under renovation. Unfortunately, they did not tell me this at the time of booking and so I had to endure 3 nights of paint fumes, workmen walking past the upper windows first thing in the morning and a lack of breakfast due to the work.
They didn't close the restaurant down during this renovation period and so each night I found myself sitting in a fume filled restaurant with very little ambience.
I thought this was poorly handled, and so decided that it would be my last stay.

Overall, for the same price, you could get a Premier Inn of which you know what sort of quality to expect.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not roadside. I think the building may be listed and so double glazing doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate_Ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
3.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
3.2 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
2.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,177 reviews
3.6 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney

Property: Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney
Address: 1 Barnet Road | The Colney Fox, London Colney Street, St Albans AL2 1BL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored former coaching inn is one of the most characterful hotels in the St Albans area. Surrounded by villages like Frogmore, South Mimms and Colney Heath, it's a welcome escape whether on a short break or a business trip.The pretty village of London Colney gives you the best of both worlds. Sitting near the quiet river of Colne it provides the perfect, peaceful getaway - yet it's only 45 minutes away from Central London, via Junction 22 of the M25. And with 13 en-suite rooms and a cosy pub serving hearty, freshly prepared food, the lodge is as comfortable as it is convenient.St Albans itself is a bustling town where you can visit the second largest cathedral in the UK. You could also enjoy a tipple or two, as it's reputed to have the most pubs of any town in the country. Nearby you might want to explore Broad Colney Lakes Nature Reserve or dip into Roman life at the fascinating Verulamium Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing