We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed again...and again...and again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney
Ranked #12 of 15 St Albans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I've stayed here most weeks over the past few months.

The rooms have been recently refurbished. Furniture may be veneer/laminate but is much more tasteful than other budget hotel chains. Shower rooms are larger than average, spotless with towels that are actually fluffy. Beds are comfortable with cotton bed linen. Free wifi works perfectly.

Free contintental breakfast is a bonus, the fresh filter coffee is even better.

Staff are always friendly and helpful...What more could one ask for?

Business needs now take me elsewhere, but I shall miss not staying here.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms 10/12/14 above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed here for one evening on business. My single room was a bit small but absolutely fine for my needs. It was clean, warm and well equipped. The only issue is that the walls are a bit thin so if you are a light sleeper ( which I am not ) then weekend visitors might be a bit noisy after a few beers downstairs.

The pub downstairs was excellent. Very friendly staff and good food and two open hearth log fires, very cosy indeed.

Overall, great little pub b&b.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road and at the end of the corridor if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Having a social occasion to attend in London Colney, I chose to stay overnight here. Very nice single room, clean with all amenities you can expect, the linen was clean and plentiful, shower / en suite was spotless. Tea/coffee in the room and overall very good visit. The only way I could see this improving would be the option of a cooked breakfast, however I was aware this would not be available before booking, so this isn't a criticism. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and the staff very helpful, courteous and polite.
There are some changes planned at the end of October 2012, which I would imagine could only be for the better, although how I'd be interested to see.
Would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: I had a single room No.9 and it was very nice, cannot comment on any of the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Its well located for London etc and looks really nice. Staff are freindly and helpful. They were double booked when I arrived but they sorted this with the kind assiatance of a regular customer who must have moved into a broom cuboard or something so I could take his room. They gave him a bottle of Scotch and my thanks!
Menu is good and well priced as is the hotel at only £49/night B&B.
Room had a damp smell as bathroom extractor fan was not working.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Hotel very convenient for M25 and traveling South East. Rooms comfortable, evening meal/breakfast very good attentive staff. Easy booking in/out. Would stay here again and try other hotels from this chain.

Room Tip: Corner room larger than friends room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 323cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

To be fair I was only booked in for one evening, but the room itself was comfortable and very well presented, I would say even above the normal innkeepers lodge standard. There is no air conditioning however and it was a particularly hot evening, though the window itself did open fully which makes a nice change from other hotels. Unfortunately having the window open meant that I got awakened by an early morning delivery at 5.30am right below my window.
The restaurant is lovely though a bit expensive if you are used to the usual Toby carvery, and watch out if you ask for the sweet menu.... well put it this way, everyone knows you are having a sweet, its huge!!!. The staff were really nice and very helpful which always makes a difference.
I will definitley stay there again when im next in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front of the hotel to avoid being awakaned by any early morning deliveries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweenieka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The thing about this place is that the right room, staff encounter and menu choice will give you an excellent experience. The wrong room, staff encounter and menu choice will give you a (very) poor one. We experienced both extremes over a three night stay.

To be fair about the poor room, though Room 5 was poky, directly over the rubbish bins and noisy restaurant extractor fan with a view of the car park, it was spotlessly clean. But for the other nights of our stay we were in Room 14 - and what a difference: better decor than some 4star hotels I've stayed in, almost twice the size of Room 5 - and overlooking the garden.

Breakfast - cereals, fruit, breads, preserves, drinks spread out in the bar downstairs - do it yourself, but fine.

The restaurant is of very varying quality so am reluctant to recommend. Which is a shame as someone in there can cook - a couple of dishes were great. But they were let down by other overpriced, overcooked and skimpy-portioned offerings.

And so to sevice. Our experience was much the same as others really: some members of staff couldn't be more helpful (especially Tom). Others were disengaged. One particular person we encountered there should seriously reconsider their career in the hospitality industry.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 14 or nearby, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runningupthathill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
3.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
555 reviews
2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,336 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney

Address: 1 Barnet Road | The Colney Fox, London Colney Street, St Albans AL2 1BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St Albans
Price Range: £61 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored former coaching inn is one of the most characterful hotels in the St Albans area. Surrounded by villages like Frogmore, South Mimms and Colney Heath, it's a welcome escape whether on a short break or a business trip.The pretty village of London Colney gives you the best of both worlds. Sitting near the quiet river of Colne it provides the perfect, peaceful getaway - yet it's only 45 minutes away from Central London, via Junction 22 of the M25. And with 13 en-suite rooms and a cosy pub serving hearty, freshly prepared food, the lodge is as comfortable as it is convenient.St Albans itself is a bustling town where you can visit the second largest cathedral in the UK. You could also enjoy a tipple or two, as it's reputed to have the most pubs of any town in the country. Nearby you might want to explore Broad Colney Lakes Nature Reserve or dip into Roman life at the fascinating Verulamium Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing