We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly hotel recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney
Ranked #12 of 15 St Albans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here recently and its a lovely place to stay. Great pub atmosphere with good food and very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. I would say bathrooms need a little updating are are quite tired. Breakfast is a simple continental one and could do with a little more choice. Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrahamSRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

I will hold this place fondly within my heart now! My partner booked this, as we were visiting Harry Potter World, and then Central London. The Location is great for both, around an hours train (or less) to London’s King Cross.
My partner proposed at Buckingham Palace during our trip, hence remembering this place so fondly. Even ignoring that, the place is fantastic to stop. The rooms are a good size and cosy and clean. The bed was very comfortable and a good size too. The breakfast was also very nice, simple self-serve but good quality foods. The evening menu also had some nice tasty meals.
The price is fantastic too, with good value for money.
I will go back again, to relive our weekend away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukesmith997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My second visit to this place - last time several months ago. Room was adequate for my needs with all usual extras you would expect - FST, tea/coffee, en-suite. Clean and well presented in all areas. Evening meal was excellent with good selection available, as was the continental breakfast, though I probably caught them out by presenting bang on 7am due to need to catch early train, as staff were still putting out the food. Staff again were all pleasant and gave good image for the business. The only downside is the squeaky floorboards as you move around the room!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_hill_sf49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here for one night on Monday 7th July.Ample parking, nice gardens,good restaurant and bar area. My meal was just a main but very good. Nice selection of wines. O2 wi-fi although my lap top was playing up. Pleasant bedroom and bathroom with a decent shower !!Lastly the staff............just GREAT every one I dealt with was cheerful, polite, helpful and could not do enough. It was very refreshing. The 'star of the show' was Erika a serious multi-tasker and a happy smily face no matter what she was doing. I would never have guessed she had only been there two weeks, she has the place well run and no matter how busy, she finds the time to help her customers. Look her up if you go for a visit. NB of Chichester

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lulu25071970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for two nights. Very good. Bedroom good, clean and tidy. Shower not that good, temperature Ok but not very powerful. Evening dinner on both nights excellent. Breakfast slightly disappointing as not as good as another lodge we have used before.Staff very welcoming.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank PhilJamesBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

we have stayed at the fox several times now whilst visiting reatives in the area. once again we had a great stay. if you want value for money in a great location you should give this place a try.
there is always a buzz about the place and it seems very popular with the locals.lea and her hard working staff will make your stay very enjoyable.we usually don't single out staff but if you are staying over the weekend you may be served breakfast by louise, she is a cheerfull and helpfull young lady who goes out of her way to make you welcome, she is a credit to her employers.

we will be back !!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge, St Albans. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, 28-30 March. We wanted somewhere close to the Warner Bros studio tour where we could have a weekend away for our anniversary (the studio tour was for my birthday but we tied it all in together!). This was much better value than a bigger hotel and nicer really to be in a country pub rather than a corporate sterile hotel. Room was small but clean. Very quiet and nice comfy bed. Breakfast in the morning was great and the nice lady in charge of the service on the mornings of 29 & 30 March was brilliant, very friendly and attentive. We also ate in the restaurant on the night of 28 March which I have reviewed seperately on the Colney Fox page, but this was very good and we had no issues. We got the bus into St Albans a couple of times which was really easy - there is a bus stop just outside the pub and there are 3 services which run into the centre so we never had to wait for long. There is a small nature reserve closeby which is nice for a walk - it is only about 2 mins away and then I think the circular walk took us just under an hour. Lovely big beer garden outside which was great for an afternoon drink on a sunny day. All of the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge St Alban's. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
3.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
3.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
2.0 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,322 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney

Address: 1 Barnet Road | The Colney Fox, London Colney Street, St Albans AL2 1BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St Albans
Price Range: £60 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored former coaching inn is one of the most characterful hotels in the St Albans area. Surrounded by villages like Frogmore, South Mimms and Colney Heath, it's a welcome escape whether on a short break or a business trip.The pretty village of London Colney gives you the best of both worlds. Sitting near the quiet river of Colne it provides the perfect, peaceful getaway - yet it's only 45 minutes away from Central London, via Junction 22 of the M25. And with 13 en-suite rooms and a cosy pub serving hearty, freshly prepared food, the lodge is as comfortable as it is convenient.St Albans itself is a bustling town where you can visit the second largest cathedral in the UK. You could also enjoy a tipple or two, as it's reputed to have the most pubs of any town in the country. Nearby you might want to explore Broad Colney Lakes Nature Reserve or dip into Roman life at the fascinating Verulamium Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing