We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney
Ranked #12 of 15 St Albans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

For the price paid it was a good base.
The rooms however are not the biggest and the bathrooms are small too, but on the plus there is everything you need for an overnight stay. Beds ok, a matress topper on would be nicer.
Staff are all very nice, we ate in the pub on the first night and the food was good with a nice choice.
Breakfast is a basic continental but there was a couple who were eating a cooked english, we werent told about this and there were no menus to advise so we just had the continental which was ample.
Not a bad choice for the price

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    42
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
13
34
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I booked this as my usual Premier Inn was full, but very glad that I did. Very friendly staff, clean & comfortable room. The only downside for me was the lack of a fan in the room as it was a very warm night (I did mention this in my feedback review so maybe next summer). I will definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are glad to hear that you were happy with your recent visit here. We will reply to you personally, as all feedback really helps us to ensure that our guests are not disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thakeham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here recently and its a lovely place to stay. Great pub atmosphere with good food and very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. I would say bathrooms need a little updating are are quite tired. Breakfast is a simple continental one and could do with a little more choice. Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamSRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I will hold this place fondly within my heart now! My partner booked this, as we were visiting Harry Potter World, and then Central London. The Location is great for both, around an hours train (or less) to London’s King Cross.
My partner proposed at Buckingham Palace during our trip, hence remembering this place so fondly. Even ignoring that, the place is fantastic to stop. The rooms are a good size and cosy and clean. The bed was very comfortable and a good size too. The breakfast was also very nice, simple self-serve but good quality foods. The evening menu also had some nice tasty meals.
The price is fantastic too, with good value for money.
I will go back again, to relive our weekend away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukesmith997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My second visit to this place - last time several months ago. Room was adequate for my needs with all usual extras you would expect - FST, tea/coffee, en-suite. Clean and well presented in all areas. Evening meal was excellent with good selection available, as was the continental breakfast, though I probably caught them out by presenting bang on 7am due to need to catch early train, as staff were still putting out the food. Staff again were all pleasant and gave good image for the business. The only downside is the squeaky floorboards as you move around the room!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_hill_sf49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here for one night on Monday 7th July.Ample parking, nice gardens,good restaurant and bar area. My meal was just a main but very good. Nice selection of wines. O2 wi-fi although my lap top was playing up. Pleasant bedroom and bathroom with a decent shower !!Lastly the staff............just GREAT every one I dealt with was cheerful, polite, helpful and could not do enough. It was very refreshing. The 'star of the show' was Erika a serious multi-tasker and a happy smily face no matter what she was doing. I would never have guessed she had only been there two weeks, she has the place well run and no matter how busy, she finds the time to help her customers. Look her up if you go for a visit. NB of Chichester

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu25071970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Colney Fox, Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for two nights. Very good. Bedroom good, clean and tidy. Shower not that good, temperature Ok but not very powerful. Evening dinner on both nights excellent. Breakfast slightly disappointing as not as good as another lodge we have used before.Staff very welcoming.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PhilJamesBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at Innkeeper's Lodge St Albans, London Colney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
3.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
3.2 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
2.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,230 reviews
3.6 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney

Property: Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney
Address: 1 Barnet Road | The Colney Fox, London Colney Street, St Albans AL2 1BL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored former coaching inn is one of the most characterful hotels in the St Albans area. Surrounded by villages like Frogmore, South Mimms and Colney Heath, it's a welcome escape whether on a short break or a business trip.The pretty village of London Colney gives you the best of both worlds. Sitting near the quiet river of Colne it provides the perfect, peaceful getaway - yet it's only 45 minutes away from Central London, via Junction 22 of the M25. And with 13 en-suite rooms and a cosy pub serving hearty, freshly prepared food, the lodge is as comfortable as it is convenient.St Albans itself is a bustling town where you can visit the second largest cathedral in the UK. You could also enjoy a tipple or two, as it's reputed to have the most pubs of any town in the country. Nearby you might want to explore Broad Colney Lakes Nature Reserve or dip into Roman life at the fascinating Verulamium Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing