We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh with a great range of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Italiana

L'Italiana
Ranked #6 of 326 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh with a great range of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I would strongly recommend this cosy place to eat at anytime of the day. It does offer a wide range of food and cater for cealiacs - gluten free options are available. Staff and chef are very friendly with very good knowledge and recommendations enjoy your visit there :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    207
    48
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The reason I don't go to Italian restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Yes you read it correctly, this little gem is the reason I never eat out at Italian restaurants. They are all the same with so little filling, topping, seafood etc and lack of depth of flavour that I had given up! We popped in here on Saturday and had the most delightful lunch with a fantastic bottle of Montepulciano. The most delicious, piping hot garlic bread and a seafood risotto that was so deeply full of flavour and not to mention the amount and quality of seafood. My fiance had an incredible pasta dish, one that usually would fill a corner but not delight. It too had a depth of flavour which was wonderful. Generous portions and fairly priced. My only issue is that we aren't closer, but perhaps my waist line will be happier

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RECLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

4 of us had booked for lunch but we were seated in front of the serving area so I kept getting bumped into by the waiting staff! The food was tasty - but nothing very different to all the other Italian places in St Albans. Lunchtime deal price was good for those who like pizza and pasta but other prices quite dear if not having that special. Only concern was the music was quite loud so older members of our party struggled to hear. Staff were friendly and we stayed quite a while and weren't hurried along like some places.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VJL64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Dropped in when passing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We dropped in here for a quick snack. Sitting outside in the sunshine is always a pleasure, to do it with freshly baked pizza made a snack a real pleasure (there are only four pavement tables).
The restaurant is a small, classic Italian casual venue with a good selection of standard Italian fair prepared to a good standard.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

1st visit today to L'italiana, what a lovely meal !! Service & food excellent all round and not overpriced! Definitely will be returning soon! xx

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sange374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Italiana also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to L'Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing