We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

There's not much to fault about this hotel, it's ideal for my purposes when I'm travelling for work in the area. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are quiet and have the necessary facilities, and is only a short cab ride or walk to the train station

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank drewn923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy809, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel

Kind regards

Andrew Antoniades
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

After a long day in London we checked into the hotel , lovely modern interior, Julia on reception made us very welcome lovely lovely lady, rooms excellent, breakfast tasty, all staff brilliant. We will definatley be going back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Ajpw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy809, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback and comments on your recent stay here at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans.

I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon

Kind regards

Andrew Antoniades
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here three times on business trips. The rooms are clean, the location is good and the breakfast is good. For the price I cannot fault it. Upsides - location, free wifi, good restaurants nearby, good breakfast, solid standard. Downsides - bar area small and not private, parking (usually down the road, but adequate). Overall and good quality mid range hotel.

Room Tip: If you cannot find a space in the tiny hotel car park - pull up outside and get the pass to local f...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy809, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you very much for your valued comments and positive feedback.

Such feedback is vital to us maintaining and monitoring our levels of hospitality and levels of service.

Thank you once again

Regards

Andrew Antoniades
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. We booked two rooms, but on arrival ended up on different floors,very strange. My room was very dissapointing, dirty sheets ,towels and dusty surfaces . Couldn't hang anything on the back of the bathroom door as the hanger was hanging off. Really need to sort out the housekeeping. The man on the front off house was not very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebblespen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy809, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your valued comments regarding your recent stay here at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans.

I was sorry to hear that your stay was not as comfortable and enjoyable as it should of been and have addressed all the issues raised

Thank you once again for your valued feedback to which we find very usefull in maintaining our standards and improving on them were possible

kind regards

Andrew Antoniades
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a night before a wedding and I have to admit I was dubious as to what quality we would get as it was a Comfort Inn.

However, I am delighted to report that my preconceptions were completely wrong and this hotel is really lovely. For the price, the location is perfect, rooms well decorated, spacious and clean, staff friendly (except for the woman on reception who genuinely couldn't have cared less about us checking in and as a result we almost missed breakfast as she didn't tell us what time it finished) and breakfast fine.

The only downside is the lack of obvious parking. More info on this might be a good idea in the car park next to the hotel.

We had a good sleep and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Wide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy809, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback and comments

I have passed on your good comments to all our heads of department and staff alike.

I have noted your comment regarding the car park and the arrangements for parking should of been explained to you as we have three carparks all together. One alongside the Hotel and the other two a few minutes walk away from the Hotel

Thank you once again

Regards

Andrew Antoniades
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife & I stayed one Saturday night in September. The hotel is ideally located for the city centre & appears to have had a recent refurb. It was nicely decorated and had a nice feel. Our room was large enough & had all expected for a hotel which cost £99 including breakfast. View was of a tatty wall directly opposite but as we only wanted to sleep there it didn't matter. We only ate breakfast. A help yourself affair. Bit disappointed as there was plenty of bacon, sausage & scrambled egg but think there should have been mushroom (only saw juice) & hash browns (only saw crumbs). The dining area was full but plenty of staff were on hand to meet with the demand. Shame they didn't keep an eye on the dwindling supplies. What food there was; was very nice. Free wifi and parking. Next door to Cafe Rouge which was handy as we ate there. Would stay again if in St. Albans.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonic6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy809, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback and comments relating to your recent stay here at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans.

I am sorry that you were not given the full English breakfast service and I have as a result made sure that the trays are always topped up.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future

Kind regards

Andrew Antoniades
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our son's wedding was in the Abbey and reception at the Town Hall. The Comfort hotel was the perfect location! We had 4 rooms for the family and all were excellent . Clean , comfortable , hot water, good breakfast all at a reasonable price.The staff very pleasant and helpful especially as they arranged for our rooms to be ready early to enable us to change for the wedding.
In all a wonderful day and made even better by our stay at the Comfort Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulVali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy809, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback on your recent stay here at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans.

I was delighted to read that the Hotel met with all your expectations and that your stay was made as comfotable as possible

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future and thank you once again.

Kind regards

Andrew Antoniades
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#4 of 10 in St Albans
2,259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St Albans
545 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
0.5 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
575 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans

Address: Ryder House Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £80 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans is situated in the heart of St Albans historic City Centre, opposite the magnificent Abbey and close to some excellent shopping, restaurants and traditional pubs. St Albans has a wealth of history dating some 2000 years including Roman Occupation. With St Albans Cathedral, Verulamium Park, Roman Museum, Butterfly World, Warner Bros Studio tour of the Making of Harry Potter, Whipsnade Zoo and the Gardens of the Rose so close by, there is something for everyone. Conference Rooms in St Albans This grade II listed landmark building was built in 1911 by Samuel Ryder, donor of golf's prestigious Ryder Cup, to house the business of his successful seed company. It retains many original features including leaded light room screens, sweeping staircase and a magnificent mahogany and stained glass dome. Samuel Ryder's original fireplace surround complete with hand carved initials still stands in his private office which is now the principal meetings/function room. Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant, St Albans At the rear of this beautiful building, 60 modern guest rooms were built in 1999 to create a superb hotel. The Samuel Ryder building has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary style, yet retaining the period features, to house the reception, our Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant and three meeting rooms. The hotel has undergone refurbishment throughout. The public area refurbishment was completed end July 2013 and the hotel is now upgraded to Clarion Collection brand of Choice Hotels International ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel St Albans
Comfort Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing