We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst stay but staff and food epic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Ok so from the beginning we arrived about 5ish there was no parking on site of the hotel so we had to go round one way system to go in to get directions and to get a pass and then once we found the car park we had to walk the 10 mins to the hotel, then when we checked in, we were given our key went up stairs and someone else was in there...so i apologised and went down stairs the reception was very sorry and she was lovely so was given our new key and our room was on the ground floor which felt like a basement but the room was lovely and the room was heated very well.
when we came back to the hotel to go to bed we got in our lovely warm bed which was comfy and went to bed then got woken up but a group of boys from half 3 in the morning for a hour kept knocking on our door i was getting very mad and i tried to call reception about three times and no one picks up they final settle down about half 4ish and was able to get back to sleep. we get up and it seems to early for breakfast on new years day but nothing was around to say but the staff were amazing throughout out (exception of night staff) and the Breakfast was the best me and my partner have ever had and i will defiantly be coming here again just not on a weekend or new years lol

Room Tip: Ask not to be put on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelqueen1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel has been recently refurbished and the rooms are a good size, clean and modern. The parking is limited at the hotel and I called from the carpark when I arrived as it was full and I asked for their advice and assistance on where is best to park. The very frosty receptionist became quickly frustrated when I couldn't understand her instructions and had to call back a second time. When I came to check in, I apologies for being confused and she just barked 'NAME?" at me rather than accepting my apology.
Breakfast the next morning was greeted with a hair in my friends food, but once alerted staff were quick and efficient in their response and had the breakfast charge refunded from their bill.
There is a bar at the hotel as well, but I did not use, so cannot comment on the service/experience.
It is a very reasonably priced hotel and on the whole it suited my needs for my over night stay, just the receptionist (Upon check in only - the others were fine) could benefit from some customer service training.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback and comments on your recent stay here at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans.

We are sorry that the service on arrival fell below the standard expected by both you and us and we are taking steps to investigate and avoid this happening again.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Trevor Bradshaw, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting St Albans. it was a short walk from St albans Abbey station, and walkable from the other station too. Its one of those hotels that rarely is EXACTLY as it looks on the site. Totally immaculate and the reception looked stunning. I unfortunately didnt eat in the restaurant so can't comment. Its in the heart of St Albans and there are dozens of quaint restaurants, cafe's and boutiques all around. The room was fantastic and for the price i doubt you will do better. There is an overspill car park which is easy enough to find and use, put your bags in first and they give you a code and pass.
Reception seemed confused when i checked out, they handed me a bill but i explained i had paid upfront, and they simply took the bill back, odd but a very minor issue.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supernic5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback and comments on your recent stay here at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Apologies for the slight confusion at check out.

Trevor Bradshaw, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Lovely comfortable clean hotel that myself & family stay in when we visit family in st Albans.However, we booked by telephone & were quoted a price that we were happy with & agreed to so handed over payment details.On checking out, we were presented with a bill for our stay around £100 more expensive than what we had agreed.We had no proof & no choice but to pay.Won't be staying here again & this is a warning to other potential customers to get confirmation of your agreed rate.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kb_opinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor B, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback and comments on your recent stay here at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans.

Given the nature of your comment about the rate we have contacted you direct, and I believe the matter has been resolved to your satisfaction.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the future.

Andrew Antoniades, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed on a Friday. Service at front desk was average to say the best. Parking difficult as not many spaces I arrived at 1430 and couldn't park in a designate slot. Centrally located so excellent for anywhere in St Albans. Problem was at breakfast where it took over half an hour to replenish the buffet after most items ran out. Suggest booking room only and going for breakfast at Bills only just down the road.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank MikeDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy809, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback and comments on your recent stay here at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans.

We are sorry to hear about the service issues you have raised about our front desk and breakfast offerings, and have taken steps to investigate and rectify in order to meet the much higher standards expected by both you and us. We have three car parks and should normally be able to accommodate all of our guests' vehicles without difficulty (and at no charge for the car park).

We hope that you will visit us again and enjoy a better experience.

Andrew Antoniades, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked this hotel as we were attending a graduation ceremony at the cathedral. We booked in October and the email confirmation stated we would have rooms next to each other. On arrival, had rooms on separate floors - wasn't a problem but could have been if travelling with younger children. Agree with the other posters about finding the hotel which is a little difficult. Managed to find the care park eventually. Room was clean and well equipped which you would expect for the price - £99 per room per night. Found the pillows uncomfortable - 1 was not high enough and 2 was too high - but that's probably just me. We wanted to settle our account on the evening of arrival in cash as we needed a speedy getaway in the morning. Staff were very reluctant to do this so we had to pay in the morning. Big mistake - very lengthy process - printing endless receipts etc and a queue. Breakfast selection was very good - only criticism is that the plates were cold and so the food was only lukewarm which is a shame as it was hot in the containers.

Room Tip: don't have a room on the ground floor if you like to sleep with your window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoochie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy809, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback and comments on your recent stay here at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans.

As part of our ongoing refurbishment we are upgrading pillows over the next few weeks and we have addressed the issues with the breakfast service.

I am sorry that there was a hold up upon check out as we aim to have two receptionists on every shift with an additional duty manager to compliment the team and speed up the check out process.

Thank you once again

Kindregards

Andrew Antoniades
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed at this place last Saturday night when the wife and I visited St. Alban's for the Sixties Gold show at the Arena.
Used the overflow car park which is a 2 or 3 minute walk on residential streets to the rear of the hotel (you need to get the access code and a display ticket from the reception first).
Room was VERY warm on arrival, but was able to fully open a couple of windows and we soon had the room temperature down to a comfortable level.
Room was nicely furnished with a modern bathroom with power shower. Very comfortable bed allowed for a good nights sleep.
My only criticism would be in relation to the quality of the tea provided in the room facilities. It was dreadful, please change!
Otherwise, would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Arrive early if you want to use one of the few (about 6) car park spaces closest to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PathManSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy809, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans.

We use the information on all guest feedback to monitor and improve were possible our standards and service.

Thank you once and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Clarion Collection Hotel very soon

Kind regards

Andrew Antoniades
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
1.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St Albans
555 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
586 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
7.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans

Address: Ryder House Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: £58 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans is situated in the heart of St Albans historic City Centre, opposite the magnificent Abbey and close to some excellent shopping, restaurants and traditional pubs. St Albans has a wealth of history dating some 2000 years including Roman Occupation. With St Albans Cathedral, Verulamium Park, Roman Museum, Butterfly World, Warner Bros Studio tour of the Making of Harry Potter, Whipsnade Zoo and the Gardens of the Rose so close by, there is something for everyone. Conference Rooms in St Albans This grade II listed landmark building was built in 1911 by Samuel Ryder, donor of golf's prestigious Ryder Cup, to house the business of his successful seed company. It retains many original features including leaded light room screens, sweeping staircase and a magnificent mahogany and stained glass dome. Samuel Ryder's original fireplace surround complete with hand carved initials still stands in his private office which is now the principal meetings/function room. Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant, St Albans At the rear of this beautiful building, 60 modern guest rooms were built in 1999 to create a superb hotel. The Samuel Ryder building has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary style, yet retaining the period features, to house the reception, our Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant and three meeting rooms. The hotel has undergone refurbishment throughout. The public area refurbishment was completed end July 2013 and the hotel is now upgraded to Clarion Collection brand of Choice Hotels International ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel St Albans
Comfort Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing