We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
max41
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is good. On arriving 4 hours early than check in time to enquire about how the free parking system worked at that hotel,we were immediately asked if we'd like to check in there and then as our room was ready. The staff couldn't be more helpful if they tried, receptionist running off at one stage to get my husband a glass of water as he coughed a little. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the decor is fabulous. Rooms were comfortable, clean and again decor was good. A great hotel at a great price. If ever in St Albans again I would go straight to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel45ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    199
    46
    15
    6
See reviews for
107
190
20
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed for two nights last weekend in the lovely st albans and this hotel did not disappoint. Reception staff were friendly and efficient . Room was clean, quiet and the bed so comfortable with lovely thick mattress cover. Decor lovely throughout any lovely ambience. Breakfast staff were so cheerfull and friendly. Decaffeinated coffee was fab and breakfast in general was of good quality and plenty of choice. If there was one small moan it would be that we were not informed of a choice of eggs but the scrambled egg from the buffet was perfect and I loved the mushrooms. The hotel is right on the edge of the town centre so is perfectly placed for a 2 minute stroll to the main shops. Well done clarion, it is rare to find a hotel that's perfect !

Room Tip: Think they are probably all pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tristy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

A very convenient location at an affordable price. Right in the heart of St Albans with lots of bars, restaurants and shops and the cathedral nearby. Clean bright lounge area, restaurant and reception. Smooth check-in and out and the staff were very friendly and courteous. Our room was clean, modern and fresh, lovely shower and had all the basics we needed for an overnight stay. Only disappointment was that it was a double bed and not a king size but it was comfortable. The room overlooked a car park but it is in the middle of a busy high street so I expected nothing more. Breakfast was excellent! Full range of fresh fruit, yoghurts and cereals and a variety of cooked full english, restaurant staff were also attentive and friendly.
The only flaw I would have is the parking, we tried several recommended locations, including trying to squeeze into a small space against a wall (stressful) but ended up a 5 minute walk away in the hotel's own car park, not too inconvenient. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel for a second time and once again it was perfect for our short stay. As we visit the City several times a year visiting family and having stayed at quiet a few hotels we have found the Clarion to be excellent value. Being in the centre of the City and a 'stones throw' from the Abbey it really is convenient. On arrival we were allocated a disabled room which didn't suit our requirements and were subsequently moved to a room at the rear of the hotel which was excellent and really quiet. The reception staff were attentive and handled our request for a change of room in a friendly and professional manner. As mentioned previously the hotel is extremely good value and we will definitely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms seem to be at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevedenlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Two very pleasant days when I could appreciate the improvements made since the change of ownership.My room was comfortable,good bathroom facilities, towels good and room service unobtrusive. Good value for money conveniently located and friendly staff. No complaints.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
433 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We only stayed one night for a special party but the room had every thing we needed. The towels were fluffy and the toiletries were also good.The staff were very pleasant and when we arrived early for check in gave us a parking token so we go and explore the town before getting our room. Breakfast was very good and a wide selection.although I do like eggs cooked to order and I expect they would do this other than the the scrambled ones on offer but i did not ask.The hotel is easy to find and near to lots of shops & restaurants.
Having read some of the other reviews i suspect some rooms have not been refurbished as our was very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 918teresah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I used to come here quite a bit when this was the Comfort Inn and I was recently interested to see what this place was like since it had been taken over. Upon arrival I was pleased to see that the main lounge area had been completely redecorated and refurnished, particularly given that the previous room had a strange burning plastic smell to it.

However, that's where the good points ended. Where is the old double room prices were around £59 per night, I was slightly shocked to see the price had no contact £89 per night which was significant price rise with no appreciable difference in room.
Worse still, for the price, I was given a room looking straight onto a wall, a bath with rust leaking down the side and a shower which could only muster lukewarm but fluctuates to cold every two or three seconds.

Where I stayed on the first floor was quite close to the main entrance door and as such I was woken at 5 AM by kids opening and closing the door because of the low sound insulation in my room. Overall I had a bad night sleep followed by an unpleasant shower experience in a room which was more expensive than it should have been.

I think the new owners need to reconsider their pricing policy if they are not going to significantly upgrade the rooms where guests stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irdial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharleneScanlon, Revenue Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Irdial, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We have not received any other complaints regarding the temperature or pressure of the showers, If you would like to email me directly with the date of your stay and room number I can investigate your comments further.

We expect guests to show their consideration for other guests staying in the hotel regarding noise levels especially during the early hours of the morning. I would advise that you contact the night team in future to report any noise so we can resolve the issues for you and this not effect your stay further.

If you would like to email me on Charlene@clarioncollectionhotelstalbans.co.uk

We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Collection Hotel St Albans in the near future



Charlene Scanlon, Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Albans hotels
1.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Address: Ryder House Holywell Hill, St Albans AL1 1HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans is situated in the heart of St Albans historic City Centre, opposite the magnificent Abbey and close to some excellent shopping, restaurants and traditional pubs. St Albans has a wealth of history dating some 2000 years including Roman Occupation. With St Albans Cathedral, Verulamium Park, Roman Museum, Butterfly World, Warner Bros Studio tour of the Making of Harry Potter, Whipsnade Zoo and the Gardens of the Rose so close by, there is something for everyone. Conference Rooms in St Albans This grade II listed landmark building was built in 1911 by Samuel Ryder, donor of golf's prestigious Ryder Cup, to house the business of his successful seed company. It retains many original features including leaded light room screens, sweeping staircase and a magnificent mahogany and stained glass dome. Samuel Ryder's original fireplace surround complete with hand carved initials still stands in his private office which is now the principal meetings/function room. Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant, St Albans At the rear of this beautiful building, 60 modern guest rooms were built in 1999 to create a superb hotel. The Samuel Ryder building has been sympathetically refurbished in a contemporary style, yet retaining the period features, to house the reception, our Samuel Ryder Bar & Restaurant and three meeting rooms. The hotel has undergone refurbishment throughout. The public area refurbishment was completed end July 2013 and the hotel is now upgraded to Clarion Collection brand of Choice Hotels International ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel St Albans
Comfort Inn Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing